Insta360 Ace Pro 2

RyanJ

DJI could have grabbed the bull by the horns by implanting their existing excellent 1" sensor from their drones and Osmo Pocket 3 into DJI Action 5. There was so much eager anticipation earlier this year.

Ended up with same tiny sensor, and still stuck in a muddied slugfest trying to differentiate from the other competitors.

Not sure if mechanical limitations or financial decision or both.

elvintay07

How is this compared to DJI Action 5? I am told Insta360 has this dual chip thing, AI and Leica lens and this gives a no horse run performance. I don’t know about Action Pro 5. Anyone can share insights?

ajcc1987

Now got discount for Ace Pro 2.
Did u get this in the end? Any feedback? Wanted to compare this against go ultra. Looks like the spec almost the same but this has 8k and leica lens. Now this has discount.

elvintay07

Did u get this in the end? Any feedback? Wanted to compare this against go ultra. Looks like the spec almost the same but this has 8k and leica lens. Now this has discount.
Yes. I think quite good in my opinion. Only complain is the record button a bit stiff. The photo and video image quite steady

Apparatus

If you buy an action cam with a screen and camera in one body then its uses are limited without the use of a hp as a screen

Imagine if you mount the action camera on a tripod or something and you try to film yourself

Imagine if you mount it to your chest/backpack shoulder strap and try to film

Imagine mounting on your helmet and filming

Imagine mounting it on a selfie stick

You'll need your hp to use it as a screen otherwise how to see and control what you are filming.

Yes, the specs are better than the Insta360 Go Ultra but you must know what an action cam is use for. If you want to film videos and take photos to keep as rememberance and watch on your large 70 - 80 inch 4K/8K tv then forget it. Use a traditional camera instead

Action cams are meant for instant recording and quick upload to share in social media apps. They are intended to be viewed on small screen and hp i.e. small screen size device. And, they are intended to have minimum need for color grading, reframing and postproduction. In view of this usage the image quality (sensor size is immaterial and superior details are not important) might not be the only factor you would want of a small size action camera e.g. like ease of use, versatility, how you want to capture videos etc

IMO, a detachable screen from the camera is a better buy like the Go Ultra or the upcoming Osmo Nano and it'll solve all those mentioned problems without the need of using the hp

elvintay07

I have to politely disagree with the views. Yes, the screen is not super big. Neither is mirrorless camera screens. I used Ace Pro 2 when I was in Cheng Du and Jiuzhaigou. It was easy to shoot anything. Even drop in water also ok. At 1 moment I dip the Ace Pro 2 in the lake to film some dishes and my wife said I am siao. After that I just use it to film everything I saw. I think action camera is very robust and not so expensive,

The other favourite devices I used is iPhone Pro max. The video and photo sibei powerful. Forget about mirrorless as most of the time you probably die from the weight if you go climb mountains or like Great Wall of China. Screen size to me no difference between 1, 2 and 3”. Big to me must be at least like iPhone

discoburg

Wow insta360 keeps coming out with accessories to make the Ace Pro 2 more like a p&s camera.

Whitelion

Got mine last week for only $477 for the SG60 Xplorer kit set! Really good deal. I think coming 1.1 will have the same or even better deal

dreamcast18

Wow insta360 keeps coming out with accessories to make the Ace Pro 2 more like a p&s camera.
I mcgyver it with rubbe can or not?

j64OxNo.jpeg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.