[GE2025] Extensive changes to electoral boundaries due to population shifts; only 5 GRCs, 4 SMCs left intact

Medicated Oil

Not enough time to prove his ‘worth’. It’s like you spent four years preparing for O level then suddenly MOE says we are changing the syllabus six months before exams. How will you feel sia?
See it this way.
The same also applies for the other present advisors whose area are kana makan or re-drawn.
And it is not saying that all of them really walk the ground fully for the past 5 years.
CSJ just have to suck thumb and do it.
It is not the 1st time they do it.

tExtra

See it this way.
The same also applies for the other present advisors whose area are kana makan or re-drawn.
And it is not saying that all of them really walk the ground fully for the past 5 years.
Lesser of an effect for the incumbent as they can campaign on the ‘good work’ / better reputation of their peers.

Ya, he LLST.

From the standpoint of one’s survival, I agree one should do anything to survive, better yet thrive. But from the standpoint of moral values / justice, I felt what they did was despicable / 教坏子孙.

Medicated Oil

Lesser of an effect for the incumbent as they can campaign on the ‘good work’ / better reputation of their peers.

Ya, he LLST.

From the standpoint of one’s survival, I agree one should do anything to survive, better yet thrive. But from the standpoint of moral values / justice, I felt what they did was despicable / 教坏子孙.
Nothing new from them.
Why would the other sides expect them to be generous or kind this time ?
The other side just have to deal with what is given and work on it.

As for good work, I guess the residents can decide for themselves.
Based on their track records, they are ringing a lot of alarms for the past few years.

theballstopshere

By then, when they kena, they kena big time lol.....
yah, prob only in their 30s, unless they have been exposed to local politics by their parents.

deal with competition from foreigners for jobs, unstable jobs, expensive housing, rising cost of living...

then their life of a stress-free life, travelling, going to cafes in their 20s, posting on IG... will be a thing of the post.

SmokeBomb

Jalan Kayu SMC not obvious meh?
Jalan Kayu SMC?? That area's MP, Gan Thiam Poh and his Grassroots are also very active and on.
Not easy to win for any fair-weathered opposition who are hardly there at all.

Even they put a new comer to go through baptism of fire also should be quite safe.

charleslee1989

See it this way.
eh, you really think the PAP folks got no inside info ah???

tExtra

Nothing new from them.
Why would the other sides expect them to be generous or kind this time ?
The other side just have to deal with what is given and work on it.

As for good work, I guess the residents can decide for themselves.
You are right. Expect no kindness from your competitors. Morality 不可以当饭吃. CSJ should just focus on Orange & Teal - dun use it as a tool to advance his political aspirations.

Medicated Oil

You are right. Expect no kindness from your competitors. Morality 不可以当饭吃. CSJ should just focus on Orange & Teal - dun use it as a tool to advance his political aspirations.
He is hitting two birds with one stone.
Saving his business and getting some donations for the party.
Why not ?

How many more campaign can he run before he retire ?

SmokeBomb

If the oppies are sincere in doing good and serving Singaporean, it doesn't matter which grc is it. They should be serving the citizens, not residents of a certain district
You can't say that....

Opposition has limited resources and outreach capacity to create impact. So they have to be more targeted and coordinated in reaching out to create enough presences and impact on the residents of that area.

If not, we will hear... Opposition only come during election period, rest of the year, no sound, no picture.

This is unlike the ruling party, where they have the PA to create multiple engagement and outreach points to supplement the MP of that area.

tExtra

He is hitting two birds with one stone.
Saving his business and getting some donations for the party.
Why not ?

How many more campaign can he run before he retire ?
Tat’s true. Being involved in politics increases visibility which can be monetised. $$ after all is one of the main reasons that drive us to do what we do.

Medicated Oil

Tat’s true. Being involved in politics increases visibility which can be monetised. $$ after all is one of the main reasons that drive us to do what we do.
Maybe I conveyed my comments in a wrong way.
I am not sure whether CSJ is connecting his cafe with the party even though he is holding some of their activities there.
(That is one point I cannot confirm cos I dunno.)

I can only say that CSJ may want to give the meal as a token of appreciation for the donations.
But, the donation also "covered" the cost of the meal.
(Ha, Ha, Ha. Hope I am not causing more confusion.)

wongkc

If the oppies are sincere in doing good and serving Singaporean, it doesn't matter which grc is it. They should be serving the citizens, not residents of a certain district

Then why only some districts got free shuttle bus... Some districts got free bird nests... etc

Means PAP not sincere in serving citizens... understood!

Medicated Oil

For them, they have a lot more time to mobilise their grassroots.....
Banners and Posters - Settled by the contractors.
Rally - Should be gathering all the grassloots in the surrounding areas.
Campaigning - Every advisors should have some volunteers working closely with them.

Maybe the sticky portion is the assembly area for the election night (Where the advisors and supporters will be going) awaiting the announcement of the results.
That one can be sorted out easily.

For the other side, they can start planning their final assembly areas on election night now.
As for the volunteers assigned to the individual candidates, they still have the time to do that.
The banners and posters are the one that they cannot chiong early.
And they have to collect donations and ask for more volunteers asap.

You can add if I left out any other areas or matters.

charleslee1989

Banners and Posters - Settled by the contractors.
Rally - Should be gathering all the grassloots in the surrounding areas.
Campaigning - Every advisors should have some volunteers working closely with them.

Maybe the sticky portion is the assembly area for the election night (Where the advisors and supporters will be going) awaiting the announcement of the results.
That one can be sorted out easily.

For the other side, they can start planning their final assembly areas on election night now.
As for the volunteers assigned to the individual candidates, they still have the time to do that.
The banners and posters are the one that they cannot chiong early.
And they have to collect donations and ask for more volunteers asap.

You can add if I left out any other areas or matters.

Those that you mention for the other side is missing one very important thing : Where to contest given the limited resources given the shift in boundaries?

Medicated Oil

Those that you mention for the other side is missing one very important thing : Where to contest given the limited resources given the shift in boundaries?
Did not really get your question.
Correct me if I read it wrongly.

Using CSJ as a case study.
You mean how to react if CSJ found out that his target area become larger.
Then, he have to decide to raise more funds and gather more volunteers for the battle.
Or just move to a SMC for his battle.

Being a OPP is never easy.
If you are too fixated about the boundary change, then you are just losing time on generating solutions to fight the battle.
Or else just give it up completely.

ramlee

See it this way.
different rah. PAP is everywhere :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.