Google Pixel 6a

Which would you rather keep: the camera or the chip?

• 50MP Samsung GN1 sensor

Votes: 29 44.6%
  • Tensor GS101 SoC

Votes: 36 55.4%

• Total voters

limmk

ALs6j_FZgFY081m0_VVwnqhe4_cVLDYKV5NEToKS3pc82CtdguIVb9-8qg0_5q8YKTFHWrdMnVMIZg-KnfeVmcPLtbjhSV8MuTaKHK6jDyta7eRcM7nF_61Vf7Li8RxeobwrWmM5sp7JIveyRwpNM5HkeEvWw8nHQ3l7xAGGChDP_M8dM06RTIJbCouCZnyQLSmvkE6wBLK0uAVT6RzxkCNvfoiQcYNRPQK4I8piYxsmYsFvmLxTo76NRKx2EnGir8rsPeps-pyxFK8iFtS-EJX5_XrnvaHhz5g_pKCkHSSDfNEW6m7GI5Qd88VEUfwwEn6NSOvVbsYFoulT6Rl2r8tXSrdFvjAKAbupsw3OJxxdR88LD4kg3DYKY3PXz1UufDAqlwq3Z-mw6Iijr-q0gqyEdfff7BfU13xt64dbvawIfCXiUWgYiPUfm3UJxZWMay7X7U2jOSm6-3YddGljQX01p6qDYr3dYAuB8MXOq53dfXhfK_cCPGagGlxSSasE-VXymFvfng1NdLY-5oLo8A3i1nXMWECCMve6zwVn2wfyW_ibvGs27amLovQuBN4xsu4pVJDOWBWXwcWsjkCO42jfmyjSRLqq0K3PzDF86KIf6feRjvQZR-0cEoUXe-mrY7pFlBSv2S4cSZpiH4FzZAXFe56nVjMCE4OycXgdWf1pIsc6N35AlwwujYqVtjT9XaV8hdi33AmzoS1zxyog1Y3ZtYELm5Wiom5idSn8M9hApXraCFiAiJC1J3urDDx0-0QW3ysyJAM9mGg49RV83vz0R6mVkoVZefIzUx-Dg8pDhbACdKZ6JsVQUSalfwqxcPinhy8rSgSU66ucthmvlsWHPdQ9oFGsJ-7jE4Lp3wR5hTEotrigUdTJjwsx6l7UZSCyfLZ07Y9j7vsigpWcIazKXwdSgxTmIoFArUGgqfKqNMk3U5z3Kn2_BjrDLh5eZ5pkIp5Sqx7YmUswgBO9hSQ0iPkSMRS_JsaRWbST_lcwiOXZbAKnxDrJlm2on0Bt-sccvJ0HqxPxo87axZo3fo9gRsPL59t-GRPfCvLhKAvmi-zmp2tFBP7thsd4tCV9ykLVTJNYrlyhp4EpGvcr3MyDBDb40j-c16B7SxRXtW6nmoVoUd2PTu5YgrY7y7oEivjlt85swRoyX5ZcBISctBVFDqrj-8iaiKE2lPaCXD7WOz1c1EeqxMoDRZetMXsA5aKjnEnBwKt18NAOCAEJDxkVbkAs8qLpB8IdAYifsdo35pRdy5Oy4XuqhavudMDRcLsRz6V25uvGf1ew1sow80oL0jF7soa8z1njNv7PxeWtFe1-PaQGJ9t_cgb3nIFNl4NsMrUU_1_V5ECZ4tTVYNQzB6_O2v1jKVgzjEM6Fq1oLm_Qz4M815ZtxZRd2LOSsiVzHpneJaJD_gOB-SkRexRswWEWMOdWDI1bNMVez7WDCpSoKetoJVLic7gQrj86SW1isUgjST0LLvJaP0xIx4znMwJm1ccs4-BlnaOOEpCoaz4rQEpPSqkCxY9RIDNQnHdDSfN-TV_sDm5w04DUT6oCBLwub1gWn2EZXJ5VMiNALokrIXos4p64qnhPaQrgzI2EaYleMezDON9l6N0sipQM2LM-lUsS1rPdoAYcfFxoxI4=w654-h489-p-k-nu

8-lane

yup same thing I faced with my phone. drain the battery super fast also
I read about another phone that also has the same issue but it shouldn't be this way right? A phone shouldn't run hot just because it is on 5G isn't it?

Kiwi8

Wah so jialat sia...

