jogging and motivation thread

kaisin82

BTW, i just did the VDOT running/race time predicting calculators, from the original Jack Daniels to some other predicting calculators. With 21:36, it ranges from 3:26 to 3:45.
And rightly so, coz we also have a recent data point of 2h 22mins for your 27k training long run, so that'd be converted to be like 3:47 or so for FM.
ie quite a decent buffer to 4h. You will surely run better in your race than your recent 27k long run one, 100%.

Of coz, it does not mean that kind of timing is capable by all folks who can run 21:36 for 5k. But you are different, you have trained quite ok for longer distances and specifically for the FM for the past few months, and now you are attempting a 5k.

While for me, you know my 5k timing. But my 10k i couldnt even break 38 mins that time when i was training 3k/5k and did around 17:40 lowest a few years ago, but also attempted 10k coz i did long runs up to 12-13k range but i never focussed on 10k specific speed workouts (eg 1-2k repeats) and my 800m interval reps also not exactly enough/optimal at around 5-6 reps coz i focussed more for 5k , so probably isnt surprising that i'd suck in distance as i focussed on shorter distances. While 3k i am even "faster" coz i trained around the 3-5k range. Im not sure tho, if i can include 1k into this, which i can run even faster than predicted based on my 3k/5k timings...but 1k is probably not a good basis as an indicator coz it is very anaerobic and quite neuromuscular as well.
wah 10km timing to sub 38mins, sub 42mins I also don't dare to dream. Thanks for the advice and encouragement. Hopefully these last 2 weeks, I do enough to hit below 4hrs

WussRedXLi

I should also try to do 10km marathon

wah 10km timing to sub 38mins, sub 42mins I also don't dare to dream. Thanks for the advice and encouragement. Hopefully these last 2 weeks, I do enough to hit below 4hrs

Actually nothing much left to do other than to do some final touches to the logistics and prep like for fueling etc.

Alas, forgot that there is actually one "easy test" that one can do to see if he/she has sufficient durability. Is the number single leg calf raises, 2-3 seconds up 2-3 seconds down kinda tempo. There is good correlation regarding muscular durability for the final stage of a FM. But now you better dont do and test liao, coz that would probably give you soreness for a good 3-4 days, for those pax who dont strength train.
The other one would be just to actually run till 35km to build mental resilience and to actually know if one has sufficient muscular durability, but has more risks.

Put it this way, if calves can tahan (no cramp), the other muscles also likely to be able to tahan. Minus some wierd/outlier cases.

WussRedXLi

This news excerpt describes a conflict at the MOE (Evans) Stadium in Singapore involving a large running group and other individuals trying to use the facility.

The Main Issue A run club, identified by some netizens as the Zephyr Running Club, was criticized for taking up too much space on the running track.

• The Scale: Photos showed over 25 people occupying seven lanes of the track at once.
  • The Behavior: A runner named "Ms P" complained that the group ran in a long, single-file line that blocked her path. She described them as a "sweaty cluster" that didn't keep a safe distance from others.
  • The Complaint: Ms P felt the group was "colonising" (taking over) the public space and that photographers taking pictures of the runners were an invasion of privacy. She tried to speak to the group, but they were dismissive.
The Response

• The Run Club: A spokesperson for Zephyr Running Club said they teach their members proper track etiquette (rules of behavior). They expressed disappointment that online comments about the incident had turned into racist and discriminatory attacks against their members.
  • The Public Reaction:
    • Supporters of the complaint: Many people agreed the group was being inconsiderate. Some shared stories of having to dodge the runners or even having their pets accidentally kicked. They argued that public tracks should be shared, not "hogged" by large groups.
    • Supporters of the club: Others felt the runners followed the rules technically. They argued that on a track, faster runners must overtake slower ones, and no single lane belongs to one person. They suggested the real problem was just that the track was too crowded that night.
Key Concepts Explained

