BYD sealion 7

SecretAgent

Lol.

Last time no gear stick. Puss.

Now ev become puss? You nothing to hit, hit everything you are not doing?

My car only take 30mins to full.
0-80 at 10mins. 15mins to 90%, last 10% Tesla throttled it to protect battery thus slower. not sure what you smoking

you dont even drive one do you.
Mine slightly slower but it's fine...

Please don't take all those figures as you see from the manufacturers and providers...

Real world speeds varies.. there are the conditions of the chargers(dirty contact points), lower amperage and higher resistance from different variables. It is in theory anyone can get those charging speed figures..

in real world conditions?? :o

By the way..I still got a Toyota dyna and 430i to drive :o

byfun

Ya road tax is a killer so much for "green" car.

Insurance I believe if 50%, $1800ish if 20years experience?

Narrative of green is for show. Its never about being green. Its all about $$$$.

Few example... ev cars road tax. plastic bags, solar energy on grid selling back to SP power come at a reduced pricing ..etc.

Green and carbon reducing is a dirty word in SG just to milk more money.

HMAN

What are your thoughts on charging best practices ?

They say NMC battery is best to keep between 20%-80% range, and it is better to charge from 20%. Some say LFP can go up to 100% , yet others believe it is still battery hence better to use 80% max rule of thumb. For your friend that does intermittent charging, is it bad for the battery ? I have read claims that it is best to start charging from 20%.

I learned from a video Tesla has all the charging data from their customers for more than a decade. The conclusion was fast charging or slow charging makes no difference to the battery life, at least up to 10 years. Yet people are saying fast charging is bad for battery. On the other hand, BYD is talking about megawatt charging. If fast charging is bad, what is BYD talking about ?
Gemini copy and paste answer for LFP, its cathode construction allowed more beating to enable longer charge cycles life.

LFP batteries feature a cathode made of lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) and an anode typically made of graphite, offering advantages like long cycle life, safety, and thermal stability, while having a lower energy density compared to other lithium-ion chemistries.
Here's a more detailed breakdown:
Cathode (Positive Electrode):
Material: Lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4).
Key Features:
Safety: LiFePO4 is known for its high thermal and chemical stability, making it a safer cathode material compared to some other lithium-ion chemistries.
Long Cycle Life: LFP batteries exhibit a long cycle life, typically exceeding 2,000 cycles, meaning they can be charged and discharged many times before significant degradation.
Abundant Raw Materials: The iron and phosphate components of LiFePO4 are readily available and environmentally friendly.
Cobalt-Free: LFP batteries do not contain cobalt, a material often associated with environmental and ethical concerns.
Good Performance in Extreme Temperatures: LFP batteries perform well in a wide range of temperatures, including high and low temperatures.
Anode (Negative Electrode):
Material: Typically graphite or other carbon-based materials.
Key Features:
Lithium Ion Storage: During charging, lithium ions are extracted from the cathode and intercalated into the anode material.
Reversal during Discharge: During discharge, the process is reversed, with lithium ions moving back from the anode to the cathode.
Charging Speed: Anode materials play a crucial role in determining the charging speed of the battery.
In Summary:
LFP batteries use LiFePO4 as the cathode material, known for safety, long life, and environmental friendliness.
The anode is typically made of graphite, facilitating the storage and movement of lithium ions during charging and discharging.

SecretAgent

What are your thoughts on charging best practices ?

They say NMC battery is best to keep between 20%-80% range, and it is better to charge from 20%. Some say LFP can go up to 100% , yet others believe it is still battery hence better to use 80% max rule of thumb. For your friend that does intermittent charging, is it bad for the battery ? I have read claims that it is best to start charging from 20%.

I learned from a video Tesla has all the charging data from their customers for more than a decade. The conclusion was fast charging or slow charging makes no difference to the battery life, at least up to 10 years. Yet people are saying fast charging is bad for battery. On the other hand, BYD is talking about megawatt charging. If fast charging is bad, what is BYD talking about ?
I don't care about 20% to 80% now.

Right now... If left 100km range... I just charge it fully... Hope the battery kaput or health drop below 80% or is it 70% befores the warranty I go make them give me a new one.

Battery tech and BMS has comes a long way...it is much better than what you read online.

It is actually working full time continuously to monitor the batteries. It is powered by the auxiliary 12volt battery.

icyflame

Can’t wait to see this in person on the roads. Congratulations to all the launch model buyers. Am sure there are a few in this forum😆

batniss

Please don't take all those figures as you see from the manufacturers and providers...

Real world speeds varies.. there are the conditions of the chargers(dirty contact points), lower amperage and higher resistance from different variables. It is in theory anyone can get those charging speed figures..

I never take real world figures. I wrote based on my own experience.

That's why I am very clear how it works

38Kwh in 1h 15mins is slow.

SecretAgent

I never take real world figures. I wrote based on my own experience.

That's why I am very clear how it works

You used a 50kWh Charger. I used a 250kWh charger.
I can use 120kwh charger too...

I even got industrial diesel pump point to pa full tank of I wanna... :o

Roadster01

Think BYD is giving 10 year warranty on battery?

at end of 10 year, just scrap it Lor.

think servicing also 10 years?

moi still trust moi ICE car after more than 10 years, though minor repairs/replacement moi can do it moiself.

batniss

anyone hooting tesla model Y 110? or should go for the normal RWD?
Depends you want speed or budget friendly.

If want speed, be willing to pay. Cheap supercar speed

Supercharger price is $0.59-.63/kwh.
Cheaper than SP And charge way faster.

As a Tesla owner, I will say none.

Tesla no 10y warranty and going heavily into subscription model. No waze. HUd expansion or feature is based on Elon's mood.

icyflame

TheITGuy

This is insane. Soon realy only rich ppl can drive a cat. Good news for sinkie girl 20 years down the road because they can identify behkan and ehkan just by asking 1 question.

icyflame

anyone hooting tesla model Y 110? or should go for the normal RWD?
Do you need the speed? If you don’t, you can literally get the same car for a steal, if 5.9 secs is not important to you.

I tested the Cat A model 3 before and it is no slouch. So I believe that while it is listed at 9.6 secs , it is speedy enough for day to day drive.

You save around 26k at the onset and another 24k of road tax. That’s 50k off over 10 years.

Most of the Tesla owners buy the car for the feel of the drive. 50k more for 5.9 secs is high. But last time, people pay more to get the WRX STI or WRX over the normal Impreza. So speed does carry a premium.

Question is whether it is 50k of difference in the feel. Only you can answer it.

icyflame

This is insane. Soon realy only rich ppl can drive a cat. Good news for sinkie girl 20 years down the road because they can identify behkan and ehkan just by asking 1 question.
This has been the case. Last time even got this term called 5C, with cars being included.

Last time when fresh graduates earn 2k to 2.5k, cars were on average at 100k. Nowadays fresh graduates earn around 4.5-5k, cars average at 200k.

icyflame

This has been the case. Last time even got this term called 5C, with cars being included.

Last time when fresh graduates earn 2k to 2.5k, cars were on average at 100k. Nowadays fresh graduates earn around 4.5-5k, cars average at 200k.
Having said this, my recommendation is for people not to buy a car more than 10% of your income (or at least household income). This way, car will amount to no more than 10% of income per year.

C_boliao

Ya road tax is a killer so much for "green" car.

Insurance I believe if 50%, $1800ish if 20years experience?
All the talks about green car. Tax n charge you more for it. What load of nonsense.

standarture

Wah now so expensive???? Oh fast charge. Knn damn ex. The rates go up damn fast since 2021.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.