What I suspect is that the original battery that came with the Pixel 6a could be especially prone to bloating so that might be why so many cases of combustion.

My 6a's original battery was bloated too but I changed the battery at the Aperia Mall Google repair center at no charge. So far so good.

x1243x

I read about another phone that also has the same issue but it shouldn't be this way right? A phone shouldn't run hot just because it is on 5G isn't it?
it shouldn't but it did.. and drained the battery very fast..

x1243x

Wah so jialat sia...

What I suspect is that the original battery that came with the Pixel 6a could be especially prone to bloating so that might be why so many cases of combustion.

My 6a's original battery was bloated too but I changed the battery at the Aperia Mall Google repair center at no charge. So far so good.
my 4a also had bloated battery. exchanged it for free

limmk

TL;DR
  • Google will soon warn Pixel 6a owners about a potential battery overheating issue, following multiple reports of the device catching fire.
  • A string we found in the latest Android beta states the phone’s battery capacity and charging speed will be limited after 400 charge cycles as a safety measure.
  • Given the serious risk of fire, users who see the warning are strongly advised to replace the battery or upgrade their phone immediately.

Update, June 11, 2025 (4:51 PM ET): A spokesperson for Google has shared the following statement with Android Authority:

A subset of Pixel 6a phones will require a mandatory software update to reduce the risk of potential battery overheating. The update will enable battery management features that will reduce capacity and charging performance after the battery reaches 400 charge cycles. We’ll contact impacted customers next month, with all the information they need to address the issue.

This statement confirms that Google will soon issue a mandatory software update to “a subset of Pixel 6a phones” in order to “reduce the risk of potential battery overheating.” This update will “enable battery management features” that will “reduce capacity and charging performance” once the battery reaches 400 charging cycles. The company will contact impacted Pixel 6a users next month with “all the information they need to address the issue.”

Original article, June 11, 2025 (2:05 PM ET):
Google’s Pixel A-series offers some of the best value for money among Android phones. The line truly hit its stride with the Pixel 6a in July 2022, which brought Google’s flagship Tensor processor to a mid-range price point — a trend that continues today. While many people are still holding onto their Pixel 6a, which will receive software support until July 2027, it may be time to consider an upgrade, as Google is now warning of a potential battery overheating issue with the device.

We occasionally hear about smartphones catching fire or exploding. While these are often isolated incidents, sometimes they point to a more widespread, fundamental flaw in the device itself. This was the case for the Pixel 4a, which also suffered from battery overheating risks, forcing Google to release an update that throttled the device’s performance to mitigate the danger.

The problem with the Pixel 4a was so severe that Google offered free battery replacements or cash compensation to affected users. Australian authorities even issued a recall for the device, with the country’s Competition & Consumer Commission warning that “an overheating battery could pose a risk of fire and/or burns to a user.”

ACCC Pixel 4a recall notice

ACCC

Now, it appears the same issue may be affecting the Pixel 6a. Over the past month, we’ve spotted two separate instances of the device catching fire — one in May and another just last week. A Reddit user and an Android Authority reader both separately shared gruesome photos of their melted Pixel 6a phones, painting a vivid picture of what can happen when a battery critically overheats.

Google Pixel 6a Melted Images (1)
Google Pixel 6a Melted Images (2)
Google Pixel 6a Melted Images (5)
Google Pixel 6a Melted Images (3)
Google Pixel 6a Melted Images (4)
Google Pixel 6a Melted Images (6)

At first, we weren’t sure if these were simply isolated incidents. However, given Google’s recent history with battery issues on the Pixel 4a and Pixel 7a, we were concerned. Unfortunately, our fears appear to be confirmed by new text found in the latest Android 16 beta.

Hidden within the Settings app of the Android 16 QPR1 Beta 2 release is a warning for Pixel 6a users about a “potential battery overheating issue.” The alert, which appears after the battery reaches 375 charge cycles, states that as a precaution, the device’s “battery capacity and charging performance will be reduced” once it hits 400 cycles.

Code:
<string name="battery_tip_early_replacement_summary">Your battery has reached 375 charge cycles. Due to a potential battery overheating issue, when your battery reaches 400 charge cycles the battery capacity and charging performance will be reduced and battery replacement is recommended. Support options are available, visit &lt;u>g.co/pixel/6abattery&lt;/u> for more information.</string>

<string name="battery_tip_replacement_summary">Due to a potential battery overheating issue, battery capacity and charging performance are reduced, and battery replacement is recommended. Support options are available, visit &lt;u>g.co/pixel/6abattery&lt;/u> for more information.</string>

Once performance is throttled, Google recommends replacing the battery and visiting g.co/pixel/6abattery for available support options. That support page isn’t live yet, so we have reached out to Google for more details on how it plans to handle Pixel 6a battery replacements.

