Influenza A is no fun. Just kena. Moi feel sibeh jialat

Nuclear Boy

I have no idea what hit me in late-Dec 2019, just a few weeks shy of the first COVID cases coming to light the following Jan.

I woke up feeling slightly malaised and with a splitting headache in the day, then afternoon I start feeling the aches (mild). I remember I was rebuilding my desktop PC, so I pressed on regardless, thinking how come such a simple task make me feel so fatigued... Then the same night (a few hours later), 39.3 deg C fever. Next morning, woke up with a raging sore throat and blocked nose. Fever still up at 39C, same for following day.

It was Day 4 when I woke up with the fever gone, and the sore throat pretty much fully recovered, just that one last clearing of phlegm and I was good to go. Never took any medication throughout other than Strepsils for sore throat. This is the first time I've let a high fever rage on on its own (with close monitoring).

That was the quickest bout of flu I ever had, if that was indeed flu. Not sure is 'A' or whatever, but just as mysterious. I never recovered from any URTI that quickly in my life before and since then (2023 COVID - more than 2 weeks; close to my usual recovery time). I like to think it is the high fever doing some wonders.

By the way, most of the flu pandemics in the past are caused by Influenza A. And it is still is a major killer for the elderly and immunocompromised. So yes, don't play play. We are all just one step between a "usual" flu and pneumonia. I've had friends/classmates who contracted either cold/flu and ended up hospitalised for almost a month due to pneumonia. When they returned, they somehow are still dormant carriers and spread to me. I caught it, no big deal and recovered in 2 weeks. What a stark difference.

SIM37_

I have no idea what hit me in late-Dec 2019, just a few weeks shy of the first COVID cases coming to light the following Jan.

I woke up feeling slightly malaised and with a splitting headache in the day, then afternoon I start feeling the aches (mild). I remember I was rebuilding my desktop PC, so I pressed on regardless, thinking how come such a simple task make me feel so fatigued... Then the same night (a few hours later), 39.3 deg C fever. Next morning, woke up with a raging sore throat and blocked nose. Fever still up at 39C, same for following day.

It was Day 4 when I woke up with the fever gone, and the sore throat pretty much fully recovered, just that one last clearing of phlegm and I was good to go. Never took any medication throughout other than Strepsils for sore throat. This is the first time I've let a high fever rage on on its own (with close monitoring).

That was the quickest bout of flu I ever had, if that was indeed flu. Not sure is 'A' or whatever, but just as mysterious. I never recovered from any URTI that quickly in my life before and since then (2023 COVID - more than 2 weeks; close to my usual recovery time). I like to think it is the high fever doing some wonders.

By the way, most of the flu pandemics in the past are caused by Influenza A. And it is still is a major killer for the elderly and immunocompromised. So yes, don't play play. We are all just one step between a "usual" flu and pneumonia. I've had friends/classmates who contracted either cold/flu and ended up hospitalised for almost a month due to pneumonia. When they returned, they somehow are still dormant carriers and spread to me. I caught it, no big deal and recovered in 2 weeks. What a stark difference.

After this episode, I realise why people say don't treat flu lightly.

Checkyrmed

People follow their GP, but the GP follows Big Pharma. So who’s really in charge and how serious can we be about handling viruses?

SIM37_

People follow their GP, but the GP follows Big Pharma. So who’s really in charge and how serious can we be about handling viruses?

Its good to find a good GP (really). I'm quite fortunate, cousin is doc

Jurong640

take care TS, Influzena A is indeed very serious, until you are feeling super weak.

Before you get Influenza A, did you get any annual flu shot?

Nuclear Boy

After this episode, I realise why people say don't treat flu lightly.
I mean, I did treat that episode lightly by not getting it seen and taking medication. Thankfully, it worked out fine, the raging fever and all. Perhaps it helped greatly with recovery, methinks.

I guess I can thank myself for the constant temperature monitoring. Otherwise, there could be a chance I literally have my brain cooked.

bombshell

Moi coy offered free influenza vax which i took and it works. Last yr moi household everyone kena flu with fever, sore throat cough everything but i didn't.
Best is no side effects unlike covid one, can consider. I think polyclinic per jab cost $30+ without subsidy. Moi GP one was $50 but i can claim from coy.

SIM37_

take care TS, Influzena A is indeed very serious, until you are feeling super weak.

Before you get Influenza A, did you get any annual flu shot?

No. not for this year cause always OOS. But now recoverin so no need for now.

SIM37_

Moi coy offered free influenza vax which i took and it works. Last yr moi household everyone kena flu with fever, sore throat cough everything but i didn't.
Best is no side effects unlike covid one, can consider. I think polyclinic per jab cost $30+ without subsidy.

For "now" i dunnit

lalalalalala

Fever over 39 please go to a&e.

And pls for gods sake. Sick stop going work. U infect your whole team is even worse. Everyone will have to deal with the infection

No one is so important that company will close down without them. Even ceo can be replaced. And if company close down because u mc means the company was going to close down anyway

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.