jogging and motivation thread

GlassDoor

Downside is I had to enter at 3.50+ am. Means I waited one hour before my Pen flag off.
you win :ROFLMAO:
I was all the way back in my pen.. the first few km was most challenging/eye opener for me. Maybe also due to my inexperience in gauging their intention

GlassDoor

No. I wore my old VF3 instead. I used it for last year SCSM, so it was a safe choice to fall back on after I become unsure if I wanted to use the VF4 when it hurt my metatarsal. The other choice was Dynafish xiao nian. But I hadn't use it for more than 15km.
When i tried VF4 in store, it actually gave me takumisen vibes. low ground feel and snappy. My current ability probably can only use it for for HM or less. too hiong for me.
Use xiaonian for the first time this morning as recovery shoe. poor choice :ROFLMAO:
the rocker geometry is quite aggressive so subconsciously you speed up. very smooth ride.

basic___

Yeah...Maybe with the hydration station and gel fueling station. I might able to finish under 5 hours after all..even my colleague who took my race bib told me to reconsider running the FM as he also felt I could manage it...but It is ok !

No need to say sorry about those "fast runners". Not the first time I witnessed it . On the past . I ever seen many pen C/D runners already started to walk after 5km .. obviously never train for a FM.

Worst one I seen was some couple holding hand right after the starting point to jog slowly . We already how tight and narrow the path especially on the starting point. Please Let those fast runners stuck at the pen E ,F to overtake.. but u know lah. Non serious runner won't know this kind of behavior that lead inconvenience to other ..
Got one local runfluencer walked the way and seem pretty proud of her achievement. Almost didn’t hit the cutoff I think (7hrs 52mins)
Bruh.. why bother attempting when you have a knee injury? And her followers seem to support that statement too🤮

Tudo88

you win :ROFLMAO:
I was all the way back in my pen.. the first few km was most challenging/eye opener for me. Maybe also due to my inexperience in gauging their intention
I Pen F while you Pen D. A lot of difference. And I think B and C more serious runners also.

Was hesitant to take up the slot when I heard it was Pen F but glad I did,overall the route not that congested as HM.

Jeremy1

I Pen F while you Pen D. A lot of difference. And I think B and C more serious runners also.

Was hesitant to take up the slot when I heard it was Pen F but glad I did,overall the route not that congested as HM.

Pen F is for slow runner :s14:

mcylo

Yeah...Maybe with the hydration station and gel fueling station. I might able to finish under 5 hours after all..even my colleague who took my race bib told me to reconsider running the FM as he also felt I could manage it...but It is ok !

No need to say sorry about those "fast runners". Not the first time I witnessed it . On the past . I ever seen many pen C/D runners already started to walk after 5km .. obviously never train for a FM.

Worst one I seen was some couple holding hand right after the starting point to jog slowly . We already how tight and narrow the path especially on the starting point. Please Let those fast runners stuck at the pen E ,F to overtake.. but u know lah. Non serious runner won't know this kind of behavior that lead inconvenience to other ..
inconsiderate

WussRedXLi

Got one local runfluencer walked the way and seem pretty proud of her achievement. Almost didn’t hit the cutoff I think (7hrs 52mins)
Bruh.. why bother attempting when you have a knee injury? And her followers seem to support that statement too🤮

IMO it's good when these challenges really make a sustainable change in your lifestyle from a health pov.

But if it's just a one or two-off thingy more for instagram purposes and just to tick the box off from the bucket list, after that not sustainable at all coz leceh, then forget it lah.

I share a small story :
When suddenly one kena a grave health illness like cardiac event or cancer (by cell division errors or genetic lottery), esp past age 60 onwards, the recovery rate would really depend a lot on your fitness or more specifically your actual biological age. And we know that exercise/strength/fitness makes that happen. Of coz the operation would take a VERY BIG hit on your body, but the state of your "base" would make sure that you can tahan this hit and make the subsequent recovery faster. Alas, those who are frail, a small % do not even make it past the operation.
Put it this way, 70 year old able to do 5k in 40 mins, or 70 year old 90 mins also DNF 5k coz heart like wanna die liao and no muscular strength etc, both needs to do major operation coz of CANCER, which one would you rather be?

It's a true story, happened to my mum. No scientific backing of coz, but the 2 specs also anecdotally agreed as well, from experience. (they pretty surprised actually). My mum past 6 years approx 15k steps per day at a decent pace (not strolling), about 9 months ago started bands strengthening together with my dad. She close to 80 liao.

Some folks, even after the major operation, the overall health starts to slide. Coz the base cannot support the big hit. If you know what i mean. And from then on, domino effect.

Jeremy1

FM............ 🤔

I think I only can dream first :s13:

If can really complete within 7.5 hours, it's really a great achievement for me liao.

WussRedXLi

TB 8th-9th, 10-11th, 12, 13th-14th got free ship voucher to kope from 12pm.

BTW, if really nothing to get, can consider this.

I just tested just now 3pcs that i purchased with my last 20rmb shipping voucher.....just got the package just now when i arrived.

Get the TX3190A, i opened it up to double confirm, it has a CR123A lithium primary cell inside. Passes ok with direct ship via vegetable bird no issue at all.

I also tested it with a smouldering piece of tissue in a box, it does work ok (fast enough).

BTW if you do get it, remember to install the plastic base to the main device, coz at the back there is a button which serves as a ON/OFF switch that the plastic base would depress when screwed onto it.
Then the main device's test button would make the device sound when depressed.
Anyway, i have already tested all my 3 pcs that came, all 3 pcs sound with smoke. (I actively QC all the smoke detectors that i put into service at my place and my parents + in-laws places)

For old folks, these built in lithium primary cell models are better, coz they can last really long. And they do not leak like with Alkaline batteries, which would then render the device useless.
Normal carbon-zinc cells mean every 2 to 3 years need to change, and the beeping low batt sound means the elderly would just take it out and disable it, and not bother to change and put it back into service.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?_u...=5723647363795&spm=a1z09.2.0.0.610e2e8dxkFNFb

gPshKrI.jpg

Ender

My new light alloy titanium bracelet on my Garmin Forerunner 970 :s19:

I don't like metal band. Find them heavy. Nylon strap for me, coz it's the lightest, and can easily adjust for tightness. Coz for long runs, the tightness will loosen as your body loose water.

Jeremy1

I don't like metal band. Find them heavy. Nylon strap for me, coz it's the lightest, and can easily adjust for tightness. Coz for long runs, the tightness will loosen as your body loose water.

I also think this way but can also trained my hand strength :s13:

Ender

TB 8th-9th, 10-11th, 12, 13th-14th got free ship voucher to kope from 12pm.

Xiaonian @ 469 red colour. White and Black models all full size range, 499.
IS this the $20 yuan shipping voucher? There's another one, free shipping for 199 yuan for very selected sellers. Managed to get a Li Ning Fei Dian 5 Challenger for less than SGD $55. Not from official seller. Finger crossed, the shoe arrived with Li Ning boxes. Need to weigh them for assurance.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.