jogging and motivation thread

Ender

Going to get 30pcs to try.
Sea ship 47rmb, minus 20rmb voucher (12 noon one). Too bad dont have free sea ship with rmb 199.

Each satchet only S$1....45g of carbs......is like double that of others from SIS, Maurten etc.

Similar in value to 1 can of $1 discounted drink from 7-11 (not much carbs also nowadays since they reduced the HFCS % and using artificial sweeteners partially liao
)
Always see this on Alvinawwy channel (sponsored)

If i am not terribly wrong , this is TW brand.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?from=cart&id=822820164878&skuId=5533566120643&spm=a1z0d.6639537/202410.item.d822820164878.3c957484rvPIcx

O1CN011SrJsA1GIOGzxZ49v_!!2218098830599.jpg
Very cheap for pro edition of gel >150kcal. Maybe can try for coming SCSM.

I was using another Chinese branded for the Income Eco Run (courtesy of someone here as a intro to chinese gel). Taste is good, and kcal quite high for standard edition. Brand is M-action (迈胜).

Kuudere

eh i jog from 11pm to 12am. confirm cooling
That's not common running time. I usually run at 9pm. By 9.30 pm, the stadium lights shut off. 10pm, most folks vacate to go home.

Can’t sleep. Too energetic. Normally slept at 2-3am and woke up 6.30am. Trust me, U will feel energetic for the rest of the day
Don't give this advice please, most folks should be operating on more sleep. I attended a health summit back in April and a national sprinter talked about how having less sleep affected her running performance. She considers 5 hours too little sleep, and strives to hit 7 hours but usually gets 6 hours.

I usually get by with 6 hours of sleep on weekdays due to work + running schedule but I don't find that optimal at all. That's why I try to get in more sleep during weekends (7-8 hours) throughout the day.

WussRedXLi

I was using another Chinese branded for the Income Eco Run (courtesy of someone here as a intro to chinese gel). Taste in good, and kcal quite high for standard edition. Brand is M-action (迈胜).

I tried this one before once i mean ok lah.....definitely works it is not rocket science as long as our GI can tahan (45g per 45 mins is decent for us). Just that this one is China coy and srsly/obviously meant for China domestic consumption. Is a wee bit cheaper than Winsports.
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?from=cart&id=694944869596&skuId=5788583901497&spm=a1z0d.6639537/202410.item.d694944869596.5edf7484pj4lL1

I mean, i am ok with eating Kang Shi fu instant noodles, but that one more international.
There were instances of instant noodles buay pass or having overly high levels of some substances.

Winsports is Made in TW. So this point alone might be a big thing to some folks. Price diff is minimal, so i dont see why not. (but of coz, i also do note that TW food also got its own issues sometimes lol)

And another thing, maybe the taste is better....not sure need to try

https://www.facebook.com/winsportmalaysia/
Double Source Energy Gel, Higher Carbs, Double Absorption!
Made in Taiwan
Vegan friendly

xllms

I was using another Chinese branded for the Income Eco Run (courtesy of someone here as a intro to chinese gel). Taste in good, and kcal quite high for standard edition. Brand is M-action (迈胜).
i tried 迈胜 before, had a free box of assortments. Too sweet for me. 😂

kkkkdllmkkkk

That's not common running time. I usually run at 9pm. By 9.30 pm, the stadium lights shut off. 10pm, most folks vacate to go home.

Don't give this advice please, most folks should be operating on more sleep. I attended a health summit back in April and a national sprinter talked about how having less sleep affected her running performance. She considers 5 hours too little sleep, and strives to hit 7 hours but usually gets 6 hours.

I usually get by with 6 hours of sleep on weekdays due to work + running schedule but I don't find that optimal at all. That's why I try to get in more sleep during weekends (7-8 hours) throughout the day.
Haiz got a one year son and need to wait for wife to reach home. By the time I am ready to jog is already 10.45pm

of cos not an advice or encouragement. Of cos I would like to have more sleep hhahahaha

kkkkdllmkkkk

They also sell coros? Might be related to RDRC as more local companies recognize that china branded shoes are slowly gaining popularity.
Ya seems like they are selling coros from the Instagram post. Maybe today or tomorrow go ssll, can go key power sports as well

Ender

I tried this one before once i mean ok lah.....definitely works it is not rocket science as long as our GI can tahan (45g per 45 mins is decent for us). Just that this one is China coy and srsly/obviously meant for China domestic consumption. Is a wee bit cheaper than Winsports.
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?from=cart&id=694944869596&skuId=5788583901497&spm=a1z0d.6639537/202410.item.d694944869596.5edf7484pj4lL1

I mean, i am ok with eating Kang Shi fu instant noodles, but that one more international.
There were instances of instant noodles buay pass or having overly high levels of some substances.

