[GE2025] PAP Discussion Thread

Laneige

Like no one leaves much impression. Don't say this batch, last batch I only can remb that mango lady off hand n it's due to that saga.
So short election
Face not v well introduced
SOOOOO MANY new faces d
That’s the thing ba

Monstruo^

This entire election I keep seeing clowns like OYK keep showing up talking down opponents.

And those retired old men endorsing GKY. Nth else liao. Walau eh. Really no substance meh their new candidates. Cannot stand up for themselves to speak and introduce themselves.

dqwong

forgettable is perfectly fine but totally not relatable is the problem.

Can anyone please tell me what her speech is about and why should Singaporeans vote for her?

JohannSu1864

forgettable is perfectly fine but totally not relatable is the problem.

Can anyone please tell me what her speech is about and why should Singaporeans vote for her?

These minority candidates can share grandmother stories or sleep openly in parliament n still keep their seats. GRC needed them.

evildoer

i only remember if the candidate screw up in a funny way... or look good..

like ivan lim and sxl

pwongkk

Go green is practiced by global corporations and political parties including opposition.

If you truly want to go green start your own party
Dis-grace-fool ownself talk about going green and sustainability, yet own party is printing all these books.

I can say all the papers consumed by all the opposition parties combined can't even exceed the papers used for printing pappies book.

tmkedmw

https://mustsharenews.com/pap-difference-campaign-efforts/

‘So starkly different’: Netizens call out double standards in PAP’s campaign efforts between ‘safe’ & ‘hot’ GRCs

Latest News Politics Singapore
Netizens say PAP campaigns harder in hotly contested GRCs than "safe" ones.
By Gary Yang - 30 Apr 2025, 4:51 pm

As the 2025 General Election heats up, some Singaporeans are noticing a stark difference in how the People’s Action Party (PAP) appears to be campaigning across constituencies — with “hot” GRCs getting the VIP treatment while “safe” wards seem left on read.

A Reddit post that went viral on 29 Apr on r/singapore voiced this exact frustration.
The OP, who has lived in the same estate for seven years, said they’ve never seen their Member of Parliament (MP), “not during the last election, and not this time either”.

Redditor points out difference in PAP efforts for ‘safe’ GRCs​

The OP pointed out how residents in hotly contested areas are receiving personal visits and warm greetings from MPs, while those in “safe” wards feel overlooked, especially when the GRC has a heavyweight anchor minister.

The OP wrote: “PAP campaign efforts in ‘safe’ GRC is so starkly different from ‘hot’ GRCs.”

They shared that the only interaction they’ve had was one evening on 29 Apr, when a PAP volunteer showed up at their gate, muttered “vote PAP” in a monotone voice, and dropped the manifesto booklet into their house.

The post highlighted how, while “hot” areas see MPs actively going door-to-door and engaging warmly with residents, the less contested wards feel neglected.

The OP speculated that this could be due to complacency in constituencies where PAP is seen as having a guaranteed win, especially when they have a strong anchor minister in place.

Netizens share PAP campaign efforts in their GRCs​

This post struck a nerve with many Singaporeans, sparking a broader discussion on how campaign efforts differ between constituencies.

One Ang Mo Kio GRC resident chimed in to say they haven’t seen a single candidate at their doorstep in four straight elections.

Another user, while acknowledging their MP is fairly active outside campaign season, admitted they felt “a bit put off by the lack of effort” during elections.

PAP efforts

Source: Reddit

Some noted a stark drop in engagement after their constituencies were redrawn. One said that their former MP, who used to be diligent, has been noticeably absent this time.

PAP efforts

Others tried to play devil’s advocate, pointing out that MPs have limited time and massive constituencies to cover and that “hot” wards tend to feel more exciting simply because of media attention.

PAP efforts

One Sembawang resident also recently shared a TikTok video questioning the PAP’s approach to outreach after receiving a political brochure with no personal interaction.

N4E.SI

This is why I always LOL when those kumgongs say if MIW is doing a good job, there's no need to rock the boat, there is NO NEED FOR ANY OPPIES at all

If no strong oppies challenging, you think Gan bo yong will bother to step out of his comfy offices to shake hands with all you chao peasants, listen to your problems & requests?

Actually all sinkies really owe it to the brave people at Hougang, Aljunied & Sengkang

If not for their courage, I think there will be no strong & credible challengers and MIW will confirm rise up to level 200 on the ivory tower. By then you want to see them on the ground you prob need to take rockets!!

Medicated Oil

If your advisors have not appear in front of your block or unit since 2015 and you are making same decision again this year, you are just asking to be ignored.
No action, No reaction.
Your science teacher never taught you.

Medicated Oil

its true, at the "safe" GRC, zero effort and zero campaigning by the arrogant PAP.
"Ai yo.
Just appear at hawker centers and KPT and my subjects will come and kudo to me.
Still need to go door to door ?
Wake up your ideas lah."

o0KelviN0o

I’m in TP GRC but never see any action like y’all…

TBH, I also never see any Oppo action… I even asked my wife who is the other party and she also not sure

Really make me work on Saturday for nothing… just let me go JB like my friends at Marine Parade la… wah lau eh

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.