iRobot Scooba experience

jc777

Well you can try but had read alot who try to use smaller stepdown or the stepdown watt nearer to irobot one the stepdown either burn after sometime if not it burn the irobot changer as well.

As mention to be on the safe side go for 100W per stepdown for 1 irobot.

So if you want to use extension plug for e.g. 2 irobot then get a 200W stepdown to drive it.

For me I got a 300W newstar to power my 2 roomba cause I rather play safe then sorry cause when stepdown burn it can melt or blow up and cause fire.

Anyway all these stepdown is not that expensive so why save a bit and put your irobot and house on danger.
cost to mod = $3 + soldering effort

alanseah

mod is the way to go. change 1 capacitor and 1 fuse.

no scare transformer not enough power than burnt out.

interested on the mod.. but have no idea how to and scare if go to SLT and tell them what to replace from me.. might end up a blow irobot when using the mod chargers.

If not become a non-working charger then have to order from irobot and have to wait for weeks before getting the replacement charger. All these wait is very tiring.

If got ppl like you to come offer this service at a reasonable cost then I dont mind modding it.

jc777

interested on the mod.. but have no idea how to and scare if go to SLT and tell them what to replace from me.. might end up a blow irobot when using the mod chargers.

If not become a non-working charger then have to order from irobot and have to wait for weeks before getting the replacement charger. All these wait is very tiring.

If got ppl like you to come offer this service at a reasonable cost then I dont mind modding it.
haha. where do you stay? got soldering iron? what is a reasonable cost to you? maybe talk over PM.

alanseah

There have been some recent irobot service lapses...wonder what is happening there...I sent a second enquiry also no reply:

http://www.roombareview.com/chat/viewtopic.php?t=7913

Well mine I call and they gave me an email to confirm my in-warranty exchange and told me it will ship within 2~4 working day and yesterday is the 4 working day and still no news of shipping and then I recieve an email from another CS saying it will ship in another 5~6 working day pengz...

alanseah

haha. where do you stay? got soldering iron? what is a reasonable cost to you? maybe talk over PM.

lolz... me staying at sengkang and no I dont have soldering iron... and I don't mind paying 10 per charger lei... since I will have 2 old roomba discover chargers, one 5xx series roomba and one 380 scooba

dankoo

Ya...was reading lots of unhappy complaints on replacements at that thread....I cant even get pass the stage for them to sent me a replacement.....

alanseah

Ya...was reading lots of unhappy complaints on replacements at that thread....I cant even get pass the stage for them to sent me a replacement.....

you got try give them a call? Cause I find that if you email them very hard to have them give you a replacement one. It will be so much easier to just call and tell them the problem and tell them u try everything that they had told you and what you can find in irobot website and it is confirm not working then they will sure give you a replacement one.

croc1977

hey...if someonre know how to solder...i rather pay abit to have that service....BUT must confirm can work lah....

dankoo

you got try give them a call? Cause I find that if you email them very hard to have them give you a replacement one. It will be so much easier to just call and tell them the problem and tell them u try everything that they had told you and what you can find in irobot website and it is confirm not working then they will sure give you a replacement one.

I called. Ask me how many beeps lah.....I am thinking of calling again...

alanseah

I called. Ask me how many beeps lah.....I am thinking of calling again...

If your one is the roomba 4xx series then just tell them the robot can't more or whatever serious reason. Cause for roomba 4xx series you no long need to ship back before they give you a new one.

jc777

lolz... me staying at sengkang and no I dont have soldering iron... and I don't mind paying 10 per charger lei... since I will have 2 old roomba discover chargers, one 5xx series roomba and one 380 scooba
wah, you got so many irobots at home, fighting war with the dusty and litter at your home ah? very power leh.

jc777

hey...if someonre know how to solder...i rather pay abit to have that service....BUT must confirm can work lah....
confirm can work, but cannot give guarantee 100% nothing will happen. what i can say is that i have done that on my own power adapter and it works fine :)

in fact, looking at lasik, those four-eyed surgeons dont even want to do it themselves for the minute 0.1%(?) risk that complication might happen. probably they can confirm lasik can work but cannot guarantee 100% nothing will happen. so it is how the receiver managed their risk.

dankoo

If your one is the roomba 4xx series then just tell them the robot can't more or whatever serious reason. Cause for roomba 4xx series you no long need to ship back before they give you a new one.