Winsports is Made in TW. So this point alone might be a big thing to some folks. Price diff is minimal, so i dont see why not. (but of coz, i also do note that TW food also got its own issues sometimes lol)

And another thing, maybe the taste is better....not sure need to try

https://www.facebook.com/winsportmalaysia/
Double Source Energy Gel, Higher Carbs, Double Absorption!
Made in Taiwan
Vegan friendly
This brand CPT, has SuBingTian's endorsement. Should be quite a big company to afford it. 迈胜 also have a few marathoners endorsement. So can try lah, since they are unlikely some make shift factory inside someone else home. These brands score well on the gram/Kcal and price/Kcal.

i tried 迈胜 before, had a free box of assortments. Too sweet for me. 😂
Ya, the first pack I took on the go without drink was too sweet. So when I was about 16km into the race I stopped at the hydration station and took the 2nd one with water. That cost me more than 20 seconds for that lap. Need to practice on the go. But overall the fruit jelly is alright, easy to swallow. like fruit desert. Not like some gel, taste like medicine.

xllms

This brand CPT, has SuBingTian's endorsement. Should be quite a big company to afford it. 迈胜 also have a few marathoners endorsement. So can try lah, since they are unlikely some make shift factory inside someone else home. These brands score well on the gram/Kcal and price/Kcal.

Ya, the first pack I took on the go without drink was too sweet. So when I was about 16km into the race I stopped at the hydration station and took the 2nd one with water. That cost me more than 20 seconds for that lap. Need to practice on the go. But overall the fruit jelly is alright, easy to swallow. like fruit desert. Not like some gel, taste like medicine.
for me, not doing FM and i don't take such when doing HM, quite troublesome to consume it with water since i don't carry water when i run. But nevertheless a good idea in the future if i do any races.

Jurong640

Just did another slower 5km run. This time I try to keep my heart race avg below 165.

Result.

5km, 44:32
Avg Heart: 160
Avg Pace: 8:53"/km
Cadence Avg: 140
362 Cal

Compared to my last run few days ago, 5 mins longer, heart rate 30b/min slower, 1.5min additional average pace.

WussRedXLi

for me, not doing FM and i don't take such when doing HM, quite troublesome to consume it with water since i don't carry water when i run. But nevertheless a good idea in the future if i do any races.

Can try 250ml red bull can for HM since you doing that distance. 45g of carbs 80mg caffeine.
But still, actually need to wash down with like at least 50ml of extra water at the end. heh.....
Shd not be too much weight of significance to carry till around 10-12km before consumption.

xenotine

vurmt8A.jpeg
Think got 10+ years never go east coast park to run already . Not a nice experience. Begin the run around 530pm today and there are so many ppl . Even though the pedestrians pavement is wide , still need to go onto grass multiple times . lol .
Run for 10k and side of main toe is bruised. Only left feet though . Right is ok .

is it shoe problem or running form?

Ender

Cheap daily trainer. Currently china brand most talked about "万金油" shoes is the Li Ning Red Hare 8 Pro and this QD Strong Wind 3TR. And they are cheap, I ordered my QD Strong Wind 3TR for less that 200 yuan GST included and shipped.
Finally China branded shoes can start releasing decent daily trainers. It will be goodbye to western brand soon., I have no western branded shoes on my radar. Except for the Nike VPfly 4 and only if they appear in the outlet at less than $150.

sph777

Haiz got a one year son and need to wait for wife to reach home. By the time I am ready to jog is already 10.45pm

of cos not an advice or encouragement. Of cos I would like to have more sleep hhahahaha
For myself, I also have a 1.5 year old son. I run at 4-5 am ish. As night time no energy liao 😂

WussRedXLi

@WussRedXLi @Ender do the gels you take contain caffeine? Curious

Nope, the ones just discussed do not have. But winsports and CST also have ones that contain caffeine, but damn expensive.
Just hoot your strong coffee or redbull in the morning ba. RB is 80mg per 250ml, if race breakfast that time you hoot around 300+ ml of iced RB enough already.

I dont train with caffeine. Only Beta Alanine / Creatine. Coz caffeine can develop resistance to it and over time really need humongous amts of it in order to work.

For eg, I tell my FIL and MIL not to drink before sleep as they might not be able to sleep and they just laughed at me. They literally can drink 1 cup of 3-in-1 and then doze off 30-60 mins after that at 10pm. No good.
But some pax even drink 1 small packet of pokka green tea (lower than coffee) at dinner and then whole night cannot sleep liao.

WussRedXLi

BTW, personally my response to even a 250ml Season's iced lemon tea is pretty fast.

IF the bonk feeling is coming (ie if you continue for just another 5 mins you'll fully bonk), just drink 250ml packet which has just 4.9g of sugar per 100ml, with 3 mins i can go and enter zone 3-4 again already. If not zone 2 also feels terrible and with dwindling performance, can only zone 1 (burning fats mostly). Then you fuel with other stuff like go find mcdonald's ice cream or go 7-11.

Redbull of coz is much more energy.....coz nowadays all those other soda type drinks they cut the sugar content and replaced it with artificial sweeteners.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.