Are S’poreans losing jobs to outsourcing? Most seem to think we’ve lost our regional edge

misterGomez

Conclusion:
Sg education fails big time in this time and age …
Sg ain’t hungry and lacks of exposure to the cruel world…
Self entitlement and pampered spoil child syndromes make them unemployable
you are correct but the 65% wants this

zueinder

Conclusion:
Sg education fails big time in this time and age …
Sg ain’t hungry and lacks of exposure to the cruel world…
Self entitlement and pampered spoil child syndromes make them unemployable
Compared to the top 1% for the rest of the world. Yes.
Compared to the normies from all other countries. Actually, all countries have the same issues.

The unfortunate truth is the normies in our country have to compete with top 1% from rest of the world just for survival.

That's why Singapore's open leg policy to foreigner is not wise.

OddEye

Never agreed to paps current approach. Already obsolete..we should have started looking within 10 years back. Make our people more competent than rest of the world

fatscaryuncle

Sinkies very proud of their nus, ntu ma always say must hire quality grads, chapalanf private u must shred why now liddat ah

Coffeelix

Never agreed to paps current approach. Already obsolete..we should have started looking within 10 years back. Make our people more competent than rest of the world
Fully agreed.
Now sg is not the only country to have majority educated workforce …
All our neighbours have caught up with educated workforce …
Malaysia doing better than us with their Indian and Malay attended Chinese schools fluent in mandarin.,,
Comparatively, sg is struggling with Chinese though it is their second langjage…
the policy of letting them get by the second language by lowering Chinese language passing requirements started spells the end of sg “supremacy” in the labour force …
30 years ago, I was shocked at our local honour grads in silver service that couldn’t function without sop …
Rome isn’t built over night and so is sg lost of competitiveness

AndroidComa

Uhh..not to be contrarian, I partially agree this point.

Most Singaporeans I know work pretty hard whether they are successful or not. Just that from Gen X onwards, got more of the 'work smart' type plus tang ping movement that contribute to the push for lesser mandated workdays and more WFH. I don't think it's so straightforward as now people are not working as hard trope.

Also, generally I feel people are getting 'dumber'? Like last time people will try to figure out stuff and fix things themselves but now everything outsource to the Internet, so there's less brain power in problem solving and more in becoming a sophisticated postman by remembering all these outsourced links and diverting the flow of information.
the people i know, in the entire group, there are 50% of them opposite from your observations. many rely on 1 skill, and think that the skill can feed them till they retire, and want to leech company benefits till gao gao
can you imagine a mother tell me company benefit outpatient 1200 a year, she say not enough, she go and demand more from the boss....
and another mum will be proudly discussing chinese period drama in WA group during official working hours, and say cos she WFH so she can finish the entire chinese period drama in 3 days

there is another group of 50% who are damn hardworking, but some are just suay and picked the wrong career path..

chaiscool

Yea our gov agencies ownself do outsource to 3rd party in sg alot
For non local grads. Elitism to the max. So cannot say don't have non local grads worker but never say most of them are outsourced.

lifezard

Tis has been raised since open leg started last time. It's like transfer of knowhow n knowledge. Now suffering d ill effects of it.

Knowledge was the only thing we could sell last time mah....oil, water, gas? what else we got? And our knowledge also not unique also. They could easily have gotten it elsewhere. If we not sell also got other means of getting.

lifezard

majority are mediocre and not as efficient as locals.

Truth be told majority of locals are mediocre too. We are not somehow unique and superior to our neighbours. This is a myth we need to stop propagating or we will lose all our competiveness altogether

ShinnAsuka

If the leader comes from an environment where he has been safeguarded, how much understanding will he have?

Ubi-Warrior

actually as long as biz decide to outsource some functions to other countries, doesnt only affect singaporeans. but anyone including prs n foreigners that are working in the company.

Correct , it will impact everyone.

However Govt focus should be on Singaporeans and how to build something where its Singaporeans dictating policy and someone FT overseas

lifezard

nowadays most job require u to speak chinese and another asian language since sg is apac regional
stinkie already lose out in terms of language

And still got people here with the mindset I know engrish the international language well and that s good enuff I no need to learn other language 🙁

Unic0rn

What Singapore needs to do now is to bite the bullet and stem the outflow of knowledge, esp built up expertises, whatever we have left. We also need to go down the RnD route and get our own specialized tech and abilities. Being cheap and good is no longer enough for a nation that pride itself as a 1st world standard.

We need to come up with something truly groundbreaking on our own. Creative was a good example, however little time it had to shine.
What unique expertise do we have left that the other countries don’t have? Now all we can do is try to have to try to upskill our competencies exponentially while bringing down our high labor costs to stay relevant and competitive? The high rental is not helping costs too.

krikering

Shift to another country where the labour cost and operation cost is much much lower lor...
Whose fault is it lol? COL here so high due to this landlord economy we are living in, don't raise our pay expect us to live paychecks-to-paychecks without accumulating savings for rainy days meh?

In the 1st place, if COL not so high then we can make do with less pay but with how high it is cannot be don't raise our pay accordingly. After all, we supposed to live and retire here thus need to buy house and be prepared for old-age when our body functions slow down and require healthcare more extensively.

Insurance Premiums keep on rising , almost everywhere also charging for parking, etc.

The expats (e.g upper management/HODs, etc.) from the MNC/Big Banks' HQ also cause more to subsidize, since monthly condo and car-rentals, etc. also skyrocketing now alongside with office space rental costs.

Let them all move out, then may one day will see beggars flood the entire streets. Perhaps our million-dollar salaries ministers and their cronies will wake up their ideas.

At the rate things are going, perhaps 1 day become similar to China where labour market becomes like a gig economy. University graduates shifting in-between contract roles, or just full-time platform workers (e.g Grab, etc.)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.