Genting FAQ - Part 3

newbie3214

Hi, I'll be staying Resort Hotel and understand that there's no Wi-Fi in the rooms.

Any locations nearby with Wi-Fi, where I can use my laptop? I think there used to be a Coffee Bean downstairs but it's closed down already.

Doraemonlol

Hi, I'll be staying Resort Hotel and understand that there's no Wi-Fi in the rooms.

Any locations nearby with Wi-Fi, where I can use my laptop? I think there used to be a Coffee Bean downstairs but it's closed down already.
There are wifi in the rooms. I went to stay several times this year already, I think they just added wifi feature at the start of this year.

The wifi instructions are all on the check-in paper when you check in at the kiosk or counter.

Room Number: XXXX
PW: First 3 letters of your surname

kevinlaikf

Helicopter ride?
If u won a MEGA jackpot and overjoyed and had the heart-attack, the doctor in Genting Clinic can activate the emergency Heli-Lift.

kenapa siol

Hi gurus! Finally heading to Genting this weekend and feeling excited, just wanted to ask
1) is Antara Mall worth visiting?
2) will the theme park be more packed around this period?
3) any nice but not-too-expensive meals near Resort Hotel (in case I kenna eat too much in casino 😅)?
4)And should I bring more cash or just rely on digital wallet?
5) is the new old casino nearer resort hotel?
6) no smoking in casino?

Thanks in advance!

ghregular

Hi gurus! Finally heading to Genting this weekend and feeling excited, just wanted to ask
1) is Antara Mall worth visiting? ofc since its new!
2) will the theme park be more packed around this period? to me always packed!
3) any nice but not-too-expensive meals near Resort Hotel (in case I kenna eat too much in casino 😅)?buy maggi mee eat inside rm!
4)And should I bring more cash or just rely on digital wallet? ???
5) is the new old casino nearer resort hotel? yes
6) no smoking in casino?:
do what army taught u
Thanks in advance!

givansingapore

3) any nice but not-too-expensive meals near Resort Hotel (in case I kenna eat too much in casino 😅)?
6) no smoking in casino?

Thanks in advance!
Let me know if you want to visit Crockfords Platinum Club. I will be there for the free concert this weekend.

sapalapa

6) no smoking in casino?

Thanks in advance!
1) only some shops are opened. Coffee and food mostly. Connected by link way bridge if walk about 20 minutes. No seat to rest.
2) sorry , did not visit theme park so can’t comment.
3)resort hotel lift to B5, there’s a old coffee shop type which I feel is quite reasonable. Although the chicken or roast pork hanging type can be tough though. The breakfast got porridge stall and coffee with eggs or toast. There’s Zhi Char stall too. Beenas chain is cheap but taste wise depends if you are picky. First world hotel tower 3 right at the end corner has a food joint , nice and cheaper but mostly crowded during peak. Unless you know the shortest walk from resort to first world area, you can try take the free shuttle from highland hotel. There’s another so call “15 floor eatery “ that is cheap (location is from the side entrance of genting grand hotel. Along there to the eatery, there’s a huge 24hrs supermarket too.
4) for Malaysian, atm is convenient everywhere. If you are Singaporean , depends on your gambling budget. I can only share a few way to withdraw.
a) from any atm DBS to get 3000ringgit is roughly 987nett(all in inclusive 7$ per transaction fees).
b) the genting card now has a function to transfer using 1) Malaysia selected bank transfer up to 199k. Malaysia shoppee apps or TNG apps can up to 4000ringgit daily only. Steps not so tough . Once money transfer into card, using the Genting apps on handphone can scan those roulette/bacarat/ machine (aka ETG) and the money will be transfer to e-cash. Thereby you can withdraw using your Genting rewards card or directly use it to play jackpot or those ETG.
5) 2 main casino now. One is at first world hotel call “Sky casino” (3 floor, third floor is so call “vip” need gold card holder or gold card to sign in. Singaporean with silver card can access. The area can access to vvvip if you are platinum card level . Or staying at crockford hotel, the hotel card can access too. Level 1 and 2 is so call “non vip”!
The second casino is the old one at highland hotel side and it’s near to resort or genting grand hotel.
it consist of 2 floor . Main floor is “non VIP” , and below that is “vip”
The casino chips are different for so call “VIP” and “non vip”.
both casino can use in the manner whereby sky casino non vip and “old casino “ non vip is using same chips. “Sky casino level 3” vip chips is usable at “old casino lower level vip area (same assessable by gold card or sign in” too.
6) smoking either “army style” or can smoke in designated smoking room area!

