jogging and motivation thread

Tudo88

:oops: :oops: :oops:
Of coz no details if it's track or just a GPS timing at the PCNs (or sometimes they might be more accurately measured routes @ PCNs) but still that is very very fast on an amateur level.

@colinneo1346

8 hours ago (edited)
I do know of some local running clubs that have runners clocking 15 mins plus...but those are expats working in Singapore. There is still a big gap between our national runners vs overseas...but let's not forget it is tough to find runners in Singapore as most would finish their studies and find a stable job. But i do feel that our Athletics association should be more stringent when selecting runners to represent Singapore instead of just for the sake of participation as there is cost involved ! All selected runners qualifying time should be more stringent, at least, close to those podium level. A good example is that the last runner in this video shouldnt even be there ! (more than a lap diff!)
It’s just the system. Even if you got the talent in SEA, how you gonna be running full time?

The association won’t pay you just to win the SEA Games alone. The only way for local runners to do running full time is do content creation like those Ang Moh or china runners

WussRedXLi

wah femke bol's PB can beat Calvin

International different standard. I think even if i run downhill @ Lor Sesuai (is around 400m from Upp Bukit Timah to the CP), i cannot beat femke boi. :oops: (stride length + cadence limited due to neuromuscular factors etc, and if overcooked it for speed then will be rolling downhill liao lol)

xllms

Currently using Nike Vapor’s for running . The carbon plate is very aggressive
if you feel it is too aggressive for you, you may want to evaluate which muscles are strained more badly as compared to others and work on these muscles.
We are not sure your purpose of citing Vaporfly for its aggressive carbon plated design. Perhaps you may want to share more.

basic___

:oops: :oops: :oops:
Of coz no details if it's track or just a GPS timing at the PCNs (or sometimes they might be more accurately measured routes @ PCNs) but still that is very very fast on an amateur level.

@colinneo1346

8 hours ago (edited)
I do know of some local running clubs that have runners clocking 15 mins plus...but those are expats working in Singapore. There is still a big gap between our national runners vs overseas...but let's not forget it is tough to find runners in Singapore as most would finish their studies and find a stable job. But i do feel that our Athletics association should be more stringent when selecting runners to represent Singapore instead of just for the sake of participation as there is cost involved ! All selected runners qualifying time should be more stringent, at least, close to those podium level. A good example is that the last runner in this video shouldnt even be there ! (more than a lap diff!)
What is he talking.. All the runners selected to represent Singapore for SEA are definitely the fastest in Singapore this season. None of the other local females are close to Nicole and Vanessa standards and this is the same for the male side. The last runner in that 5km race is not even from Singapore.

WussRedXLi

What is he talking.. All the runners selected to represent Singapore for SEA are definitely the fastest in Singapore this season. None of the other local females are close to Nicole and Vanessa standards and this is the same for the male side. The last runner in that 5km race is not even from Singapore.

I think what he wants is for SG to select 14+ mins PB level 5k runners lah........ but then he forgot that we only had 1 such pax last time and in his absolute peak form. heh......

15 mins flat in such heat index temps is actually bloody fast for not 100% full-time pros.

WussRedXLi

Haiz, chio bu got into a death wobble.

One of the few reasons why my lead tape from TB is arriving soon to lessen risk. 😓 (not that i descent that fast that often anyway)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.