jogging and motivation thread

xllms

Novablast is the one of the most if not most popular shoes. Why regret?
so far only 25km running in them and walked on them quite abit (4 full days), just initial impressions.
Not my cup of tea. Slow pace is really mehh, slightly better if pace is above 6:30min/km but nothing fantastic. Midsole response is too slow for me.
Feels clunky to me when i run in them. Not most comfortable to me for walking in long duration cos its too soft.

rarenick

so far only 25km running in them and walked on them quite abit (4 full days), just initial impressions.
Not my cup of tea. Slow pace is really mehh, slightly better if pace is above 6:30min/km but nothing fantastic. Midsole response is too slow for me.
Feels clunky to me when i run in them. Not most comfortable to me for walking in long duration cos its too soft.
Thanks. Maybe it's overhyped, for whatever reasons. Luckily I didn't buy.

I tried both novablast and dynablast in the shop, in the end found dynablast better for me.

sph777

I won't by buying anything from the taobao or PDD 11.11 sales this year. Coz I bought my Nike VPFly 4 and Streakfly 2 today, Both are opened box shelves. VPFLY4 only left with two size 12s on the shelves. I took the one with the lesser wrinkle and then I took the only pair of Streakfly 2. i.e no other sizes. They are havin buy one with 40% off or two with 50% off. Damaged is $139.90 for the VPfly 4 and $109.90 for the Streakfly 2 +30 cent for the paperbag.
wah damn good deal sia

hydeyoshi

i have bmai 远征者 5.0 but not 6.0. 5.0 ok for slow runs, nothing fantastic, imo.

for something similar to evo sl, maybe can try 大鲶dynafish 小鲶 (but plated) ...can find out more online via 小红书 etc. I can be wrong.
http://xhslink.com/o/UVKM9WKlOX
I bought 远征者6.0 before I see this post.. let's see if this shoes works..

Just saw Hui just review 小鲶2.0.. looks good but only have size 40 and below on tb..

xllms

I tried both novablast and dynablast in the shop, in the end found dynablast better for me.
my understanding of novablast 5 with plenty positive reviews from serious enthusiasts could be because their easy runs were at much faster paces than leisure runners. One probably needs to run faster to really feel the goodness of the shoe. Just my guess, i could be wrong.
anyway, hope the dynablast is serving you well.

mcylo

How much is it retailing now?

xllms

I bought 远征者6.0 before I see this post.. let's see if this shoes works..

Just saw Hui just review 小鲶2.0.. looks good but only have size 40 and below on tb..
me just pulled the trigger on 小鲶 size 40. i normally wear 40.5, not sure if it will fit well.

Hui mentioned that the optimum pace to run in this shoe is around 5min/km, which is my upper limit. Hopefully it will feel good at around 6min/km as well.

Keeping my fingers crossed.

hydeyoshi

me just pulled the trigger on 小鲶 size 40. i normally wear 40.5, not sure if it will fit well.

Hui mentioned that the optimum pace to run in this shoe is around 5min/km, which is my upper limit. Hopefully it will feel good at around 6min/km as well.

Keeping my fingers crossed.
Nice.. share your review when you got it..

sph777

my understanding of novablast 5 with plenty positive reviews from serious enthusiasts could be because their easy runs were at much faster paces than leisure runners. One probably needs to run faster to really feel the goodness of the shoe. Just my guess, i could be wrong.
anyway, hope the dynablast is serving you well.
so far having used novablast 4 and novablast 3 for easy runs, I do feel it is good and responsive. Have never tried 5 yet as the price still not good. Seeing your reviews make me not want to go there haha

WussRedXLi

so far having used novablast 4 and novablast 3 for easy runs, I do feel it is good and responsive. Have never tried 5 yet as the price still not good. Seeing your reviews make me not want to go there haha

Really dont understand how they managed to F up the lineage since Novablast 3 (really pretty good just a bit clunky feel that's about it, saw heaps of AHM 2023 HM and 10k runners using) and Novablast 4 (still decent, above average). And RRP (before disc) not as cheap also i believe.

Im still using my Novablast 3 for those chapalang runs and also trips to Batam. 😓
Coz i bought the TR version,. insole got more pattern for grip over loose surfaces (eg soil, rocky surfaces) and thickness maciam like times 3. 😓
Midsole still ok.......i think probably close to 2k mileage by now with using since 2022.
On the internet, someone used his pair of NB2 for > 1.6k and still quite usable tho of coz if you're gonna gun HM /10k PB with it then better not.