Hope these helps. I was there for quite awhile as there’s free room so have recce quite extensively. Feel free to ask if needed more details.
Above info is my own personal experience and If there’s wrong info, please all gurus do enlightened me.
Cheers and big huatttt.

st00pig

6) no smoking in casino?

Thanks in advance!
(1) Antara Mall is still very new, with only a handful of shops opened so far. Opted not to visit the place, as it was not worth the 20 mins walk, or 50 bucks taxi fare.

(2) Theme Park will always be packed during school holidays periods. It's all queue and only queue, but one thing for sure is... all the rides will be available (less during inclement weather). If you are willing to spend, to beat the queue, can explore buying the VIP tickets - close to RM$400 (with 4pax to go) and your family/loved ones will always be at the front of the queue for the 1st 3 hours. Thereafter, you can choose to roam around, or re-play those which you guys like.

(3) Here are the eateries near Resort Hotel:

[Eateries at Genting Grand area]

- Chicken Claypot House 鸡煲之家
- Old Friends (Formerly Good Friends) 老友记
- Genting Secret Garden 密苑云顶乐园火锅
- Lao Di Fang (Formerly Cha Chann Teng) 老地方
- You Mi Qi 有米气
- Spice Garden
- Grand Lough (Formerly Seasons)
- Bakery
- Lobby Lounge
- Coffee Terrace
- Olive (Closed)
- Imperial Rama (Closed)

* Down one level

- Marrybrown
- Munakata Ramen
- KFC
- McDonald's
- Munakata Poke Bowl Express
- Beena's
- Tealive
- Qi Qi 琪琪
- Nasi Lemak Tetup (can't remember was it still there when we were there recently)

[Eateries at Highland Hotel area]

- Little Raohe Street Food 小烧河夜市
- Koon Woh Tong
- 恭和堂
- Famous Amos
- 铁路便当
- The Eatery 食家轩
- Tangkak Kopitiam 东甲咖啡店
- Eastcourt 东庭

* Klinik Genting, is located here too.

[Eateries Resort Hotel area]

- Ah Guang Lamb Pot 阿广羊腩煲
- Shu Da Xia Hot Pot 蜀大侠火锅 (Closed)
- Killiney

(4) Most, if not all, Shops/Eateries in RWGenting accept cashless payment. As for cash... just bring what you can afford to gamble + some for taxi fare, if you wanna go to Hardrock or Gohtong Jaya or KL.

(5) Old casino or Genting De Casino is nearer to Resort Hotel. New casino or SkyCasino is about 1000 steps walk from your hotel. There is free shuttle service from Highland Hotel to First World Hotel, but I would suggest you take a walk and explore the lovely place yourself and/or with your family/loved ones.

(6) Yes, no more smoking, openly. You will have to do so in the smoking room.

Have a good time in your coming trip. Cheers.

hengheng69

6) no smoking in casino?

Thanks in advance!
4) youtrip card can withdraw up to $400 SGD per month without any charges. very convinent.

hengheng69

[Sky Casino]
For Level 3 (Platinum and Gold Club) - now only gold and plat can enter ? Last time very long ago silver card can enter right ... LOL .

kenapa siol

Just wanted to say a big thank you to all the gurus here for sharing such an extravaganza 攻略 for Genting! Really appreciate everyone’s guidance and tips, even though my questions might have been asked many times. hanks for helping make my trip smoother!

ps: what if, what if la hor, end up i win hahaha how to legally bring back the cash if im taking coach?

st00pig

You may ask for a Singapore Dollar cheque (with a small admin fee and lower currency exchange rate), or look around the casino for the "International Card Accepted "Withdrawal and Deposit" ATM. Win more. Good Luck!

givansingapore

Just wanted to say a big thank you to all the gurus here for sharing such an extravaganza 攻略 for Genting! Really appreciate everyone’s guidance and tips, even though my questions might have been asked many times. hanks for helping make my trip smoother!

ps: what if, what if la hor, end up i win hahaha how to legally bring back the cash if im taking coach?
Look for Malaysian friends with local account to do direct exchange? SGD cheque request used to have min RM30k requirements, don't know whether they still issue cheque or not. If amount too big, deposit as e-cash in your member account and bring back to sg in different trips.

P.S. It may be too late to get local Maybank and CIMB account for deposit in Malaysia cash deposit machines since you are going this weekend.

newbie3214

There are wifi in the rooms. I went to stay several times this year already, I think they just added wifi feature at the start of this year.

The wifi instructions are all on the check-in paper when you check in at the kiosk or counter.

Room Number: XXXX
PW: First 3 letters of your surname
I've arrived at Resort Hotel and there is indeed wifi in the rooms now - about time!

Thanks for the help!

ghregular

u r going to hv a happy problem which edmwers are willing to help. just post here.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.