• Track Etiquette:This refers to the unwritten social rules of running on a public track.
    • Lane Discipline: Slower runners usually stay in the inner lanes (closest to the field), while faster runners use the outer lanes.
    • Overtaking: If you are faster, you should pass on the right (in countries driving on the left, like Singapore) or left (in right-hand traffic countries), but you must always signal or ensure it is safe before moving into another runner's path.
    • Group Size: While running alone or in pairs is standard, large groups running together can block the entire track, which is generally frowned upon in shared public spaces.
  • "Colonising" (in this context): The user used this word to describe the feeling of being pushed out of a public space by a large, dominant group. It implies that the runners acted as if they owned the track, ignoring the rights of others to use it.
  • MOE (Evans) Stadium: This is a public sports facility in Singapore managed by the Ministry of Education (MOE) but often open for community use. It features a standard 400-meter running track.
  • Stomp: This is a popular Singaporean news outlet known for reporting on local community issues, often based on tips and photos sent in by the public.
Current Status The situation is unresolved. The news outlet Stomp has contacted SportSG (Sport Singapore), the government agency responsible for managing public sports facilities, to ask for their official stance and whether any rules were broken.

This one i watched aaroniseverything channel long time ago i already sensed one day sure someone buay song and go stir one, actually. 😅 :frown:

One trick that cyclists use on other fellow cyclists esp big ass group overtaking smaller group, is to greet them "good morning".....or "bike right" , some sort of acknowledgement / greeting. Then no issue liao.
Groups "subsuming " other small groups or even big groups.......quite common. Esp on popular roads like Mandai.

WussRedXLi

snusnu-futurama.gif

I usually do that for my dips and pull ups. 1 working set now but big one. Hit "failure", shake out lactate and muscle fibres a bit , whack.......hit "failure", shake it out a bit, whack, hit failure, shake it out a bit, whack. Usually can dish out 3X......and after that the 4th is really cannot, proceed to "jump" and just focus on eccentric, can do 2-3 reps of eccentrics, then exercise cut.

Mila Azul

I usually do that for my dips and pull ups. 1 working set now but big one. Hit "failure", shake out lactate and muscle fibres a bit , whack.......hit "failure", shake it out a bit, whack, hit failure, shake it out a bit, whack. Usually can dish out 3X......and after that the 4th is really cannot, proceed to "jump" and just focus on eccentric, can do 2-3 reps of eccentrics, then exercise cut.

That's great that you're still able to stay active. My knee still hurts, so I hesitate to do much. Whenever I feel the pain, I end up giving up. I now just focus on knee rehab exercises that I saw on YouTube, hoping it will work.

kaisin82

This news excerpt describes a conflict at the MOE (Evans) Stadium in Singapore involving a large running group and other individuals trying to use the facility.

The Main Issue A run club, identified by some netizens as the Zephyr Running Club, was criticized for taking up too much space on the running track.

• The Scale: Photos showed over 25 people occupying seven lanes of the track at once.
  • The Behavior: A runner named "Ms P" complained that the group ran in a long, single-file line that blocked her path. She described them as a "sweaty cluster" that didn't keep a safe distance from others.
  • The Complaint: Ms P felt the group was "colonising" (taking over) the public space and that photographers taking pictures of the runners were an invasion of privacy. She tried to speak to the group, but they were dismissive.
The Response

• The Run Club: A spokesperson for Zephyr Running Club said they teach their members proper track etiquette (rules of behavior). They expressed disappointment that online comments about the incident had turned into racist and discriminatory attacks against their members.
  • The Public Reaction:
    • Supporters of the complaint: Many people agreed the group was being inconsiderate. Some shared stories of having to dodge the runners or even having their pets accidentally kicked. They argued that public tracks should be shared, not "hogged" by large groups.
    • Supporters of the club: Others felt the runners followed the rules technically. They argued that on a track, faster runners must overtake slower ones, and no single lane belongs to one person. They suggested the real problem was just that the track was too crowded that night.
Key Concepts Explained

