ocbc 360 account

ahnyaahnya

For this you have OCBC to thank, after they messed up big time with managing scams, and then now we have the shared responsibility framework.
The customers' fault lah.
Similar scam at other banks before. Don't think able to get money back . They just lucky this scammer targeted so many of them.

Bank gave them money back out of goodwill.

sglandscape

Similar scam at other banks before. Don't think able to get money back . They just lucky this scammer targeted so many of them.

Other banks if have similar issue would have same bad press, but likely the % hit rate lower then not as bad.

vsvs24

The OCBC scam case not easy to detect. They provided a link to a webpage that looks identical to the real OCBC browser IB.

But OCBC was slow to react. Even people rush down to bank made to wait in Q very long. After their case then we have express route to fraud hotline, kill switch etc.

ahnyaahnya

The OCBC scam case not easy to detect. They provided a link to a webpage that looks identical to the real OCBC browser IB.

But OCBC was slow to react. Even people rush down to bank made to wait in Q very long. After their case then we have express route to fraud hotline, kill switch etc.
Too many hit at same time. Not enough CSO to handle the calls

ahnyaahnya

Eh, bank would have sent SMS / notifications. Some didn't respond until dunno when.

SantyBalls

if banks willingly reimburse ppl who kena scam, it means MAS have ruling to say its bank fault liao. FYI, all over the world, same law applies. unlike other companies, banks do not need to tell ppl they get hacked and what not. they just need to inform their monetary authority and they handle it internally.

sglandscape

Yeah, they did not pull the plug fast enough to prevent more cases of it from happening, despite their customers telling them about it for days.

vsvs24

Yeah, they did not pull the plug fast enough to prevent more cases of it from happening, despite their customers telling them about it for days.
Their control was lax then and scammers made use of it.

A few mths before the scam happened, I told them off. Using mobile app, add payee, increase transaction limit don't need any authentication. Reason being you are using mobile banking app and the digital token is on the same app. Manager said this is the way it is. I make so much noise until they agree to give me a physical token.

SantyBalls

aiya, dunnid jjww so much. there will always be the modern day equivalent of keeping money in biscuit tin under your bed and every other day take out count and iron the money very song.

except now ppl do it with their bank accounts. every other day will log in to see see rook rook see their money very song. monitoring their money is their full time job. these ppl will blame scam victims for not being vigilant like them, for not putting the same effort as them to monitor their bank acct.
their biscuit tin(bank) no wrong 1. if ppl kena scam is bcoz ppl stoopid, ppl greedy, ppl slow nvr react in time.

ericcsn

Bought a UT (0.88% = $176) to earn its Invest Bonus.
Was prior hunting but didn’t see any available promotion code to further sweeten the deal.
Decided to make use Ocbc 360 (and not other ocbc account) for the deduction of $20k towards the UT in case the system didn't recognise the investment as valid for bonus interest when it came from other non Ocbc 360 accounts (did this despite the hotline advising it was ok)

koolkool

Bought a UT (0.88% = $176) to earn its Invest Bonus.
Was prior hunting but didn’t see any available promotion code to further sweeten the deal.
Decided to make use Ocbc 360 (and not other ocbc account) for the deduction of $20k towards the UT in case the system didn't recognise the investment as valid for bonus interest when it came from other non Ocbc 360 accounts (did this despite the hotline advising it was ok)
There is a promo code for 50% sale charge somewhere in OCBC website for July. But the t&c they used is for Apr to Jun period. I paste the link below:

Link

I used it on wed night and it went through but not sure my UT holding from my app still does not show my purchase, say it is pending. Maybe it will be rejected so do take note.

ericcsn

There is a promo code for 50% sale charge somewhere in OCBC website for July. But the t&c they used is for Apr to Jun period. I paste the link below:

Link

I used it on wed night and it went through but not sure my UT holding from my app still does not show my purchase, say it is pending. Maybe it will be rejected so do take note.
How could I miss it. UT takes some time (u will have a message and the deduction will show up)

Really great value for those who wants to go for it.

"From now till 31 July 2025, invest in Unit Trusts and key in the promo code OCBC50XLY"

koolkool

Eh. Now the 360 account salary can send by FAST like for UOB One?
I read from reddit does not work but maybe the experts here can better advise. I moved my salary crediting to ocbc 360 (hopefully this month) from DBS multiplier since I can now cover the income portion via dividends.

ahnyaahnya

I read from reddit does not work but maybe the experts here can better advise. I moved my salary crediting to ocbc 360 (hopefully this month) from DBS multiplier since I can now cover the income portion via dividends.
I don't remember FAST being included in the terms before.
I only just noticed it the other day.

ahnyaahnya

Their control was lax then and scammers made use of it.

A few mths before the scam happened, I told them off. Using mobile app, add payee, increase transaction limit don't need any authentication. Reason being you are using mobile banking app and the digital token is on the same app. Manager said this is the way it is. I make so much noise until they agree to give me a physical token.
The other banks also stopped issuing physical tokens lah. Unless special cases.
Iirc, they stopped before OCBC

EHoHoHo

OCBC website has this additional info icon to click on regarding salary crediting : We reserve the right to request for any doc or info to verify that the amount credited is your salary. Salary credit in other forms will not be eligible.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.