Divorce Procedure -

cheryl81

TS shouldn give up the house. Let the law handles ur property and spilt accordingly. Hope TS engage a good lawyer
if he already decide to give the house to his wife, who are we to decide for him? he just need to think about it properly without the influence of other people like us.
i have seen alot of guy giving up the house on their own, with kid or without.

cheryl81

Nowadays, there is something call " no blame" divorce or simplified

This is wrong info. My friend divorced and she and her ex did not live separately "physically" for 3 or 4 years. In fact they live together. She said the lawyer said as long as they are separate "emotionally" for 3 years or more, it can be considered separate. Separately emotionally means no longer can talk like a close married couple, more like strangers/housemates.

irreconcilable reasons can be a reason for divorce.

Also, nowadays got "no-blame divorce" or simplified divorce. 6 months can settle if more mutually agree.

I suggest @iam7377 to go see a lawyer who will provide more advice.
i also didnt live sepatrately. but we did sleep separately, so that was counted as separation. Lawyer will know what to do when you find them one.
my divorce was settled in 4 months.

Spike

to all the divorced bros here, can i ask you a question?
do you think there's anything anyone could have said to you 1 year before you tie the knot that would make you cancel the wedding?

i see a lot of good advice from men(both divorced or extensive rship experience) about red flags but what's the point since very few guys who are getting married will ever listen to it.
Simple question is whether you see this future spouse as the mother of your future children, and whether you can see yourself raising them together.

cheryl81

Edmw anyhow

go seek legal advice from divorce lawyer

the judge is not anyhow to say give women this and that. No children is relative easy.

50/50 split is possible; unless go very specific reasons
if in the first place, he already agree to give the house 100%, den the judge wont really interfere one leh. it will be already be mentioned in the divorce agreement.

Cokacola

i saw like one website says can just file divorce online for $50, hassle free no need F2F.

not sure true anot?

anyway SG divorce usually woman advantage, there were cases where woman cheated on husband but still get the alimony when divorce, i guess this is why all men trained to wear green for 2 years before adulthood :ROFLMAO:

cheryl81

hahaha.. u will be surprised that house is not enough... whatever cpf u contributed to your house, u will still get it back in your cpf or she pay u back. u cant even give her that part. and house is not the only thing she can ask for, she can ask for maintenance as well even if she is working to ensure her standard/quality of living doesn't drop after divorce.
nope. it can be done without paying back anything to him, cash or by cpf. but provided she dont sell the hdb, if she sell in future, she will have to return his share of CPF to him

Coless

since it's only been three years of marriage, you should consider filing for annulment. the lawyer will know what to do and can usually get it settled within six months. you have no kids and only one house, which was shared by you and your wife ?? why would you want to let her have it? the judge will usually split the value based on what you and she have paid.

TiedInsurer

TV
Her expectations of me. When I expected the same, she cannot. Communication is usually one way, so as to not irritate her...
I have bad news for you bro.... 99% of women are like this. My wife also like this tbh. If you cannot tahan this, you will need to stay single.

CanIsayNo

sorry to heat that TS. unfortunately, sg women have been trained from young to be good workers for the economy, not good wives or mothers. problem is that many of them end up getting married, and have zero understanding of what being a good wife is. I always say, sg women can hire for work, but cannot marry.

forget marriage, unless u can actually find someone with the right values, which is very very difficult in the modern world

Fightfat

nope. it can be done without paying back anything to him, cash or by cpf. but provided she dont sell the hdb, if she sell in future, she will have to return his share of CPF to him
Are you sure on this point of needing to return his share of CPF to him when she sells the HDB in future.
To my best understanding, any asset that is being transferred to the other ex-spouse means the rights goes to the ex-spouse even if the asset was pay by CPF .
You can quote a lawyer for it and I am 99% sure.

Acetone

TS, first step is to have a serious conversation with the wife. For the most part, once you can get her on board with the divorce plan, then it’s pretty simple lah….

just agree on the separation date (3 years), agree on the marital asset split arrangement and state unreasonable behaviour as reason… pay a small amount to a lawyer (admin) for uncontested divorce and within 3 months you get interim judgement, 6 months for final judgement.

Acetone

This is not true, once you transfer the hdb to the ex spouse, the other party will need to pay back the cpf amount you had used to contribute.

Coless

to all the divorced bros here, can i ask you a question?
do you think there's anything anyone could have said to you 1 year before you tie the knot that would make you cancel the wedding?

i see a lot of good advice from men(both divorced or extensive rship experience) about red flags but what's the point since very few guys who are getting married will ever listen to it.

people stay because they think the other person will change. but honestly, if someone’s really going to change, you’ll see it pretty quickly. if it’s been 2–3 months and nothing’s different, then yeah, 99.9% of the time they’re not going to change.

unless something really drastic happens to shake them up, it's unlikely.

cheryl81

Are you sure on this point of needing to return his share of CPF to him when she sells the HDB in future.
To my best understanding, any asset that is being transferred to the other ex-spouse means the rights goes to the ex-spouse even if the asset was pay by CPF .
You can quote a lawyer for it and I am 99% sure.
ya but if sold in future, the future have to pay all hdb refunds (100%) to their account i think.

cheryl81

This is not true, once you transfer the hdb to the ex spouse, the other party will need to pay back the cpf amount you had used to contribute.
no, this is mentioned in my interim judgement that the respondent shall transfer his right, title and interest to the applicant with no refund to the respondent cpf acct and no cash consideration.

Fightfat

ya but if sold in future, the future have to pay all hdb refunds (100%) to their account i think.
No , it does not need to be returned to CPF cos you need to apply or 'inform ' CPF about usage or trf of assets based on court final judgment.

cheryl81

No , it does not need to be returned to CPF cos you need to apply or 'inform ' CPF about usage or trf of assets based on court final judgment.
What Happens When You Sell or Dispose the Flat in the Future?

If your spouse transfers his/her share of the flat to you with partial or no CPF refunds to his/her CPF Accounts, when you eventually sell or dispose of the flat in future, you will still have to refund the following amounts into your CPF Accounts:

1. Amount of CPF monies your spouse used to purchase the flat which was not refunded at the time of the transfer of your spouse’s share of the flat to you, including accrued interest;
  2. Amount you withdrew from your CPF Accounts for the flat, including accrued interest; and
  3. Any amount you and your spouse have pledged (using the flat) to make up your and his/her retirement sum, if applicable.

Fightfat

What Happens When You Sell or Dispose the Flat in the Future?

If your spouse transfers his/her share of the flat to you with partial or no CPF refunds to his/her CPF Accounts, when you eventually sell or dispose of the flat in future, you will still have to refund the following amounts into your CPF Accounts:

1. Amount of CPF monies your spouse used to purchase the flat which was not refunded at the time of the transfer of your spouse’s share of the flat to you, including accrued interest;
  2. Amount you withdrew from your CPF Accounts for the flat, including accrued interest; and
  3. Any amount you and your spouse have pledged (using the flat) to make up your and his/her retirement sum, if applicable.
You have all these information,
you read again.
It says refund the following amounts into your CPF Accounts .

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.