Man loses $1.1 million after scammers posing as MAS officers tell him to 'safeguard' his assets

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Cmonster

• About $350,000 in gold bars handed to an unknown woman on two occasions
  • About $124,900 in cryptocurrency transfers
  • Over $600,000 through more than 60 YouTrip QR code transactions
  • About $26,500 transferred via PayNow to a local bank account

WTF !!! got people so stupid to believe police will ask you to meet up and pass them Gold Bars!!!!

KNN!!!

Dracky

Between Oct 14 and Oct 22, the victim was scammed of over $1.1 million after being instructed to surrender his funds and valuables for "investigative purposes". This included:

I wonder what is this victim's wealth. He may be $1.1 mio poorer but still have a lot of money still. What kind of person keeps $350K in gold bars?

yokine3a

"When suspicious transfers were flagged, the victim's bank contacted him twice, but he had been coached by scammers to claim the transactions were for investments and gifts."

When they told you to tell lie to bank, isn't it very obvious they are scammers? šŸ™„

makann

When suspicious transfers were flagged, the victim's bank contacted him twice, but he had been coached by scammers to claim the transactions were for investments and gifts.

My tian.. the level of intelligence we r seeing here

focus1974

lizzykai

Between Oct 14 and Oct 22, the victim was scammed of over $1.1 million after being instructed to surrender his funds and valuables for "investigative purposes". This included:

I wonder what is this victim's wealth. He may be $1.1 mio poorer but still have a lot of money still. What kind of person keeps $350K in gold bars?
erm $350k in gold bars is just 2 1kg gold bar... alot of people have investments and its pretty normal...

dambio

wa.. seems in singapore, when old .. better put everything inside your HDB...
HDB to sell or buy , u must make appointment to see HDB officers 2 times.

so $1.1 million just nice can dump all into 1 HDB.
Not go buy condos like u meh? šŸ˜‚

dambio

When suspicious transfers were flagged, the victim's bank contacted him twice, but he had been coached by scammers to claim the transactions were for investments and gifts.

My tian.. the level of intelligence we r seeing here
Pls be caring n loving woršŸ˜‚

enimen

Wah. The team that manage to clinch this whale get what? I'm sure they r celebrating that night

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.