zym.sg Mobile (Singtel MVNO)

weng

Sharing an experience we encountered.

My wife got charged $15 for 3 overseas call (each call stated zhun zhun 1min) when were in batam in mar. She chk phone log got 3 calls from our home intercom system. But she said she didn’t remember answering. Strangely my phone log didn’t hv any records. The intercom will call me first (pri number) b4 diverting to her number (sec number) if i didn’t answer after some time. Also couldn’t verify number cuz not stated in the bill. And so she enquired with zym and got the following reply:

“Upon checking with billing team, the charges are correct.

all roaming and international calls, as well as SMS, are billed based on the Call Detail Records (CDR) provided by Singtel. According to our records, Singtel has accurately captured your usage and billed us accordingly. Therefore, the charges you see on your bill reflect the fees we received from Singtel.

for "00000" numbers reflected in the invoice, those are incoming call while overseas. For privacy reasons, the caller's number will be reflected as such.

Please be aware that any outgoing roaming calls attempt, answered incoming calls, declined calls, and outgoing SMS while overseas incur pay-per-use charges. The exact charges vary depending on the location. (Same as SingTel)”

Now the keyword is “declined calls”. She might hv rejected the calls. But the question is, reject calls will count as having answered the call and hence incurs overseas charge? Anyone has any experience?

We are still probing zym on this….

twosix

Sharing an experience we encountered.

My wife got charged $15 for 3 overseas call (each call stated zhun zhun 1min) when were in batam in mar. She chk phone log got 3 calls from our home intercom system. But she said she didn’t remember answering. Strangely my phone log didn’t hv any records. The intercom will call me first (pri number) b4 diverting to her number (sec number) if i didn’t answer after some time. Also couldn’t verify number cuz not stated in the bill. And so she enquired with zym and got the following reply:

“Upon checking with billing team, the charges are correct.

all roaming and international calls, as well as SMS, are billed based on the Call Detail Records (CDR) provided by Singtel. According to our records, Singtel has accurately captured your usage and billed us accordingly. Therefore, the charges you see on your bill reflect the fees we received from Singtel.

for "00000" numbers reflected in the invoice, those are incoming call while overseas. For privacy reasons, the caller's number will be reflected as such.

Please be aware that any outgoing roaming calls attempt, answered incoming calls, declined calls, and outgoing SMS while overseas incur pay-per-use charges. The exact charges vary depending on the location. (Same as SingTel)”

Now the keyword is “declined calls”. She might hv rejected the calls. But the question is, reject calls will count as having answered the call and hence incurs overseas charge? Anyone has any experience?

We are still probing zym on this….
There are similar encounters by others before, if u dig back this thread. To avoid any fees, mute the ringing tone and let it end by itself.

weng

I see… i’m also discussing this with my frens… one of them with singtel (direct), and said he has never been charged declining calls overseas (he is frequent traveller). So wonder if mvnos work differently…

Jurong640

The intercom will call me first (pri number) b4 diverting to her number (sec number) if i didn’t answer after some time. Also couldn’t verify number cuz not stated in the bill. And so she enquired with zym and got the following reply:
Sounds like call divert. Even if call divert, it's still chargeable.

Zym previously stated, any incoming calls even never pick up, is legit so singtel bills them and they ask customers to pay.

Well, think this issue is with singtel. They charge for everything. Till singtel can find a solution I.e voip or something like myrepublic talk app, or they able to negotiate a better IDD deal, we have to be prepared for this.

weng

Omg means ring till auto cut off also will tio charged? If like that then anyone wanna sabo or scammer keep calling, then will end up kena billed gao gao😱

xsoldix

Omg means ring till auto cut off also will tio charged? If like that then anyone wanna sabo or scammer keep calling, then will end up kena billed gao gao😱
i got billed some random IDD calls and SMS too.

same SOP reply, i gave up as it's a few cents (not worth my time probing).

but i think this is not a good business practice where customers are charged without our knowledge.

if we stop IDD as a whole, we cannot receive SMS for OTP overseas which can be dangerous to certain extend (emergency fund transfer needed, etc), emergency phone calls required.

Synnexo

When I used to roam, I had all calls diverted to +651. SMS still came through as usual, but callers only heard a busy tone when they tried to reach me. I haven't been billed for any of these diverted calls so far.

xsoldix

When I used to roam, I had all calls diverted to +651. SMS still came through as usual, but callers only heard a busy tone when they tried to reach me. I haven't been billed for any of these diverted calls so far.
What u mean +651 divert?

how can i do that using iOS?

Tedicious

Iirc, ring till auto cut off will not be charged unless u reject the call den it will reflect as 1 min call even when the call was not answered

Jurong640

i encountered this before, i remember the advise was to let it ring through. Do not reject the call as it might go to voicemail.

In january when i was at vietnam, i accidentally rejected scam call, but luckily i was not charged

twosix

What u mean +651 divert?

how can i do that using iOS?
The zym app has options to block international calls and sms.

weng

But that wld block totally which also may not be feasible cuz may still hv legit calls like emergency calls frm fam eg parents who only know how to use telephone and dun hv hp.

weng

Thks everyone for enlightening on the roaming call thingy. Now at least we know wats going on and know what to do in future👍🏼

liangtam

This is Incoming call barring from overseas number, a feature offer by IMDA so people can opt in not to get overseas (mostly scam) calls. It doesn't prevent a SG number from calling the ZYM roamer who will then possibly get expensive bill.

The +651 mentioned is a 'call forwarding' feature instead. whereby +651 (or other) number is invalid, thereby causing the call routing to fail, hence no call. The only problem is people forget to enable/disable it before or after a trip.

xsoldix

This is Incoming call barring from overseas number, a feature offer by IMDA so people can opt in not to get overseas (mostly scam) calls. It doesn't prevent a SG number from calling the ZYM roamer who will then possibly get expensive bill.

The +651 mentioned is a 'call forwarding' feature instead. whereby +651 (or other) number is invalid, thereby causing the call routing to fail, hence no call. The only problem is people forget to enable/disable it before or after a trip.
Can ios use those shortcut dialing to do call forwarding with zym ah?

Jurong640

Just finally got upgraded to 300GB ($10.10 plan) today.

Looks like they reset the data bundle used since 1 May too

20250512-102449.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.