jogging and motivation thread

I'm Newbie 2023

hey all sifu & runners,

any recommendations if to start back on running after stopped fews year and gain weight (overweight)?

Running shoes i have now is more of support type.

thanks for any advice

WussRedXLi

hey all sifu & runners,

any recommendations if to start back on running after stopped fews year and gain weight (overweight)?

thanks for any advice

Can de, just start with say 1km first for 7 days, then slowly up mileage add 5% after every Sunday. If you are not in any hurry, 3% also can. Dont stop can already, just ease into this new routine and be very disciplined in mindset, once you have trained the mindset and routine, you will automatically get out of the door to do and even not feel good if you have missed a day. (you might also take a rest day every week next time with higher mileages)

One more good (and fun) exercise to adopt which i believe is quite beneficial in injury prevention of the few tendons/fascia and improving running, is rope skipping.

Later then visit thread for more advanced topics, like strength, cross training, plyometrics, diet, supplements, recovery methods etc.

basic___

Bought mine in January 2025 (when Puma SG finally brought it in after my persistent questioning), clocked about 200km (about 1/3 life gone).

I use it mostly on long runs and recovery runs (5:30/km to 7:30/km pace). Surprisingly responsive and very stable despite the height. Weight is not something I really noticed, even against the very light Deviate Nitro Elite 3. My legs don't feel like utter trash after doing long runs (15k and above). Less narrow compared to other Puma shoes.

But best to try and see the initial feeling yourself in the store. Shoe very subjective sometimes need a leap of faith (which fails on me sometimes like the Kiprun KD900x)
I see. I will probably drop by iRun to compare between both shoes. iRun selling magmax for around 150. Superblast 2 is like 300 at double the pricing. I have 500dollars HomeNS credits so I am basically getting the shoe for free.

LWZ

hey all sifu & runners,

thanks for any advice
What is your BMI ?

kaixax555

Those Asics kayano at shoppee for $50 is it fake one ?
Shopee sometimes got fake Asics need to be careful

If in doubt, check the bigger name stores or Asics Web itself

Ran my 21.1km just 4 days ago and I thought I have already rest well and ended up I feel very tired after 5km today. Sometime I can feel very good before run and when start to run. I struggle immediately. If I force myself. I feel I could still go for 10km.

[url=https://ibb.co/90pV39b] [/URL]
Haha DSW already prescribed sprint training 4 days after half mara and yes it felt like crap :s13:

winningeleven

Haha DSW already prescribed sprint training 4 days after half mara and yes it felt like crap :s13:
What is DSW.

Normally I feel ok to run the next day even doing a half marathon.

I did ever run half. Next day run 11km and rest 1 day and ran 21km. [url=https://ibb.co/204FpwXy] [/URL]

endo5x5

pAvLvyJ.png

Closing the work week with a 10K on a windless and dry night.

Right big toe nail has turned purple, which means:
- it gotten injured back at 2XU
- nail is gonna take 2 to 3 months to die and fall off, which is gonna disrupt my training eventually. Sucks big time...

It doesn't hurt that much anymore, but I'm sure of its eventual outcome.

I'm Newbie 2023

Can de, just start with say 1km first for 7 days, then slowly up mileage add 5% after every Sunday. If you are not in any hurry, 3% also can. Dont stop can already, just ease into this new routine and be very disciplined in mindset, once you have trained the mindset and routine, you will automatically get out of the door to do and even not feel good if you have missed a day. (you might also take a rest day every week next time with higher mileages)

One more good (and fun) exercise to adopt which i believe is quite beneficial in injury prevention of the few tendons/fascia and improving running, is rope skipping.

Later then visit thread for more advanced topics, like strength, cross training, plyometrics, diet, supplements, recovery methods etc.
Thanks, will try it out tomorrow. slow and consistent shall be the key.
Not really good at rope skipping. ;) although saw online everyday10min rope skipping is beneficial

Lasogette

Thanks bro. Trying to lose some weight now. Lol. Old shoes like friction buay zai liao.

WussRedXLi

Thanks, will try it out tomorrow. slow and consistent shall be the key.
Not really good at rope skipping. ;) although saw online everyday10min rope skipping is beneficial

Just get 1, quite cheap. Just 3 x 1 min in between 1 min rest per day is good, the skipping (bouncing) motion really helps with running, in that it is a concentric motion for the calves and eccentric motion for the shin muscles as well. It has a bit of plyometric element as well, as well as a bit of strength element. Supposed to help with injury prevention (tendons/fascia/ligaments) as well (any injury = going back in fitness, look at it from a broad pov)

Next time more advanced stage is 1 legged skipping, which i am doing now.
I dont do much pogo jumps other than the diagonal directions, and even then just a bit.

kaixax555

Just now I go Puma Somerset

Saw they got new colorway liao for Nitro Elite 3

LyDWPbv.jpeg

Still thinking get the Purple one (which I have) or the new red one :o

Also for the new Fast-R3 liao

W0XJDeF.jpeg

I noted some things:
1. The heel sits behind the rear pads
2. The tongue is wafer thin, literally paper next to the already thin Nitro Elite 3

No price increase from the Fast-R2, still same price (359)

Same as Metaspeed Sky/Edge Paris (which I see at Dhoby Asics also)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.