[GPGT] PSP new gen volunteers

krikering

Guess volunteers still ok la, but most important is must have proper QC process.

charleslee1989

krikering

cannot wait liao....

The intensity must slowly build back...

sigh....

you can bet on it!
Thanks a lot for you and rest of the PSP members with regards to the hard work. You all are contributing to a healthy political system by joining the opposition cause.

PAP can give their grassroots BTO Priority queue, Primary school priority slots and priority parking, etc. but you guys are doing pro-bono.

https://www.gov.sg/explainers/what-do-people-s-association-grassroots-leaders-do

Good luck to PSP in bringing back their momentum during 2020 GE, still remember that they had a good cast during that time. Especially the Choa Chu Kang team in 2020 GE was good.

Hope PSP can continue to gain more volunteers in the West Side, amd attract more high-calibre candidates so that contest more grounds in the West in 2030 to negate effects of gerrymandering.

charleslee1989

Thanks a lot for you and rest of the PSP members with regards to the hard work. You all are contributing to a healthy political system by joining the opposition cause.

PAP can give their grassroots BTO Priority queue, Primary school priority slots and priority parking, etc. but you guys are doing pro-bono.

https://www.gov.sg/explainers/what-do-people-s-association-grassroots-leaders-do

Good luck to PSP in bringing back their momentum during 2020 GE, still remember that they had a good cast during that time. Especially the Choa Chu Kang team in 2020 GE was good.

Hope PSP can continue to gain more volunteers in the West Side, amd attract more high-calibre candidates so that contest more grounds in the West in 2030 to negate effects of gerrymandering.
Please, I dun deserve such high praise..My contribution is very little compared to the folks who were more active than I am and some took No Pay Leave to run the campaign!

Those in the ground operations, social media team and the logistic team worked damn hard during the campaign...Some even fell sick with some hospitalisation after the GE.....

Again, thank you for your well wishes!

alvincy

It is important to get Singaporean especially the youth to get interested in Politics.

Politics affect everyone.

They can join the PAP or whichever party they aligned with.

krikering

That's gonna happen soon!
From what I heard from LMW on his session at PSP's HQ on 24th May 2025, seems like PSP's focus will be in the West Side.

Then it will slightly difficult for us, whom stay in the East, etc. to volunteer after work liao.

Even for me, my weekends tied up with studying for upcoming certification tests which I find so difficult.

IT-Industry related certifications keep getting renewed on like a yearly basis, finding it hard to keep up liao. Those you obtained earlier, after a while then expire.

For now, will contribute financially time to time to PSP ba. Jiayou.

Any chances of you standing as a candidate in 2030?

Suporter

Haiz still think the 3 heavyweights shouldn't have fought together in one grc...

min0ri

This party is gone case and rejected by the Singapore voters. The Jurong West residents do not want to be looked after by lao ah pek TCB and middle age auntie HP.

charleslee1989

It is important to get Singaporean especially the youth to get interested in Politics.

Politics affect everyone.

They can join the PAP or whichever party they aligned with.
Well, I think political apathy is common when life is considered rosy for the individual. It is only when the individual's self-interest and/or their family's interest are harmed in an overt manner, then alarms starts ringing in the individual's head. That is where they start to find out about politics.

From what I heard from LMW on his session at PSP's HQ on 24th May 2025, seems like PSP's focus will be in the West Side.

Then it will slightly difficult for us, whom stay in the East, etc. to volunteer after work liao.

Even for me, my weekends tied up with studying for upcoming certification tests which I find so difficult.

IT-Industry related certifications keep getting renewed on like a yearly basis, finding it hard to keep up liao. Those you obtained earlier, after a while then expire.

For now, will contribute financially time to time to PSP ba. Jiayou.

Any chances of you standing as a candidate in 2030?
Yeah, there is no pressure on anyone to contribute financially or physically to the party on a regular basis except if the person is cadre lah..

