jogging and motivation thread

Ender

I applied for nyc again if get lucky. Still 0/6 in ballots. Otherwise, no overseas races in mind as kid still young
Good Luck. Best is to try going overseas race while when your kid aren't following the school holidays. COz most races are outside the school holidays. Unless you just want to race and come home than don't have to bother with school holidays.

sph777

The thing is once I stopped chasing this SCSM sub 4 goal. It is also the time I will be doing the consistency thing. No more periodize blocks. Every time, I'll just stick to 65% easy, 10% High intensity and 15% threshold or grey zone. And easy will include running to other makan spots or visit another town.
will u ever consider trying overseas sub 4? haha

Ender

will u ever consider trying overseas sub 4? haha
Have lah, but also scared I will waste the money. Spends thousands of dollars and scarely didn't achieve, the heart really going to be painful.

Tudo88

Have lah, but also scared I will waste the money. Spends thousands of dollars and scarely didn't achieve, the heart really going to be painful.
Try our neighbouring countries. Aims certified one. All the major marathons, even if ballot also quite expensive including air tickets, hotels,etc

WussRedXLi

The thing is once I stopped chasing this SCSM sub 4 goal. It is also the time I will be doing the consistency thing. No more periodize blocks. Every time, I'll just stick to 65% easy, 10% High intensity and 15% threshold or grey zone. And easy will include running to other makan spots or visit another town.

Yea i more or less understand the time goal thingy. Srsly continue what really interests you....think you can follow training plans better, then just do rinse repeat. If it comes, it comes....... It might be a certain genetic ceiling based on certain other factors that you cannot control, but based on aerobic fitness that possibly might already be the genetic ceiling. Heck, even to get close to the ceiling that itself might be a challenge, dont even talk abt reaching it. I think i remember you saying that your 5k you can do like around 22 mins, that is already more or less close to a 4 hrs FM. So if there are certain limiters for your 5k that you cant get past, then lagi for FM distance it is probably going to be even more challenging.

The "unfortunate" thing about marathons is that this distance, by the nature of its long distance and also lolca racing context is not easy to achieve, for eg only happens once a year ie SCSM which is what...the only properly verified race distance. I mean, yeah other distances have their own speciifc challenges as well of coz, not saying the others are easier...just different challenges. But for SG working local context, the time needed to properly train for FM already is a big limiter specifically coz this is a really long distance.

sph777

that's also true. If I go overseas, it is to enjoy the diff experience.

WussRedXLi

Then, not specific to running/cycling/endurance sports......personally i know i am the the "hard gainer" type.
So even though i have gotten into calisthenics recently, i go in with the thinking that i am never gonna be anywhere near the phyisiques what i see online on YT vids, not talking about the elites but even those normal hobbyists.

I can, of coz, continue drooling, which actually might be good coz that will keep me wanting it.....this is one big pull factor actually. 🤣 Bodybuilding techniques, not say i hate those training methods or what, but not so much interest at the moment. Bodyweight exercises more interest and more easier to get into the routine for me.

So, never say never if the interest is there, it might eventually come.

Tudo88

Yea i more or less understand the time goal thingy. Srsly continue what really interests you....think you can follow training plans better, then just do rinse repeat. If it comes, it comes....... It might be a certain genetic ceiling based on certain other factors that you cannot control, but based on aerobic fitness that possibly might already be the genetic ceiling. Heck, even to get close to the ceiling that itself might be a challenge, dont even talk abt reaching it. I think i remember you saying that your 5k you can do like around 22 mins, that is already more or less close to a 4 hrs FM. So if there are certain limiters for your 5k that you cant get past, then lagi for FM distance it is probably going to be even more challenging.

The "unfortunate" thing about marathons is that this distance, by the nature of its long distance and also lolca racing context is not easy to achieve, for eg only happens once a year ie SCSM which is what...the only properly verified race distance. I mean, yeah other distances have their own speciifc challenges as well of coz, not saying the others are easier...just different challenges. But for SG working local context, the time needed to properly train for FM already is a big limiter specifically coz this is a really long distance.
5km is not a good indicator for Marathon timing. If any, I think HM timing will be a better indicator.

