...Over 300 healthcare workers in Singapore are urging the government to ban the unsafe transport of migrant workers in lorries...

socratesg

The problem is not the lorry...the problem is the freaking Driver with kelong licence. Even if you put the workers inside a tank, they will still get into accident with a bad driver !

Philipkee

Whether these 300 are really healthcare workers we all also don't know...but I notice the woke community in SG loves to harp and make a lot of noise about this foreign worker sit lorries topic, of course apart from their usual lbgt topics :s22:

The group speaking up is healthcare workers. They are now majority also foreigners. I think they think Bangla no much bargain power so the healthcare workers want to fight for them. But I don't think they will pay.

All these woke nonsense again 🤣.
Woke is one thing. One thing about line staff is we look at solutions as just that. Solutions. We never really focus on the logistics involved in making the solution a reality cos we are basically line staff and not involved in all these logistics.

But was in management and I also remembered a lecturer ever talking about this

“You want to increase nursing pay. Let’s say public sector there are 20k active nurses. Everyone increase salary by $100. This is beyond the annual increase just one time increase. That’s $2million a month and $26 million a year (including AWS). You have extra $26 million for this increase- don’t forget salaries, bonus and increments are not in this $26 million. And will a $100 increment please you? You want $200 one off increment that’s over $50 million liao. And what about the doctors (ok maybe they are overpaid so shouldn’t have increment), allied health and cleaners etc?”

So for nursing, easy to say just increase the pay but at higher level, one has to see what is the budget available also

So I think it’s the same for this FW with lorries and bus. Need to consider COE, are there buses being idle? If they are school buses, are u saying school children should go to school earlier or
later or this is (start earlier or start later but end later) only for FW? But it’s easy to suggest

Philipkee

moi think workers on kamikaze bikes more dangerous than workers on lorries. why no healthcare workers petition?

Because petitioning for buses require the govt or bosses to foot the bill

petitioning against this bikers will inconvenience the lay riders who they might be a part of or know someone who is doing that.

When people petition, look at what they propose. Usually the solution will involve someone else giving the money. If someone petitions something and the solution is something that inconveniences themselves, then it’s time to sit up and take notice. For example, if women start petitioning to serve NS as nurses.

anchoraz

Jus make sure the speed limiter at 60kmh works with yearly inspection by lta.

Any attemp to modify or tamper. Fine $5000.

Mayb the 300 is virtual and nvr sit on a lorry behind before.

Really woke sia.

Lchlch

The Online Citizen

https://www.facebook.com/#
Over 300 healthcare workers in Singapore are urging the government to ban the unsafe transport of migrant workers in lorries after yet another accident left five injured.
Concerned about recurring injuries and fatalities, they are renewing calls for the government to take immediate action.
What do you think? Share your thoughts below.
#MigrantWorkerSafety #HealthcareWorkersDemandChange #EndLorryTransport

+6

All reactions:
138Singapore Road Accident and 137 others
The minister already stated .
Can the protest change her mind?

pwongkk

If the gov wants to permit transporting workers in lorries, not say cannot.

Whenever there are workers being transported in lorry, the vehicle speed will be limited to 50km/h on all roads.

At least some protection for the unrestrained passengers.

worldmap777

the ** towkays gonna use this reason to increase the price and charge it to the consumer. then it will inflate things again.

0nePunchm@n

If the gov wants to permit transporting workers in lorries, not say cannot.

Whenever there are workers being transported in lorry, the vehicle speed will be limited to 50km/h on all roads.

At least some protection for the unrestrained passengers.
yes this is the simplest,fastest&cheapest way to solve this issue!
will some kind souls here go feedback to gov
:)

ckt1978

now SAF dun carry NSFs in 3 tonner liao ar?
last time we have to sit 3 tonners with sandbags leh .

alvincy

Where got so many buses and drivers?

Main problem is the one driving the truck.... he needs to wake up earlier and sleep later and could be doing the same work as the others.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.