Massive layoffs incoming in tech sector - in supposed stable companies

Brionic

fake news. cna recently announced more jobs created

likely in other sectors,

majority jumped on the IT bandwagon and expect jobs/high salary to come easily like during covid period

VEF888

claims to know a couple of people and is privy to info about an upcoming mass layoff??

most of the time, even the employees being retrenched only find out on the day of the announcement, usually when they can no longer log in to the company’s system

neutralph

this coupled with AI development, advancement and replacement of jobs ... I've said this will cause massive social impact and unrest around the world and this is a worldwide issue ... just how fast it'll come ...
So fast self declare victory on your prediction liao huh?

dambio

In tech maybe so. But times not good now. Many companies also let ppl go or making themselves quite so can save on retrenchment benefits too.

SpecialKeyboardService

那时我已经 say already,AI will cause many to be jobless,got people dun believe sia。

One AI can do 3-10 person job,and do it way faster and way more accurate,plus the AI
will
  • Never take leave
  • Never take MC
  • Never feel tired
  • Work more than 996,it can be 0-0-7,working 24 hours daily
  • Never have office politics
  • Never give problem to management
  • Always give analytical and logical decisions,meaning non-emotional
No need infra team to maintain ai server rack?

Itsnotfunny

fake news. cna recently announced more jobs created
TSL announced few thousands job with immediate vacancies. So no worries. Woke culture got many jobs to choose from. Only thing is if they willing to lower expectations and don’t KPKB, chiong those jobs available ya. Gahmen tell me one. 😅

angel99999

The only AI I have seen impact jobs thus far are company customer service chats. Especially that airasia, the AI, BO is quite useless and there is no getting a live person on the line.

Jirachi

One AI can do 3-10 person job,and do it way faster and way more accurate,plus the AI
will
  • Never take leave
  • Never take MC
  • Never feel tired
Until the slop comes. It is going to be a cycle.

Jirachi

AI only replace those who don't use AI for now.

Coding is really more efficient with Claude. I read one overseas uni is revising their curriculum for IT to exclude the importance of coding.

But studying IT is more than just coding. Is to piece together and integrate everything as a nice piece and you need to validate that the code matches what you are exactly asking for and get the result you want.

Currently if you ask the AI to do a minor revision in th code, it has a tendency of redoing the entire code. If your core is tens of thousands of lines. You may need to break up the code into different sectors and ask ai to do sector by sector then piece togerher and hope it works. But like I mentioned, the AI may redo the whole code for a minor revision and it will not match nicely with the rest.

It's indeed useful but if you have no knowledge trying to integrate, it's not going to work that well without a supervisor. It does help to reduce the number of workers by alot. Bill gates just recommended people to learn IT.
You can only use these tools if they are trained on data and knows about the information. They are inherently not going to magically work in companies that great if without context of internal information.

TheITGuy

安啦..Cat A COE reached 100k, HDBee selling at 1.x million, new Condom selling at 2.x psf, expensive restaurants long queue everyday, ppl rejecting job offers, going holidays twice a year

Job lost and crash only happens in edmw

chaiscool

will
  • Never take leave
  • Never take MC
  • Never feel tired
Should replace management too haha

TA20222025

AI only replace those who don't use AI for now.

Coding is really more efficient with Claude. I read one overseas uni is revising their curriculum for IT to exclude the importance of coding.

But studying IT is more than just coding. Is to piece together and integrate everything as a nice piece and you need to validate that the code matches what you are exactly asking for and get the result you want.

Currently if you ask the AI to do a minor revision in th code, it has a tendency of redoing the entire code. If your core is tens of thousands of lines. You may need to break up the code into different sectors and ask ai to do sector by sector then piece togerher and hope it works. But like I mentioned, the AI may redo the whole code for a minor revision and it will not match nicely with the rest.

It's indeed useful but if you have no knowledge trying to integrate, it's not going to work that well without a supervisor. It does help to reduce the number of workers by alot. Bill gates just recommended people to learn IT.

Critical thinking is where most people are handicapped at. Those who just copy and paste AI answers without learning how to think or determine whether the answer was a product of hallucination will not do well. With or without AI in the picture, these people already have no core ability to come up with their own answers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.