NTU penalises 3 students for use of AI tools, they dispute university’s findings

linzw00

Lazy to the max, bet she doesnt even bother to read thru what the ai generated

Purplestars

I guess all of you all here are too dumb to understand what the students did, so here I am to explain.

If what the student says is true, basically the dumbass prof Sabrina Luk cannot tell if the students used AI one. The moment she sees links that are dead, she assumes the students used AI that hallucinated the references and failed them.

However the students claim they merely made typos nia and updated the links. Also claim that some of the sources went down after they submitted the assignment, so the references were not made by AI. The prof Sabrina Luk has acknowledged the updated references liao, but the school does not want to backpedal on the zero grade.

I can't tell 100% if the students are lying or not, but I can tell what they say can be true. Citing such articles can be quite hard one, especially when u read many sources and then all the content mixed up in your head. You just type the content and put the wrong source and never check. Pretty sure I have done similar in my time, except my time got no AI lah so obviously is honest mistake. HWZ BBFA might be too stupid to go local uni, so straightaway say is student fault never check. But so easy to do 100% correct then give this kind of homework for what?

Anyway all these luddite professors are stupid lah. If the AI can do better than you in writing that using it is considered cheating, why wouldn't the students simply use it when they get to workplace? Why ban AI use leh? It's like banning the use of a calculator. You for sure will use a calculator for important arithmetic one loh.

Full_Cream_Milk

Nowadays the young generation cannot admit its their fault one. Simi sai also its the environment or someone else fault but never theirs. Instead of feeling sorry or having desire to repent, they will argue their way out with ridiculous reasoning.
The woke movement is emboldening them.

All the “You’re not wrong. You’re just depressed” nonsense.

xyz2025

everything also AI. no wonder the tech companies are laying off. why hire human when the workers cannot do the original work?

glarerder

I guess all of you all here are too dumb to understand what the students did, so here I am to explain.

If what the student says is true, basically the dumbass prof Sabrina Luk cannot tell if the students used AI one. The moment she sees links that are dead, she assumes the students used AI that hallucinated the references and failed them.

However the students claim they merely made typos nia and updated the links. Also claim that some of the sources went down after they submitted the assignment, so the references were not made by AI. The prof Sabrina Luk has acknowledged the updated references liao, but the school does not want to backpedal on the zero grade.
So why didn't they check their work if the gpa is so important to them? After submission, it's done deal. Whatever happened in the aftermath of it, it's purely documentation purposes.

camoguysg

So convenient links went down?

GarnetDragon

Lifting an AI passage copied wholesale from the internet is plagiarism sia ☠️💀

Purplestars

So why didn't they check their work if the gpa is so important to them? After submission, it's done deal. Whatever happened in the aftermath of it, it's purely documentation purposes.

Easy to say lah. Why don't you say how come you never check your exam script and score 100 marks for your PSLE and you make so many careless mistakes? Your PSLE score so important to you wor. You could have been Raffles elite. How come never score full marks?

Students mah. They lazy, busy and just incompetent sometimes. Like that you give them zero?

EDMW BBFA like you cannot even make it to uni with your incompetence, still want to say peepur never check.

glarerder

Easy to say lah. Why don't you say how come you never check your exam script and score 100 marks for your PSLE and you make so many careless mistakes? Your PSLE score so important to you wor. How come never score full marks?

Students mah. They lazy, busy and just incompetent sometimes. Like that you give them zero?

EDMW BBFA like you cannot even make it to uni with your incompetence, still want to say peepur never check.
Exam got time limit of 1-2 hours. Different time management in play. Your research paper you don't leave enough time to check your own paper and then later prof found mistakes you cry foul after the submission? Please lah. Easy for you to say as well. For someone who uses personal attack you can read your own rubbish and feel proud of it.

ShinnAsuka

Thought AI wont be able to cite with broken links.

anyway this is just traditional people rejecting tech advances.

Why all 6 uni take the same stand? Same as why many graduates here lose to FTs and still need skillsfuture to upskill.

Purplestars

Exam got time limit of 1-2 hours. Different time management in play. Your research paper you don't leave enough time to check your own paper and then later prof found mistakes you cry foul after the submission? Please lah. Easy for you to say as well. For someone who uses personal attack you can read your own rubbish and feel proud of it.
You talk cock uh. Time limit of 1-2 hours is enough to check through your paper. You cannot check through all all careless mistakes, you deserve F grade. You must either score 100% or you will be deemed cheating using non-existent answers. You cry foul when you are too incompetent to score 100% for PSLE?

Also you think student assignment no time limit one har? They do multiple assignments, take multiple modules and other activities. Then must submit assignment on time summore.

Listen to you talk, I can immediately tell you cannot make it to local uni de, so obvious. Lol.

dxdx999

Citation organiser is now considered an AI tool ?

Wow didn't know my time in uni decades back already got Gen AI wor!

dxdx999

I can't tell 100% if the students are lying or not, but I can tell what they say can be true. Citing such articles can be quite hard one, especially when u read many sources and then all the content mixed up in your head. You just type the content and put the wrong source and never check. Pretty sure I have done similar in my time, except my time got no AI lah so obviously is honest mistake. HWZ BBFA might be too stupid to go local uni, so straightaway say is student fault never check. But so easy to do 100% correct then give this kind of homework for what?

Anyway all these luddite professors are stupid lah. If the AI can do better than you in writing that using it is considered cheating, why wouldn't the students simply use it when they get to workplace? Why ban AI use leh? It's like banning the use of a calculator. You for sure will use a calculator for important arithmetic one loh.
Lol thanks for explaining

I read the reddit thread also.

Edmw everyday kpkb MSM is biased, but end up also anyhow accuse the students of misdemeanors

Whimsica

Self-fulfilling prophecy...

Rely too much on Chatgpt => ownself taonaokangkang => graduate liao replaced by AI

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.