how do you respond if you help to pay on behalf of ur grp when eating and one of them say "thank you for the meal!"?

blankies

they will eventually pay...this i know
it is a tease and i dunno how to counter back nicely and pleasantly
Its a bully. Once you tell them. It's not funny as it is not. They will stop.
Its a sign of respect for an individual who has the hassle to pay and collect later.

Lchlch

but u r just helping to pay as a grp and they suppose to pay back...

i encounter such "free meals" tease from ppl frequently but dun have a gd way to counter back without making the whole situation sound serious like I'm demanding my money back

how would u respond?
Easy, if colleagues, after meal, drop them a meal requesting the payment of the Neal $xx each n pay via paynow.

Lchlch

Its a bully. Once you tell them. It's not funny as it is not. They will stop.
Its a sign of respect for an individual who has the hassle to pay and collect later.
That's why I prefer lunch alone.

blankies

Correct, if u unwilling to treat, don't offer to pay 1st.
[/QU. TE]
Utter nonsense. This is not the norm. Paying first does not mean cannot be unwilling to treat. Someone must pay first for efficiency...

David Lai

i encounter such "free meals" tease from ppl frequently but dun have a gd way to counter back without making the whole situation sound serious like I'm demanding my money back

how would u respond?
no need to tank me, i only helped to settle first, and
expect everyone to pay back their portion of the meal…

CanIsayNo

What I do is I set aside an amount I’m comfortable with to lose.. say 100 a month and I set that as “treat others” expenses so in situations like that I will pay and if they choose to chao kuan don’t pay back then I count it as part of that expense and as long as overall it doesn’t go over my comfortable amount I’ll just close an eye

enimen

Just tell him his nickname will be Jeffrey from now onwards

keenklee

how would u respond?
IMHO.
I will say
"I waiting for a person to say exactly that. Means the person going to pay me twice the amount. Haha"

NuaMan

Don't thank me ! Thank the chef for preparing the delicious meal instead.
Now the cost per pax is $XX.XX for the meal, please remember to pay up !

ricohflex

Say

"You are welcome. It is my honour to treat you. "

Remember to smile.

kyokoto

Happened a few times and its usually that 1 or 2 same people. We just never included them in subsequent meet ups, simple as that. If after a meal and you text them to remind them and they still dont pay, just text them this "understand that you might have difficulty paying for the meal, its ok, that one's on me" and never ask them out again.

It's a character issue, the person has poor upbringing.

NextDoorAuntie

To the first person who tease you, quickly say “oh I’m only paying on your behalf. Just now you say you treating all of us, right?” Then act very shock when he/she say never said that b4. Then act very paiseh and tell everyone that sorry we all need to pay on our own because he/she (the person who teased you) is not treating

Encouragesome1

how would u respond?
Thank yourself , interest is 1% per day

Encouragesome1

To the first person who tease you, quickly say “oh I’m only paying on your behalf. Just now you say you treating all of us, right?” Then act very shock when he/she say never said that b4. Then act very paiseh and tell everyone that sorry we all need to pay on our own because he/she (the person who teased you) is not treating
Nice retort back hahaha 🤣

Encouragesome1

I have a colleague and a fren who will calculate individual main, drinks + it's gst, service charge iso divide equally from the total bill. I am ok lah but if me paying on behalf won't do till such extend will just divide by no. Of pax if everyone order about the same.

However, me experienced with frens last time not auto de even u order 1 main + 1 side 2 pax share as 2 of them are not hungry. The rest order main+drinks, end up the person who foot the bill still divide equally in such scenario I think ish not fair. Was just a small grp of 6.
For me I agree w ur point sometimes it s not fair , but the payer gets some little bit leeway how to divide la, he not every one bff so he might remb 1-2 ppl what they ate the other 3-4 he don’t remb alr. Even sometimes I m the one who ate 1/2 meal if they divide equally I think its nvm la. I don’t mind to offset the other fellows a bit since all r good frens n it’s not always.

If it’s regular outing then i mk sure i pay i divide lor to be extremely fair n precise

Encouragesome1

ouch.. my friends will zi dong paynow their share to whoever footing the bill.. i guess u need to be upfront and ask them to pay, like "eh you haven't paid me for the meal just now"

if they are true friends
They don’t usu need to be asked. I usu will paynow right away or right after we disperse… or I ll say ay when I sit down pls give me a shout a say “bui eh, lunch money “ so that me can use a reminder I like ( n I shunbian help remind others who hvt paid can be reminded also)

they will pay back

Monstruo^

how would u respond?
Next time don’t offer to pay for all first lor.

If got such people, if joke joke ok lah. If really out to con a meal, then just serious face back and say: Everyone rem to pay me back ah, yandao chiobu also pay, esp you! I send the receipt to the group chat, all pay accordingly kay.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.