I think @Ender HM timing is around 145-150. So definitely Sub 4 is achievable. But then again, running a marathon is a different ball game.

sales69

First impression of Redhare 9U.

Feels quite similar to Xiaonian but without rocker effect.

Foot feel is slightly soft sink-in, then slight firm, then bounce.

Stable and cushioned. The bounce is subtle unlike the balance ball wild bounce like Feidian 6E.

Yesterday ran in the rain while hopping around avoiding puddles.

Thought would be slower pace. Somehow the shoes gave a natural propulsion and naturally ran average 5.45 pace.

Should work very well for tempo and steady long runs.

Next I did 150m runs at 4-4.30 pace. Can do fast pace but the ground feel is like running on a big block of foam.

So feel less responsive and less bouncy than Feidian 6E. But pace wise, doesn't mean can't go fast.

I would say if Feidian 6E is a crazy fast wild horse, Redhare 9U is a speedy tamed horse.

For people who like Xiaonian but don't enjoy rocking, this would be a good alternative.

Price wise, I'd say $150 and below is worth it.

rECKleSSfElla

Next big china running shoe. This is positioned as a plated, ultra light race day shoe. 499rmb currently pretty much sold out for most sizes on their TB link. This is the brand's first official release so kinda similar to Dynafish where its a new comer to the scene.

WussRedXLi

5km is not a good indicator for Marathon timing. If any, I think HM timing will be a better indicator.

I think @Ender HM timing is around 145-150. So definitely Sub 4 is achievable. But then again, running a marathon is a different ball game.

Just that I can only recall his 5km PB tho and talking about limiters...... in one of his posts regarding VO2max being a significant limiter regarding sub 20, something like that. It also wouldnt't be too far off (eg Glassdoor's first FM eg). As in, say a 30 min 5k runner most probably confirm wont be able to a 4hr in a FM, even if he has taken part in ultras and finishing them (seen before hobbyists on youtube, but of coz i cant vouch for accuracy). I think something also to do with some shuffling thing or something, good for ultras and where speed is not a concern.......but if talking about faster speeds shorter distances, there will be issues.

Of coz whilst being not too terribly far off, it would still be with significant assumption like a big one regarding fueling , not only stomaching the nutrition but keeping it down but digest/absorb it (i know for cycling, some rare few cant abosrb on the go, need to take "formal" pitstops).

WussRedXLi

Fast old age fella....i follow this fella and he's still getting faster.
20:50 (2 weeks ago he did something slightly faster, i think 20:40 or something)

I said old age, coz over 65...but some might use age 70 of coz. This is the more or less the threshold where people really start to fall off a cliff in terms of speed.
I know of 2 YT fellas in which they are 60 and 61 and they run mid and high 17:xx but then again there is the age difference

WussRedXLi

Next big china running shoe. This is positioned as a plated, ultra light race day shoe. 499rmb currently pretty much sold out for most sizes on their TB link. This is the brand's first official release so kinda similar to Dynafish where its a new comer to the scene.

Basket.....lately past year like never ending. 🤣

At this rate, most of you already spending more than what most beginner to even intermediate cyclists spend on their bike or accessories (which is more or less one shot), save for those beginners who kena upgraditis and jump to mid tier models to then top tier within 12-18 months.

rECKleSSfElla

Basket.....lately past year like never ending. 🤣

At this rate, most of you already spending more than what most beginner to even intermediate cyclists spend on their bike or accessories (which is more or less one shot), save for those beginners who kena upgraditis and jump to mid tier models to then top tier within 12-18 months.
OK bah...its all about value proposition. This Runsifly is being compared as a budget Asics Metaspeed for race days and its only costs 1/3 of a Metaspeed. Currently using my Xiaonians as an all round do it all instead of having multiple different types of shoes in the rotation. Much as i want to get a pair of Superblast 2 on the cheap from PDD, think i rather just get another pair of Xiaonians because they really are that damn good.

sales69

OK bah...its all about value proposition. This Runsifly is being compared as a budget Asics Metaspeed for race days and its only costs 1/3 of a Metaspeed. Currently using my Xiaonians as an all round do it all instead of having multiple different types of shoes in the rotation. Much as i want to get a pair of Superblast 2 on the cheap from PDD, think i rather just get another pair of Xiaonians because they really are that damn good.
Ya Xiaonian really is jack of all trades and does it exceptionally well. Super value!