If you own a Pixel 6a, we urge you to check for this warning under Settings > Battery > Battery health. If you see the alert, we strongly recommend replacing the battery or upgrading your device immediately. Battery fires are no joke and pose a serious threat to you and your home.

caterham7

hi fellow p6a users

have u tried updating to android 16?

did u encounter any bugs?

am still using it as primary device, so a little hesitant to update

thx in advance for feedback

ricky_villa

I believe some of you guys have received the email from google.

Question is....which option is the best????

jtec14

I believe some of you guys have received the email from google.

Question is....which option is the best????
Received the email.. I just sold off to mobile shop 2 weeks ago.

Can share what they offer? Thanks.

Curious to see if I missed out better options....:p

limmk

Pixel 6a’s Battery Performance Update Comes July 8​

Earlier today, we shared the actions taken by Google that signaled it was about to issue a battery performance update for the Pixel 6a, noting that it had removed all factory images for the device, just like they did when the Pixel 4a received a similar update earlier this year. Now, Google has posted the details for its “Pixel 6a Battery Performance Program.”

Pixel 6a Battery Performance Program update: Since we already talked a lot about the Pixel 6a’s situation, rather than recap it once again, we’ll point you to this post and this post to catch-up. In short, a “certain” group of Pixel 6a device has some sort of battery issue that has the risk of overheating. Google wants to push an update to those phones to reduce the risk by limiting battery charging performance and battery capacity “after” their batteries reach 400 cycles.

Google announced this afternoon that this update will arrive July 8 and it is a mandatory automatic update. If you own a Pixel 6a, this update will be forced upon your device even if you don’t manually try and update. Eventually, you will get this update whether you asked for it or not.

Do note that this update does include battery management features, but those will only be presented to those with “Impacted” devices at the 400 battery cycle mark. They’ll also receive a warning about those changes when they receive 375 cycles. For those not “Impacted,” your phone will continue to act as you know it.

Which Pixel 6a devices are impacted? Google isn’t being very specific or forward with that information. Instead, they just keep saying that only “specific” devices that have been “identified” by them are of worry. The thing is, all Pixel 6a devices will get this update, but only the “Impacted Devices” are eligible for special support options. Basically, Google is supposed to let you know if your device is “Impacted.”

To confirm if your device is impacted, you can visit this page and walk through Google’s questionnaire.

Starting July 21, Google is offering walk-in battery replacements in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Germany, Singapore, Japan, and India. There will be mail-in repair in the US and India. If a battery replacement doesn’t work for you, that page we linked above will layout your other options.

Owners of the Pixel 6a, there is a lot to take-in here – be sure to read Google’s full support page for the Pixel 6a and its battery troubles.

// Droid life

limmk

Received the email.. I just sold off to mobile shop 2 weeks ago.

Can share what they offer? Thanks.

Curious to see if I missed out better options....:p
  1. Free battery replacement
  2. Cash compensation of USD $100 (converted to local currency)
  3. Store credit of USD $150 (converted to local currency) for your next Pixel phone purchase

jtec14

3. Store credit of USD $150 (converted to local currency) for your next Pixel phone purchase
Thank you.
For option 2, still can keep the phone?

Anyway already done deal for my case, sold mine for $100 and moved on to 9A when spotted a good deal in lazada.
Hope don't have such issue for 9A! 🤞

limmk

Thank you.
For option 2, still can keep the phone?

Anyway already done deal for my case, sold mine for $100 and moved on to 9A when spotted a good deal in lazada.
Hope don't have such issue for 9A! 🤞
Yup, for option 2, you can still keep the phone. wah, sounds like you made the best of it already — $100 and upgrade to 9A not bad leh. fingers crossed future A-series got no such problem 🤞!

jtec14

Yup, for option 2, you can still keep the phone. wah, sounds like you made the best of it already — $100 and upgrade to 9A not bad leh. fingers crossed future A-series got no such problem 🤞!
Yes, 6A used for about 3 years.
The 9A price was so tempting after monitoring for the past months. :ROFLMAO:

Kiwi8

Must we have the email to qualify or merely the phone can already?

Cos I bought my phone from Shopee (but I think it is still Google's Authorised Retailer shop).

Had my phone battery changed before at Aperia Mall as described in my earlier posts a year back.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.