• Track Etiquette:This refers to the unwritten social rules of running on a public track.
    • Lane Discipline: Slower runners usually stay in the inner lanes (closest to the field), while faster runners use the outer lanes.
    • Overtaking: If you are faster, you should pass on the right (in countries driving on the left, like Singapore) or left (in right-hand traffic countries), but you must always signal or ensure it is safe before moving into another runner's path.
    • Group Size: While running alone or in pairs is standard, large groups running together can block the entire track, which is generally frowned upon in shared public spaces.
  • "Colonising" (in this context): The user used this word to describe the feeling of being pushed out of a public space by a large, dominant group. It implies that the runners acted as if they owned the track, ignoring the rights of others to use it.
  • MOE (Evans) Stadium: This is a public sports facility in Singapore managed by the Ministry of Education (MOE) but often open for community use. It features a standard 400-meter running track.
  • Stomp: This is a popular Singaporean news outlet known for reporting on local community issues, often based on tips and photos sent in by the public.
Current Status The situation is unresolved. The news outlet Stomp has contacted SportSG (Sport Singapore), the government agency responsible for managing public sports facilities, to ask for their official stance and whether any rules were broken.

Wah sounds like nothing to complain already, like this also can. Maybe if they are intending to run as a big group, and it is really busy in the stadium, take the outer lane?

rECKleSSfElla

@Mila Azul You pre-ordering the Fitbit Air? There is a Shopee $24 off $150 voucher for their 5.15 sale + 3% coins cashback if you sub to their Shopee VIP. Quite possibly the best deal anywhere for now. Also checked with the Shopee Fitbit store CS and this is their promo. No $45 google store credit but you get an additional band instead.
Dear Customer, here's the promotions for the pre order on this platform: Promotion for New Model Google Fitbit Air (For Pre-order only): • Fitbit Air comes with 3 months of Google Health Premium (at SGD $12.98/mo) Pre-order Offer From 7 May (10:00 PM) to 26 May (9:00 PM), we will offer a f r e e Silicone Active Band (worth SGD $49) with every pre-order of Fitbit Air, while stocks last.

sales69

Just received my Qiaodan Qinghong Free.

Luckily saw a review saying size up for wide feet.

Usually buy 44 but got 45 for this pair.

Toebox ample space. Width at ball of foot just nice. If size 44, would have been too tight.

Length 1 finger width space in front. Doubt will slide in front because already limited at the ball.

Low stack but feels very cushioned. Was expecting firmer but walking in it is quite soft.

Need to run tomorrow and see how.

rECKleSSfElla

@sales69 Have you received and ran in the Dowin Hurricane Max? Like your thoughts on it if you have already done so.

Gonna have to shelf my Redhare 9U. Much as i like it for slow runs, its precisely such that i have been doing predominantly slow runs for the past 2 months. My 80/20 plan has become more like 95/5 lol. Really need to get back to doing more tempo stuff.

sales69

@sales69 Have you received and ran in the Dowin Hurricane Max? Like your thoughts on it if you have already done so.

Gonna have to shelf my Redhare 9U. Much as i like it for slow runs, its precisely such that i have been doing predominantly slow runs for the past 2 months. My 80/20 plan has become more like 95/5 lol. Really need to get back to doing more tempo stuff.
Just received the Hurricane Max, Qinghong Free, BaodiXiangCai today.

Gotta take another week or two to try them out.

Also received the $130 Feidian 6E from PDD. Looks and feels genuine.

But box QR code is scrapped off. Also no size tags on the shoes. My first full priced pair have the tags.

Either the seller is super skillful at removing the tags and sewing threads.

Or it probably wasn't sewed on in the factory. Then it could be a factory overrun stock.

Does have the balance ball feeling when stepping into it, standing on one foot. Should be legit.

I did 3 runs with the R2 Yourun 2.0. This is a damn fine cushioned trainer.

