• Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

dambio

PSP: Government response to Trump tariffs partly to instil fear

psp-tariffs.jpg

They are out of touch but quick to politicise.

489667671_4022227304716042_9137872541606282129_n.jpg
Fear mongering works mah

boredom2012

So it make sense though...

Double PR can buy and sell/rent out resale HDB....

Song song gao jurong

Actually, tariffs dun affect our imports. It actually affects our export's competitiveness.....

COL will not get affected by the tariffs....

Actually, once the boundaries are set, the writ will come down within 3.5 months to catch the oppo unaware.

Now, imho a confluence of stuff is gonna make the wait longer if the rumoured july dates are true.

Trump's tariffs will not affect the COL but will affect Singapore's exports competitiveness which will lower the GDP no doubt. The tariffs are fugged up in a way that if the tariffs differential between the US and country A and the total cost of bringing the products to singapore for manufacturing are no different, then country A will not bring their manufacturing to Singapore.

It will only work in our favour if the differential is really massive between the US. However, the differential is not massive lol.....

Tariff dun affect imports FFS bro......
Factors That Could Increase Inflation

Higher Import Costs:Singapore imports a significant portion of its goods, including food, energy, and consumer products, with the U.S. being a notable supplier (though not the largest). The 10% tariff on Singapore’s exports to the U.S. might not directly raise import prices from the U.S., since Singapore imposes no retaliatory tariffs (maintaining zero tariffs on most U.S. goods under the USSFTA, aside from a 9% GST). However, if the U.S. tariffs disrupt global supply chains—particularly for energy or commodities like oil, where the U.S. is a key player—Singapore could face higher costs for these imports.

Tariffs on other countries (e.g., 54% on China, 46% on Vietnam) could raise the cost of goods Singapore re-exports or uses as inputs from those nations, indirectly pushing up prices. For instance, a spike in costs for electronics components or raw materials could filter through to consumers.

Pass-Through from Businesses:

Some Singaporean firms exporting to the U.S. might face squeezed margins due to the 10% tariff. If they pass these costs back into the domestic market or if U.S. firms raise prices on exports to Singapore to offset their own tariff burdens, this could nudge inflation upward. A survey by the American Chamber of Commerce in Singapore (January 2025) indicated that 45% of businesses plan to pass increased costs to customers, which could include Singaporean consumers.Global Commodity Price Pressures:A broader trade war sparked by Trump’s policies could disrupt commodity markets. For example, if retaliatory tariffs from Canada or Mexico affect U.S. energy exports, or if China’s economic slowdown reduces global supply, prices for oil, food, and metals—key imports for Singapore—might rise. Singapore’s consumer price index (CPI) is sensitive to such shifts, given its reliance on imported essentials.

Cmonster

Those who don't know how to invest, see their portfolio drop, LOL at you. This is not something that is unforeseeable.

Even PAP already have FTA with the US long time ago, and always maintain a trade deficit with them, because they already knew this would happen.

Yes I agree PAP has foresight and has managed Singapore's economy well

that is why PSP is shooting themselves here

nothing to LOL at me, I have been waiting a while for this opportunity, hopefully after capitulation happens can go in and earn a free car

ahnyaahnya

Every economist and Government around the world says this is the biggest shock to the world economy in the last 100 years

All the markets are reflecting this

and PSP can come out and talk bird

that is why opposition parties are lacking credibility and will not make any headway

and the delusional supporters come in to agree, behaving exactly like MAGA supporters who are now being F by Mr Orange
The tariffs are more drastic than anticipated.
Yup the ordinary folks in USA are going to suffer . Cost of living will go up. The rich ones will benefit from the tax reduction ( read that the $$$ from the tariffs will enable him to reduce tax collection). For the ordinary folks, maybe only F&B workers and those who do lots of overtime may be happy with him ( cancelled tax on tips and o/t pay)

keewee0415

I reckon we are all waiting for someone by the name of Wise Lee or Wisely to be nominated...

I have been hearing calls to vote for this person over the last 16 years or so but he never stepped up...

xcodes

we have opened legs too wide for too long ... this recent tarrif development should be good for sinkies ... time to kick the ftrashes out and good jobs back to sinkies ...

Edmwers really think all the big MNCs will remain in Singapore no matter what happens?

Sometimes I really dun know if edmwers are looking down on Singapore too much or thinking too highly of Singapore. We are just a red dot and this fact will never change :o

keywords are too wide ... what you are saying is more towards to the extreme of having or not having at all ... when the economy is shrinking, why do we need so many ftrashes when our own local true-blue sinkies are out of jobs?

