[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

BohemianSG

Stronghold or not, I don't know.

Let's say they moved in a year ago (after end of pandemic) it means they have been served by WP for 1 year?

How they would vote would (at least partly) depend on how well their MP had served them in the past 1 year?

They are still moving in even now lah.. And ppl who moved in to BTO are unlikely to be discontented losers who kpkb and vote Oppo. They want their property values to appreciate and will not kpkb about wanting property prices to drop lah.

Somemore this area already has an MRT station across the road and a Polytechnic nearby and i think st Hilda pri and other schools nearby. A lot of the amenities because it can be considered matured estate with all the amenities at 10kkj and Bedok Reservoir nearby.

You see all the areas with new BTO, PAP win landslide hor. Like Potong Pasir, a one time oppo stronghold now PAP new bird can win landslide.

Dudick

Your reply just supported what i said what... Its the new BTO areas... "solve some of the teething issues in the new GreenGem estate, "

The residents only moved in recently. Last election they were not there. In 2020, it was BTO under construction and before that empty land for some time. Good place to jog. There were no residents there for it to be an "aljunied stronghold"

Dun come and test me lah.. i used to stay in aljunied GRC and my parents are still staying in aljunied GRC. Are you yet another WP supporter who never stay in WP wards before?

Really huh, so you mean those living in Waterview and The Tropica did not vote in 2020, or these 2 condo only got people move in after 2020? In case you don’t know, Waterview TOP in 2014 and Tropica TOP in 2000

charlieangel123

Balian

Think WP should just not field any candidates in 2030 except for the 3 they are incumbent in.

As Sylvia Lim said this may be the last chance they have such good credible candidates.

Let sinkies repent in the next GE by having no good credible candidates so that they know how hard to get these ppl to stand up to run for elections.
They could get gd candidates this GE because people saw hope when wp won SK grc during last GE. That win gave wp momentum and people hope.

This GE pap successfully broke wp’s momentum.
how many wp members will still be around in 5 years time?

bluerhino

Thank you, from the bottom of my heart.

We can take heart in a strong result.

For all who supported me, do not be disheartened, our message remains undimmed!

I hope to continue to serve Singapore and Jalan Kayu to the best of my ability!

You are Andre? Go go become ncmp.

jeffprobst

nah....if pritam do this, it would be extremely unfair to his young promising WP members. It might even turn off potential young talents who wish to join them

pritam should just think what is best for his WP tbh
Sad to say I agreed with this. it will be unfair to those young WP if they want to be ncmp.

evildoer

actually how they count the mandate ? if it's a walk over.. they will not be part of the mandate ?

Just say that IF this election all walkover no other opposition party contested. the place where wp didn't contest, it's pap walk over. only wp vs pap.. then is it the PAP mandate is only 49+%. if so i think mosquito team might as well disolve only giving PAP good mandate

https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSh6SdTAc/

yperic

[Lor bak recipe]

As promised, here’s the recipe for my signature dish – lor bak! I hope you'll try making it yourself this long weekend, and tag me if you do. ☀️

Ingredients:
- 6 cloves of garlic (with skin)
- ⁠6 slices of ginger
- ⁠1 tablespoon of sesame oil
- ⁠2 sticks of cinnamon
- ⁠5 pieces of bay leaves
- ⁠3 star anise
- ⁠1 kg of pork (I used 2/3 belly + 1/3 shoulder; can tweak based on preference)
- ⁠1/4 cup light soya sauce
- ⁠1/6 cup dark soya sauce
- ⁠700ml water (plus standby 150ml to add if too gao)
- ⁠5 to 6 pieces of rock sugar
- ⁠Optional: 5-6 hard boiled eggs (peeled); tau kwa (cut into triangles) and tau pok

Method:
1. Set a pot over medium high heat. Add sesame oil, stir fry whole garlic and ginger slices for about 2 minutes.
2. ⁠Add cinnamon sticks, star anise and bay leaves. Stir fry for another 3 minutes.
3. ⁠Add pork, let brown lightly before flipping it over. About 3 minutes on each side.
4. ⁠Add dark and light soya sauce, five spice powder and water.
5. ⁠Bring to a boil then lower to a simmer for 45 minutes.
6. ⁠Add peeled hard boiled eggs/tau kwa/tau pok and simmer for 20 minutes.
7. ⁠Add rock sugar, stir well, and simmer for another 20 minutes. Best served with rice.

#lorbak

meridian

Think WP should just not field any candidates in 2030 except for the 3 they are incumbent in.

As Sylvia Lim said this may be the last chance they have such good credible candidates.

Let sinkies repent in the next GE by having no good credible candidates so that they know how hard to get these ppl to stand up to run for elections.
Repent simi? Don't console yourself le :( sinkies more happy if there's no oppo :o

zwHrebmeM

Yee Jenn Jong 余振忠's post
I have received many messages since calling time on my political journey. I will still be with the Party but will not take part in any further GEs. Amongst the messages, I deeply appreciate this one (and all as well), mainly because this was what I had hoped to do when I joined in 2011.
Inside and outside of parliament, I had called for political education - not the type that MOE dishes out that really stifles the interest of youths in our political processes. In this long 15-year journey, often experiencing disappointments and doubts myself, I sometimes wondered if my journey was worth it. I am pleased to know that my journey had inspired her from being someone disinterested in politics to voting with conviction for WP and now volunteering for us.
I look forward with renewed optimism that there will be many others who will take such a journey too. Who knows if it might eventually lead to wearing our badge to stand as a warrior in blue in a future GE.
#workingforsingapore
-----------
Hi Jenn Jong.
This is a long message, but I wanted to sincerely thank you for stepping up for Joo Chiat over the past 14 years.
I first came to know you in 2011 when you were introduced as the Workers’ Party candidate for Joo Chiat. I was just 17 then—without much political maturity to fully grasp the significance of your candidacy, especially in what was then running as an opposition candidate. Looking at the demographics, most people in Joo Chiat seemed comfortable with life, so it didn’t feel like we had strong reasons to support the opposition. Still, I followed your Facebook page—it felt good to know another neighbour who genuinely cared about the community.
Fast forward to 2015, when I cast my very first vote. Joo Chiat SMC had already been absorbed into Marine Parade GRC. At the time, I felt a strong pull toward the PAP, influenced by the national sentiment surrounding Mr. Lee Kuan Yew’s passing and the SG50 celebrations. It felt like voting against the incumbent would be ungrateful. But deep down, I knew how hard you had fought over the years—and I greatly admired He Ting Ru for her courage in standing for election. So I made a different choice: I cast my first vote for the Workers’ Party.
By 2020, my second vote for the Workers’ Party came with full conviction. Through my experience in public service, I came to truly understand the importance of a credible opposition to serve as a check and balance to the government. Still, I must admit that fear lingered when it came to expressing my political views openly.
Over time, WP faced challenges, and I too wavered in my faith. But it was your consistent sharing—your words, your honesty—that grounded me again and reminded me why I believed in this cause in the first place. You helped me trust the party leadership again.
Now in 2025, I’ve moved to Hougang SMC and was deeply impressed by the calibre of the candidate WP fielded. For the first time, I decided to step up and volunteer with the Hougang team. Not only that—I’ve been actively engaging my family and friends on why they should consider supporting the Workers’ Party. I’m especially proud that my husband, who works in public service and had always voted for the PAP, was convinced to give WP his vote this election.
Thank you for your unwavering dedication and belief in a better, more democratic Singapore. Your commitment has shown me—and many others—that even one voice, when consistent and true, can inspire others to make a difference.
Take care, and I hope to see you soon
Regards

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.