Size 44 only 218g, very light. Every step sink in like 20% into the foam kind of softness. Then immediately bounce back with a somewhat firm platform to feel the push-off.

Slight rocker but not aggressive. Can go fast or slow (7min) no problems.

Can consider if you like cushioning with bounce. Only around $75!

Edit: R2 definitely can do tempo. I did short spurts of 4:45 pace. Don't dare run too much fast yet.

rECKleSSfElla

But box QR code is scrapped off. Also no size tags on the shoes. My first full priced pair have the tags.

Or it probably wasn't sewed on in the factory. Then it could be a factory overrun stock.

Does have the balance ball feeling when stepping into it, standing on one foot. Should be legit.

I did 3 runs with the R2 Yourun 2.0. This is a damn fine cushioned trainer.

Size 44 only 218g, very light. Every step sink in like 20% into the foam kind of softness. Then immediately bounce back with a somewhat firm platform to feel the push-off.
Nice. Considering between 1 of Anta Zone 2 90, Lifeng SL or Yourun 2.0 and 1 of Feidian 6E or Feiying Plaid 3 for 6.18 sale.

Ender

Just received the Hurricane Max, Qinghong Free, BaodiXiangCai today.

Gotta take another week or two to try them out.

Where is the chip located? I pressed my 5c (rom 3rd party seller) all over, can't feel any hard chip. ALso can't find any place that shows tampering with sewing thread. Both L/R shoes has size tag under the tongue.

As or my 6E from PDD, now in singapore custom since yesterday, it actually arrived in Singapore on Tuesday. So stucked at custom for 2 days. The tracking is frustrating, but I don't want to pay more for air at TB. LOL.

sales69

Where is the chip located? I pressed my 5c (rom 3rd party seller) all over, can't feel any hard chip. ALso can't find any place that shows tampering with sewing thread. Both L/R shoes has size tag under the tongue.

As or my 6E from PDD, now in singapore custom since yesterday, it actually arrived in Singapore on Tuesday. So stucked at custom for 2 days. The tracking is frustrating, but I don't want to pay more for air at TB. LOL.
The China video showed the chip is under the insole, around the forefoot.

I think the video fella did some digging into the top midsole to extract.

For both pairs, the insole is glued in front but not the back.

I also never bother to check. :s13:

Just the balance ball bounce and unstable feeling is enough tell it apart.

Don't think any other shoes can replicate that same feeling.

WussRedXLi

That's great that you're still able to stay active. My knee still hurts, so I hesitate to do much. Whenever I feel the pain, I end up giving up. I now just focus on knee rehab exercises that I saw on YouTube, hoping it will work.

Can still try doing half reps, it might decrease the pain, will still strengthen the muscles (quads and glute max). If it does, then continue doing, it might decrease or even go away. I find that if dont strengthen, the issue will forever be there....i encountered this from around 2010-2016 which i suffered from deteriorating knee pain (going down steps). This was before i started stairs climbing.

At the same time, strength all other parts of the leg, calves, tibs, glutes, hamstrings as well. Over time it should decrease in % any potential imbalances and gradually helps things.

Last time when i started squatting, i also the lower end (deeper part) of the the squat feels a bit pain at the front of the knee. Now no more....as i continued to strenthen all parts of my leg. But then, also, there could be a more serious issue that might need more in-depth addressing if over time it increases instead of decreases, then you see how you wanna address this with a healthcare pro or not.

Oh btw, i dont do any sort of bilateral exercise. All my leg exercises are unilateral one, ie single leg. For squats, that'd be bulgarian split squat. Really helps the spine loading coz basically it is half the load, ie you can really hammer the legs and focus on that, instead of having any limitations on the back or core.
I have cut out single leg deadlifts already, coz i prefer to focus a bit more for quads, in any case i find BSS is more than sufficient for my requirements.
Other than plyo drop jumps, in which bo bian is 2 legged.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.