WussRedXLi

If really got need (coz run volume is not low), can get another pair and stock up. Coz like the Plaid 1.0, a similar one might not come round again.

Sadisticnoob

Try our neighbouring countries. Aims certified one. All the major marathons, even if ballot also quite expensive including air tickets, hotels,etc
all the SEA marathon all start at 230 , only sg start at 430. I am keen to do the Da Nang Marathon , but need to see my CEO, whatever races she signs up , I need to accompany

Sadisticnoob

First race of the year confirmed going.

Cycling race in KL where I came in 14X/ 1100 last year.
Hopefully able to finish below 100 position this year.

For running - might go for mt fuji marathon again , but will need to see if can get the slot

Ender

So frustrating when most recent HM performance indicates it is a realistic goal. I also checked two ladies runners with 10KM and HM PB slower can achieved sub 4. LOL. Endurance truly lacking.

Kuudere

Haha I am trying to think of the ideal mileage for my training block. Signed up for Hatyai 21. Will begin my training block on 1st March so that’s around 10 weeks of training.
I have a conservative mileage increment for my training block. I was averaging 70k/week for 2 months in Oct-Dec, though I started my training block at end September for my HM race.

Going into 18 week/55 miles, it will peak at 88km/week and the average mileage including taper and race week is 72km/week average. Should be manageable for me, because I am not changing it a lot from my previous block.
Will u be doing 15km or half at NTUC? haha. How's the training for your marathon in goldcoast? Hope your pfitz plan is going well!
15km only, I know 100% I willn't cramp during the race. The worst that can happen is GI issues, but I intend to fix this with early morning runs + gels.

I fell sick + left knee injury after doing 2 weeks. I was about to reach the end of 2 weeks then the left knee injury + illness persisted for a while.

Now, I am just on track to finish week 1, and then all the rain happened. But I have 2 runs to go then I am done for the week.
As with any sports pursuits, is generally the interest and making it as a hobby lah. So it becomes a lifestyle.

For some it might just be a hobby based pursuit, while for some, they find it interesting to chase performance goals/figures.

If for health gains, i know it is difficult to prioritise exercising sessions over other recreational interests in life or family commitments. But if family is able to do it together with you, it is easier.

Of coz, if the day job is demanding and/or commuting is jialat, then most bets are off. By the time if reach home is 8+ to 9+pm period already, no way. The next priority then is sleep. I feel the best is if can reach home by 7pm, so that quick shower and makan is 8pm you'd have free time already. So 8.30 earliest can go out. Either that or sleep early but wake up early the next morning.
Ya if you reach back at 8-9pm, it's better to eat dinner and then chill for the night. Maybe do strengthening exercises or plyometrics. Become a morning runner. It's much better since eating late means higher chance of GI issues. If you sleep late, no energy for work the next day.
I used the Pfitzinger entry plan in the first SCSM after covid (2023?), think it's the 18/55. It was really hard for slow runners like me. Trimp score was too much for me. I made it thru though, with thoughts of giving up and need for massage and foam rolling. I think this plan is suitable for those already in the sub 3:45 full marathon aiming for sub 3:30. I was a 4:30 then aiming for sub 4, but it got me to 4:18 then. Still I find it was too hard for my level. TAO has lesser TRIMP score for me, plan was easier, and it brought me to 4:14 without the urge to look for massage or foam rolling.
I guess the Pfitzinger plan should suit you, being a faster and stronger run.
I am going to follow this pace for pfitzinger:

recovery: 6.11
aerobic: 5.42
long run: 5.27
marathon: 4.57
LT: 4.13

I am going to try to space out the rest so that I can run without getting injuries. Interestingly, there's 8-15k race inside the plan. I am going to do the 15k race in income eco run, so that counts as one. Might run 10k and 8k for the other two respectively. :ROFLMAO:

I have to monitor training load or TRIMP score as well. Will see how it goes, since I am aiming for sub 3:30 full marathon.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.