Genzgenx

Which industries hiring fresh grads ? Tech ? Got a friend graduated with psychology degree still finding job after almost 1 year . Barely getting call ups for interviews.
Yesh tech, my friend company most of the sinkies are still looking for job after mass retrenchment, just no opening and with opening its looking for frssh grad and interns, friends are even considering changing to mortuary industries lol

Cmonster

The tariffs are more drastic than anticipated.
Yup the ordinary folks in USA are going to suffer . Cost of living will go up. The rich ones will benefit from the tax reduction ( read that the $$$ from the tariffs will enable him to reduce tax collection). For the ordinary folks, maybe only F&B workers and those who do lots of overtime may be happy with him ( cancelled tax on tips and o/t pay)

the amazing thing is many of the MAGA folks are still posting that Trump is doing a great job and going to bring all the manufacturing jobs back

and they can all buy Made in America and MAGA

their understanding of economics is so lacking it is stunning

I am sure there are MAGA people willing to earn the same $3 per hour salary as some worker in Vietnam to make NIKE shoes in Texas :rolleyes:

and NIKE will sell everything at the same price , when they finally make their shoes in USA again :LOL:

parchiao

i don think PAP is saying that they can save the world. rather what they are saying is that we must not play down the impact of these geopolitical tensions that can affect our lives and that the PAP will continue to help Singaporeans.

personally i think this is what a responsible government should do. Do not gamble with our lives la

Can explain what is gamble with our lives?

PAP have been sucking up money from Sinkies, and their version 2.0 of using land cost to suck up more money is even scarier than version 1.0 when they used CPF money to develop Singapore.

These are the issues that are affecting us more than geopolitics.

We cannot participate in geopolitics as the government is voted in and more importantly paid to do that, nor is it encouraged here in EDMW. :s13:

Emperor_Hippo

PSP: Government response to Trump tariffs partly to instil fear​

psp-tariffs.jpg

They are out of touch but quick to politicise.

489667671_4022227304716042_9137872541606282129_n.jpg
TCB is out of touch.

LMW is an amateur.

Hazel Poa muz be damn high when they worked out on reducing GST to 7% and thru other measures can "earn back" the money.

they dunno this basic rule of the world?
- 有钱有权是王者。
- 没钱有权是霸者。
- 有钱没权是长子。
- 无钱无权是孙子!!!!!!!!!

你们是要把新加坡从长子变孙子啊?!

jinsadndepress

Every body misunderstand every body ...

Yesh ish true world market tio kan ... n will have serious repercussion

But also true pap spread fear to make chiu vote for them ...

Because reality ish in the end they also cant do anything ...

So psp notch wrong in saying pap spreading fear

Strawman strawman strawman

ahnyaahnya

I am sure there are MAGA people willing to earn the same $3 per hour salary as some worker Vietnam to make NIKE shoes in Texas :rolleyes:

and NIKE will sell everything at the same price , when they finally make their shoes in USA again :LOL:
They need to bring the illegals back in to do the work
🤣

itedino

UK also hve something called opinion polling and exit polls too …. SG banned that practise I believe…
Got do la but those polls are kept for pap to see not to others. PAP got grassroot and People association to help them do ground survey and feeling of the people.

U think pap never do his homework.

I dun think pap that naive.

Do business also 知己知敌,百战百胜。

Pap always came out with strategy to wack the opposition.

Last debate is 鸿门宴 where they target CSJ and slammed CSJ yet CSJ still went into the trap and tio kan by 10 millions white paper which Vivian kan him for falsehood. In fact pap is preparing for 10 millions population else build so many hdbs and condo for who to stay

If polls show 40% pap support only, opposition all will come out in full to chide the government and stress they can do better

parchiao

Yes I agree PAP has foresight and has managed Singapore's economy well

that is why PSP is shooting themselves here

nothing to LOL at me, I have been waiting a while for this opportunity, hopefully after capitulation happens can go in and earn a free car

If you think it is a job well done, then what is there to worry about?

But if you think that there is danger, then what has PAP been doing all this time?

Really strange leh, you mean you cannot see the irony when PAP say what they say?

Ghostpel

I agree that we shouldn’t downplay the impact of Trump tariffs. But to use the stock market tumble to justify any reaction is a weak argument.

The stock markets are known to be irrationally reactive in the short term. Overblowing it doesn’t help the stock market to go up. In fact the right thing to do is to tell our retirees who invested in stock market to stay calm, stay invested and look past it. Instigating reactive emotion can only lead to selling at a loss. In this respect, LMW is not totally wrong.

icebleue

You are wrong. Even the coffeeshop uncles hold Nvidia, Tesla shares... and they will be very angry hearing political party saying this while they lost real money...🙏

you think boomers never hear talks about uncertainty yesterday?
yesterday say already, this morning they all throw liao... its only those young ones 1000am receive friend whatsapp realise their stock prices all go down...

boomer meanwhile go jiak yakun kaya roti or toast box, happily discussing with friend which part of china to go in may after cashing out the profits.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.