I feel your life's pressure too..Got time or money then help lah. If not, then most importantly, take care of yourself lor.

As for me being a candidate in 2030, it depends on what the CEC thinks lah.....

Haiz still think the 3 heavyweights shouldn't have fought together in one grc...
oh well, things dun always go the way we want....

krikering

Well, I think political apathy is common when life is considered rosy for the individual. It is only when the individual's self-interest and/or their family's interest are harmed in an overt manner, then alarms starts ringing in the individual's head. That is where they start to find out about politics.

Yeah, there is no pressure on anyone to contribute financially or physically to the party on a regular basis except if the person is cadre lah..

I feel your life's pressure too..Got time or money then help lah. If not, then most importantly, take care of yourself lor.

As for me being a candidate in 2030, it depends on what the CEC thinks lah.....

oh well, things dun always go the way we want....
Unless Ama Keng/Ayer Rajah becomes back it's own SMC, otherwise given how the nationwide swing was towards PAP last month it will just be futile.

Guessed that PSP/TCB roughly predicted the way it went liao, given how PAP focused most resources towards WP-Contested areas.

Just that they probably thought would get 45% or what rather than a flat 40%.

Lam Pin Min quite important to PAP one, the fact they put him back in SK GRC again proved that PAP thought that it was possible to win back SK GRC one.

If not, just put him in AMK GRC or another safe place liao.

By 2030, WP/PSP/SDP really need to cover more grounds and introduce more candidates to negate effects of gerrymandering liao.

No choice, because EBRC has all the data to draw from to split the GRC/SMCs.

During this time, they need to build up their Party presence first then form there bring more public visibility to their potential candidates in 2030.

PSP's podcast idea is good, hope they can put it in YouTube and be active every 2 weeks or so.

Then perhaps send them to more popular podcasts like Yahlahbut, etc. which are not Pro-PAP.

paperplane1943

based on GE 2025 results, i think voters have identified WP as the alternative opposition party and the general direction is to a 2-party democratic system (1 dominant and 1 much weaker), with little or no space for 3rd/others.

My prediction is support for PSP and SDP will slowly die off

popdod

PSP have chance to become next WP
coz
they have a few good scholars candidates

but need to recruit more Yang folks
else will be seen as boomer party. :(

the rest of oppositions can close shop
SDP without Dr Chee , is as good as none. :(

krikering

based on GE 2025 results, i think voters have identified WP as the alternative opposition party and the general direction is to a 2-party democratic system (1 dominant and 1 much weaker), with little or no space for 3rd/others.

My prediction is support for PSP and SDP will slowly die off
WP will not have the resources to contest all the seats in 2030, in fact not even half. At best, they can only contest 40% at the most.

Opposition parties are very tight on resources, they run on volunteers and donations.

paperplane1943

WP will not have the resources to contest all the seats in 2030, in fact not even half. At best, they can only contest 40% at the most.

Opposition parties are very tight on resources, they run on volunteers and donations.
agreed. i think WP will at most contest like 30 seats or something. they are small party, like 10% of PAP size

krikering

agreed. i think WP will at most contest like 30 seats or something. they are small party, like 10% of PAP size
Lesser than 10%, just look at the benefits that PAP can offer the Grassroots (https://www.gov.sg/explainers/what-do-people-s-association-grassroots-leaders-do) and Kakis (government contracts, etc.) can liao.

PSP and SDP even lesser, because they got no seats inside parliament to build on.

At least WP got 10 seats. NCMP seats actually not much influence, can tell that the PAP MPs/Ministers pay close to 0 attention to them one.

Opposition volunteers all pro-bono one.

I think WP if can continue their momentum, can possibly contest 35 seats or so in 2030.

Since next GE probably will have 100 seats liao.

SDP and PSP probably around 15-20 seats each ba.

RDU should really start to build a region in SG to start their groundwork liao, no groundwork close to impossible to win seats one.

Just look at Ling How Doong and Cheo Chai Chen, win seats liao next GE also lose.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.