If i hadnt bought 4 pairs of Puma Deviate nitro 2, i'd be using this liao (and prob retiring it by now) for my home-office daily runs and office use (job requires me to walk around quite a fair bit)

WussRedXLi

me not buying bike. if i am to buy one now, my target will be one of the following:
lower budget: TFSA JH-33
higher budget: TFSA JH-35 or Tantan X-68

Good choice, and it's good to arm with you as much good info as possible.
I think if you are gonna get in China, best to get the TFSA or any brand that is more known there. Easier to get those small spare parts that might be spoilt if anything goes wrong, if not headache.
eg recently i bent my rear detrailleur hanger (my kid toppled it over and landed on the side on the rear derailleur side) and just a quick search on TB and tada. I asked 4 shops here and none had any info here as it's not the usual stuff that we carry here.
If not, your bike is as good as "gone"

I saw some info, not sure if it is rigorous science/objective practical experience and tests, or just broscience, saying that past around T800 CF grade, it does not really make much of a difference in performance/speed.
Stiffer frames would feel different, but does that translate into speed or not, not sure.
Also, you gotta have really good wattage to feel that. Just the regular 150-250W accelerations on the road overtaking other cyclists chilling out is not gonna cut it.

So in essence, i am not even sure if getting a Quick Pro ER:One would be beneficial to me or not.
The Sava R7 might not look "correct" for a serious cyclist, but then again, does a better frame translate into more speed for me first and foremost or not.

It's like Novablast 3 that i am talking above), i still can gun in it, albeit not longer distances lah. 2.4 or 3k still very good, dont feel it to be a limiting factor.

Think spending more on wheels more worth. And helmet....if you are playing TT then get a good TT helmet, at least can look pro can liao. 🤣

And the best thing, sometimes, free speed is what one would need in a TT
If done properly, this saves me more wattage than changing from the Sava to a S-works SL8 @ 35-40kmh. Dont even bring in a better aero position which is even more significant (eg my pseudo TT position which i can maintain well over 30 mins due to appropriate strength training )

Bonus

WussRedXLi

I think for endurance and maybe even ultra races, bo bian gotta be in zone 3 for significant durations if you are pretty highly trained/sub-elite. That's the "race pace". But that's inherently needed duing races. It's not inherently bad per se, you still need it in races, but just dont over-do it (same with other zones). Prob the faster recreational athletes cant even handle that, maybe Zone 2 nia, which is better for training together with zone 1, simply coz less fatique accumulated and so you can do more volume but carries less risk.

"Stop confusing tired with trained, Stop living where your mitochondria can't pay the rent!"

But if you want spicier things and you dont do those crazy mileages, really gotta do the faster stuff and get some explosiveness (plus strength train) assuming your base for the distance that you are doing is already there. Esp for cycling which it does matter more in the real world.
ie you gotta train all the ranges and energy systems.....ultimately netting you much more gains overall as you'd drag everything upwards also.

It is more or less the same for running.......

milkiee

i have the novablast 3 and 5. i like the novablast 3 better, its very bouncy and responsive.
the novablast 5 just feels soft and mushy.

WussRedXLi

i have the novablast 3 and 5. i like the novablast 3 better, its very bouncy and responsive.
the novablast 5 just feels soft and mushy.

NB3 really no horse run.....perhaps back in 2022 it was a wee bit overhyped by all the youtubers....but i feel the hype at least more or less worth it. If they'd designed it to be less clunky feeling, just need it to be a wee bit less clunky no need to change heckloads, for the price, it'd be nearly perfect training + fun shoe and even recreational racing shoe liao.

Even my wife (just a super recreational fella and non shoe geek) can tell the difference between her NB3 and current NB5. She told me not to buy after testing. heh
Anyone can try via left leg right leg testing with their current vs shoes in the shop.......quite telling one, no need to go further in depth.

The midsole is holding up great despite the mileage, seems like the foam, though heavy (g/cm3) by today's standards, is holding up really well. Only thing is whether the upper got holes or not or the insoles wearing off.
Can actually DIY stick the insoles, TB got sell.

milkiee

NB3 really no horse run.....perhaps back in 2022 it was a wee bit overhyped....but i feel the hype at least more or less worth it. If they'd designed it to be less clunky feeling, just need it to be a wee bit less clunky no need to change heckloads, for the price, it'd be nearly perfect training + fun shoe and even recreational racing shoe liao.

Even my wife (just a super recreational fella and non shoe geek) can tell the difference between her NB3 and current NB5. She told me not to buy after testing. heh
yeah i love nb3 the most even more than the superblast. it's a really fun and nice shoe.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.