High cholesterol

LoaGong12

lifestyle in particular food plays a big part. i take test every year and when i started eating out more esp fried food it suddenly went up!
just normal diet stuff - less meat , more veg, use olive oil over foods, no deep fried

Mecisteus

have you tried aspirin too?
Nowadays not recommended for long term cholesterol treatment.
Statin has a lot of side effects and my main concern is it might causes dementia [not proven] i dont want to try. Anything with dementia is very bad.
If you have the bad genes and at extreme cholesterol levels, risks of stroke is way higher than dementia.

Checkyrmed

Focusing solely on LDL cholesterol LDL C may provide a false sense of security, as cardiovascular disease remains prevalent even in patients who meet guideline-recommended targets.

Checkyrmed

Is Your LDL Pattern A or Pattern B?​

Do you have high LDL or high total cholesterol? If you read my previous article about cheese, you may recall that these LDL or total cholesterol numbers alone are not reliable predictors of mortality from heart disease.
An NBC News piece went further to cite American science writer Gary Taubes who reported that the LDL and total cholesterol numbers have been such poor predictors of disease risk that early screening tests should have likely just tested for HDL and triglycerides and nothing else.
A 1977 NIH study — an early set of papers from the now legendary Framingham Heart Study — confirmed that high HDL is associated with a reduced risk of heart disease. It also confirmed that LDL and “total cholesterol” tells us little about the risk of having a heart attack, language that heart-disease authorities would downplay years later. Given this finding, as Gary Taubes writes in “Good Calories, Bad Calories,” we would have been better off to start testing for HDL — or even triglycerides — and nothing else.
A more nuanced view associates the risk of atherosclerosis and heart disease with the type of LDL particles. There are two patterns (also referred to as “phenotypes”) of LDL particles.
  • Pattern A: large, fluffy LDL particles which are largely benign
  • Pattern B: small, dense LDL particles which are more likely to oxidize and lodge themselves to arterial walls
Studies have long shown the impact of LDL particle size on disease risk. A 1988 study in the Journal of the American Medical Association documented the association between Pattern B (small, dense) particles and disease risk:
The LDL subclass pattern characterized by a preponderance of small, dense LDL particles was significantly associated with a threefold increased risk of myocardial infarction, independent of age, sex, and relative weight.

TLCTLC88

I never taken any supplements.
I'm fat but cholesterol have always been good, doc always surprised at my results. This year test result Triglyceride 0.8.
Still I have a heart attack :o genetics?
I'm consider slightly under weight and Triglyceride 0.4

Doc was surprised I have high cholesterol lor.

Elfblade

Recently did body checkup, despite taking fish oil for few years still high cholesterol. Thinking of go JB buy some med. Can someone advice which med the best. Many thanks.
Fish oil supplement increase both LDL and HDL, I stopped taking after it worsened my Cholesterol problem.

ceestudent

If you have high cholesterol and beer belly. Better do some light cardio lah.
Beer belly can easily kena fatty liver. Only diet change won't cut it.

rarenick

Psyllium husk you took b4? Its a torture man... Might as well eat an apple and drink lots of water before meals.

The tastier one is Fybogel as it has orange flavour, but I lazy to wash the cup. Very sticky, and also expensive unless buy standalone psyllium husk. My main consumption is now soaked oats and occasionally olive oil.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.