[Official] EDMW Jobless Club - Part 8

Milo-Dino

So, Singaporeans can only do PHV or food delivery in the future since there is no job left for us.
Need to be able to deliver more than the minimum lor. And need to work towards management level since the trend is to keep management/strategic positions to be in Singapore whilst rest to shared service centre.

If not, then work in local sme which got no where to relocate to... And need hire sinkies for wp and spass quota

Shion

Senior Mentor
Need to be able to deliver more than the minimum lor. And need to work towards management level since the trend is to keep management/strategic positions to be in Singapore whilst rest to shared service centre.

If not, then work in local sme which got no where to relocate to... And need hire sinkies for wp and spass quota

Really screwed max now...

jeffprobst

Nowadays, many companies are used to suppressing local workers' wages and relying on cheap labour. This is becoming a serious issue. Most companies no longer want to pay decent wages to locals because they’ve grown dependent on low-cost foreign workers and government subsidies, funded by taxpayers. The government, instead of addressing the root of the problem, just turns a blind eye. They keep handing out support to businesses that, frankly, don’t care about locals.

Milo-Dino

Nowadays, many companies are used to suppressing local workers' wages and relying on cheap labour. This is becoming a serious issue. Most companies no longer want to pay decent wages to locals because they’ve grown dependent on low-cost foreign workers and government subsidies, funded by taxpayers. The government, instead of addressing the root of the problem, just turns a blind eye. They keep handing out support to businesses that, frankly, don’t care about locals.
Still need to meet quota to hire foreigners ma.. Unless u are talking about those high cost employment pass type

Notbbfa

if local sme need to baokah liao, do all functions like ap ar gl FA MA fpa instead of focusing on just 1 :(

havetheveryfun

is indirectly because of CPF also.

a local asking for 5k celery actually is a 5.85k pay. due to 17% employer CPF contributions

Milo-Dino

if local sme need to baokah liao, do all functions like ap ar gl FA MA fpa instead of focusing on just 1 :(
ok... maybe you can relocated to KL and draw MYR if the MNC has moved it's core there....

ok la.. 10 years ago I still can do GL with an MNC... with the processing work all done in India. I remember they did try to move more work over there too including the GL.... even SG Financial statement preparation they also tried to do it there lol

Milo-Dino

is indirectly because of CPF also.

a local asking for 5k celery actually is a 5.85k pay. due to 17% employer CPF contributions
not that.... but it's mainly because there are foreign candidates out there whom are better qualified with lower expected salary.

And now the young grads starting pay is so much higher now... they might even have higher or equivalent pay to another local whom has 2-5 years of experience. End up for the budget of 5k... employer got a choice to hire a freshie whom expects 4-5k starting salary.. or someone whom has afew years of experience.

If you had the chance to interview people sinkies/foreigners/youngers/mature .... i understand why some employers prefer to take foreigners if quota allows

Shion

Senior Mentor
not that.... but it's mainly because there are foreign candidates out there whom are better qualified with lower expected salary.

And now the young grads starting pay is so much higher now... they might even have higher or equivalent pay to another local whom has 2-5 years of experience. End up for the budget of 5k... employer got a choice to hire a freshie whom expects 4-5k starting salary.. or someone whom has afew years of experience.

If you had the chance to interview people sinkies/foreigners/youngers/mature .... i understand why some employers prefer to take foreigners if quota allows

:(

These companies think Singaporeans no need to eat or survive ?
Or, we must depress our expected salaries to be even lower than foreigners ?

Degree grad ask ITE pay range.
Poly grad ask N level pay range.
ITE grad ask PSLE pay range.

Shion

Senior Mentor

Just to highlight that 65.57% of the people gave their strong approval for all these to continue.

Shion

Senior Mentor
Still need to meet quota to hire foreigners ma.. Unless u are talking about those high cost employment pass type

Can always employ their own people who are PR holders. Nothing wrong. PRs are foreigners but somehow are labelled under "local employees" based on MOM guidelines.

Just like my workplace. My entire department there is only 1 real local, which is me. Entire company probably no more than 20% are real locals.

holybell84

It's the employer's market now, they can now lowball jobseekers

Eh, companies dun care. If the chance comes to depress wages, they will do it. Remember that their priority is profits now.

3G SAINT

I will be re-entering the work force next month, working for my friend for a while. As he suggested, it is at least a way to get back on payroll and have some leverage while continuing to look for other roles.

Just this past week, I heard from another friend that his boss has this mindset that if someone has been out of a job for a while, they assume the person is unwanted and won’t even consider interviewing them.
Got job better than no job then you got no income if jobless;)

3G SAINT

Yeah, this friend is actually the one who got me into my first job many years ago. He recently found out I was still jobless close to a year, and so, i felt he just asked me to help him out to help me. He had already approached me 1–2 years ago, but back then I had just joined that toxic place. Now, it just so happens that things have aligned on his end, so he asked me again, leaving the option for me if I ever want to move on later.

Honestly, I can only say I have been saved by this friend, yet again. Really feel like he’s my "en ren". That said, I know it’s not something unlikely to do in the long term. Just keeping my options open for now since the job market is brutal, and I haven’t had many interviews since end March 2025.
Your frenz got share in the company?:)

You are lucky hard to have such frenz nowadays willing help you...:)I did help frenz last time in job search,after he was fine then seldom contact you liao;)

lasnoblur

hirers hire based on checklist. the first 2 is critical to get an interview but resume have to be picked up or valued by the recruiter (1st cut). i have seen numerous really clueless recruiter who hire based on word by word. if another word is used, your resume is less valued and discarded.
1. no. of direct and indirect experience
2. budget (sometimes can be left out during application)
3. fit

it is pretty much a rat race, first come first serve.
many places, culture is hard to change. the cycle repeats to hire another even if one quits because it is employers market now and the pool is readily available.

Milo-Dino

Haha. But if hire Singaporeans and still cannot perform, all sink together and get retrenched

popdod

It's the employer's market now, they can now lowball jobseekers

Eh, companies dun care. If the chance comes to depress wages, they will do it. Remember that their priority is profits now.

together with AI
jog seekers will have alot of obstacles.

now keep hearing AI this AI that.
:eek:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.