jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

15 yr old heavy injuries. Others chiong red light also.

Really dont understand.....play hobby is good to be serious. But not until this level or take unnecessary risks during a race ba.

Not trying to haolian or what.......Just happened yesterday, junction outside Tiong Bahru Plaza (just finished visiting my mum at SGH), i crossed the white line when it was amber (almost red). Jamming brake while amber would be risky for me, if you are a SGRVer you'd know. I knew cannot chiong one, coz at my speed of ~ 25. crossing the pedestrian crossing in front of me is risky. So i slowed down, and sure enough got elderly started to cross before the green man. Bo bian, braked and got stuck at the edge of yellow box (but 100% safe for all parties including vehicles on my left turning out), and i waved the whole lot of ~ 30 pedestrians to start crossing.

Such things just need to be defensive. And possibly helped with years/decades of good driving experience.

Sadisticnoob

15 yr old heavy injuries. Others chiong red light also.

Really dont understand.....play hobby is good to be serious. But not until this level or take unnecessary risks during a race ba.

Not trying to haolian or what.......Just happened yesterday, junction outside Tiong Bahru Plaza (just finished visiting my mum at SGH), i crossed the white line when it was amber (almost red). I knew cannot chiong one, coz at my speed of ~ 25. crossing the pedestrian crossing in front of me is risky. So i slowed down, and sure enough got elderly started to cross before the green man. Bo bian, braked and got stuck at the edge of yellow box (but 100% safe for all parties including vehicles on my left turning out), and i waved the whole lot of ~ 30 pedestrians to start crossing.

Such things just need to be defensive. And possibly helped with years/decades of good driving experience.

sometimes go too fast cannot brake in time

WussRedXLi

sometimes go too fast cannot brake in time

Yeah......too fast too slow also have their own issues.
Bicycles are a bit unique coz at 25-30, even if you legally cleared the first junction, the subsequent one (for pedestrians) might not clear. Even 35 some big junctions i came across like Cantonment Rd/New Bridge Rd at my place might not clear also.

One other fear that i have is the vehicle behind me whack into me if i jam. Worse. If i drive car then i dont really care lah.

dev_stg_prd

i was in europe.. low single digit temperature
they just wear shorts and hoodie jacket..
for the hoodie jacket should have a base or just 1 top and bottom down?
can tahan ah and apply to us?

my question:
if say for around 15C. just a windproof jacket enough? I want to get a jacket during BF sales.. what to look out for? Tks

WussRedXLi

my question:
if say for around 15C. just a windproof jacket enough? I want to get a jacket during BF sales.. what to look out for? Tks

Of course not, wont apply to us, the same thing goes to them coming here. Need at least a week to acclimatise and even then is just barely.
15 deg just a normal windbreaker relatively thin jacket and jeans would do unless you are going to do 1 full day of outdoor activitiy, keep your hands in your pocket and pull up the hood to cover your neck.
The idea is to keep moving/walking (fast) when you feel cold. When you need to stop, eg at the lights, keep jogging on the spot.

dev_stg_prd

Of course not, wont apply to us, the same thing goes to them coming here. Need at least a week to acclimatise and even then is just barely.
15 deg just a normal windbreaker relatively thin jacket and jeans would do unless you are going to do 1 full day of outdoor activitiy, keep your hands in your pocket and pull up the hood to cover your neck.
The idea is to keep moving/walking (fast) when you feel cold. When you need to stop, eg at the lights, keep jogging on the spot.
what I mean for running not for leisure..so normal running attire + breathable windproof jacket settle?
should I go for a cheap one https://www.decathlon.sg/p/men-s-ki...trail-running-jacket-blue-kiprun-8926413.html since I seldom use?

WussRedXLi

Just sharing. 100% true story. :oops:

The power of deep wave sleep (SWS) for recovery is really is true. (in addition to NSAIDs to "reset" of coz)

Past 3 days wrist/forearm outer tendon a bit painful when i twist my arm around. Should have overpulled something via dips, one arm deadhang or bicep curl, more so on the last 2 exercises.
Possibly the shrugs (resistance bands) but not so sure abt this one coz not the most demanding on grip strength.

Anyway, a bit pain for 3 days when twisting around and decided that total rest is not the way. Hooted 90mg arcoxia in the morning and felt it improving throughout the day. Last night at 11pm 50% as painful as in the morning, so pain is still there but got improvement. Night time got a bit of allergic rhinitis and hooted a chloropheniramine, the drowsy yellow tablet. Zzzzz nicely.

Now woke up and zero pain, as in really zero. Will it come back in the afternoon, later post again.
Not sure if it is arcoxia 90mg (just 1 pc only) or arcoxia + sleep though.

WussRedXLi

dev_stg_prd

For running, srsly the windproof jacket more than sufficient esp if you are doing fast workouts.

I always strength train in my server room with my bands at 18 deg C, no issue.......but not for longer periods.
What's your thoughts for windproof vs rainproof for the jacket for my use case , running whole travelling at temperate climate . Still just get windproof with best breathability which can withstand light rain of heavy rain don't run. Correct?

WussRedXLi

What's your thoughts for windproof vs rainproof for the jacket for my use case , running whole travelling at temperate climate . Still just get windproof with best breathability which can withstand light rain of heavy rain don't run. Correct?

Actually just get the cheapest and with quality you can tahan can already. That probably means the usual windproof, be it decathalon or uniglo can already.

Srsly for me, i'd just hoot TB if it's cheap and be done with it...... but i am the type that i buay hiam. (coz mid 50s already). Since this is not a critical use or safety thingy. Decent quality of coz.

oldchanggold

my question:
15 deg just normal t shirt and pants possible. I did that many times even recently in Tokyo. Was in Spain where morning is slightly less than ten then I will wear long sleeve and Uniqlo thermal wear pants but don’t get extra warm

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.