Need recommendation for fire proof windows

Ethan_

rather serious fire, dunno if any windows can withstand that kind temperature, even if there are cost wont be cheap and also the weight dunno can installed on to existing hdb structure or not.
Think even if the glass can withstand, the structure and other stuff holding the glass maybe not?

Ethan_

seriously, you can try to buy a few of this and place it in location you feel are a high risk area that on 24/7 like extension plug that is on 24/7, your fridge, router, battery storage area, ** box etc....

Where to buy? Hwo much? Got different sizes?

hongge

If cannot keep the fire or smoke out

What can I do to minimise damage in the house?

:s11:
Nothing much you can do; maybe look for a flat with long extended ledges outside the windows in case of a fire from below. Hopefully, it helps to block the fire rising to your window.

Waterfront-ii-Punggol-Northshore-99-lower-units.jpg

Kaylin

get fireproof paint, walls, ceiling, door & floor also :(

focus1974

Don't need to explain this.

Just need whatever recommendation stop this kind of fire from spreading into my home.

:frown:

toa_payoh_fire.png

if fire is big enough to spread to your unit, it means the heat will be high enough to melt whatever is inside even if the fire don't reach.

SmokeBomb

Can install water sprinkler at the edge of all units? Like lay the piping outside each unit, like those hydroponics system.

Of course given the height of the HDB block and size of pipe, the water pressure may not be very strong to put out a fire, but it can create a water curtain of sort to mitigate the outward and upward spread of the fire?

Not civil engineer... Just bomb idea only....

EJB

Fire rated can only last so long before it gives way, it's meant to retard the fire till you can get rescued.

You sway, the joker below or next to you got explosives, your wall also cannot save you, don't say fire rated windows/doors.

XcoVar

Look at the fire, this family must be hoarding lots of useless stuff.

parchiao

installed 4-hr fire rated glass. when going out, made sure all window closed else no point

I think your suggestion is the most ideal.

For everyone else, here is an old video to understand fire rated glass and frames.

I am sure fire rated glasss and frames have improved since this video was made, and probably cheaper and more accessible from China.

parchiao

Even if the fireproof glass can withstand the heat, the frame holding the glass may not and may melt under the heat.

Good point.

For now, double or triple glazed glass is allowed, especially in the older HDB flats. Used for soundproof windows.

Only not sure about the frame.

sunsetbay

Saw one TikTok Chinese windows supplier, she commented that Singapore still using few generations old windows~ the hinges, alum frame are outdated design and has poor sound proofing~
She said China has evolved several generation windows already with sturdy frame, more advanced hinges and track mechanism and double layer windows with sound proof~

I have to agree with her, HDB windows have not changed since 40 years ago~

parchiao

I'm only here to ask TS.
You want to keep the Fire OUT, or keep the Fire IN.......

LOL!

Keep the fire out lah.

I am not counting on my house catching fire.

But you have a good point.

What if I can keep the fire out by installing fire proof windows and doors that can tahan a few hours, and my house catch fire. What happens? :s13: :s11:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.