Called again and had a small argument with them. Just to let the rest be aware, do not let them know that your roomba/scooba is out of US. THe CS rep was abt to sent out a replacement when they checked and could tell that I was calling from SGP (I guess it is the caller ID) and straight away insisted warranty void cos set is taken out of US :s27: Also insist that I have to contact their international office but could not tell me where and keep asking me to check their website??:s16:

So to all who needs repalcement in future: Use a phone that does not reveal you no. or better still get someone in US to do it for you!

alanseah

Called again and had a small argument with them. Just to let the rest be aware, do not let them know that your roomba/scooba is out of US. THe CS rep was abt to sent out a replacement when they checked and could tell that I was calling from SGP (I guess it is the caller ID) and straight away insisted warranty void cos set is taken out of US :s27: Also insist that I have to contact their international office but could not tell me where and keep asking me to check their website??:s16:

So to all who needs repalcement in future: Use a phone that does not reveal you no. or better still get someone in US to do it for you!

hmm sorry to heard that. For me I'm using starhub 018 which is a VOIP service which maybe it never review my HP number for instead the re-directed number in USA. Anyway I tell them the my address in USA (which is comgateway/vpost) and then I go ahead and tell them I'm currently out of country for business need and won't return till few month later and my wife back home at USA will help me settle the things that irobot required e.g. receive the goods and then pack the roomba and mail back to irobot etcs...

And I go through without any problem.

Maybe you can try your luck tonite again and call them again. If they say your call is oversea then tell them you out of country for business trip or ects... then your wife will help you settle the roomba in USA. ;)

alanseah

wah, you got so many irobots at home, fighting war with the dusty and litter at your home ah? very power leh.

lolz...:s13: ya lor..my house facing an empty land and not far from there having construction plus wind blowing quite dusty. Beside my home got ppls whole day long so I set my 4xx series roomba to run in the morning then afternoon 2 plus the 5xx roomba will have it run. Then evening come back home I will set my scooba wild.

Now still waiting for my in-warranty discovery roomba to ship in then I got 1 extra roomba, which I'm still considering to run it or not. If not I will keep in store for backup.;)

alanseah

confirm can work, but cannot give guarantee 100% nothing will happen. what i can say is that i have done that on my own power adapter and it works fine :)

in fact, looking at lasik, those four-eyed surgeons dont even want to do it themselves for the minute 0.1%(?) risk that complication might happen. probably they can confirm lasik can work but cannot guarantee 100% nothing will happen. so it is how the receiver managed their risk.

Well talking about lasik cause my wife is an eye nurse. She told me why the surgeons prefer not to do lasik on their eye is because lasik might cause hallow to some people which if the surgeons got hallow after lasik it is almost impossible for them to carry out operation cause when they look into the microscope the hallow will blur their vision.

It got nothing to do with failure of lasik lor =:p but of coz come to operation nobody can give you 100% success also.

croc1977

Is mY roomba really ship?

Your iRobot.com order has shipped
customerservice@irobot.com to me
show details 10:44 PM (11 hours ago) Reply

Dear

We're pleased to inform you that the following item(s) from order have been

shipped. Your credit card has now been charged for the item(s) that have shipped, plus any
applicable sales tax.

(Note: If there are items in your order that are not listed below, they
have not been shipped. Once these items are shipped, you will receive a
similar e-mail notification. You will not be charged for any items
until they have shipped.)

VIEW YOUR SHIPMENT STATUS
The link below will supply you with the most recent shipment status.:s12:
Please allow up to (1) hour from the time you receive this e-mail for
your order information to update on our website.
http://Store.iRobot.com/checkout/

Shipping Address:

8548 NE Alderwood Road
Portland Oregon
Portland, Oregon, OR 97220

Your shipment includes the following item(s):

Item: 53001
Description: Roomba 530
Quantity: 1 @ $239.99

Item: 82001
Description: 500 Series Brush Pack
Quantity: 1 @ $31.99

If your item(s) require multiple packages, your order will be shipped
in multiple packages and our website will provide you with information
about the status of each package. Your total shipping charges for this
order will not exceed the amount shown in the above order summary.
Please retain a copy of this e-mail for your records

For answers to questions about your order, please visit the Customer
Service area of our website at http://Store.iRobot.com/helpdesk/.

Thank you for shopping at iRobot.com

Sincerely,

iRobot.com
Customer Service

Please note: This e-mail message was sent from a notification-only
system that cannot accept incoming e-mail. Please do not reply to this
message.

PS: REally ship boh? that means they already charge my C.C? can adivce? so info i edit out due to confidential:

jc777

Well talking about lasik cause my wife is an eye nurse. She told me why the surgeons prefer not to do lasik on their eye is because lasik might cause hallow to some people which if the surgeons got hallow after lasik it is almost impossible for them to carry out operation cause when they look into the microscope the hallow will blur their vision.

It got nothing to do with failure of lasik lor =:p but of coz come to operation nobody can give you 100% success also.
oic. think it is myth that eye surgeons shun lasik for the risk of operations. interesting. so your wife work in which eye centre? got discount? haha.

alanseah

Your iRobot.com order has shipped
customerservice@irobot.com to me
show details 10:44 PM (11 hours ago) Reply

Dear

We're pleased to inform you that the following item(s) from order have been

shipped. Your credit card has now been charged for the item(s) that have shipped, plus any
applicable sales tax.

(Note: If there are items in your order that are not listed below, they
have not been shipped. Once these items are shipped, you will receive a
similar e-mail notification. You will not be charged for any items
until they have shipped.)

VIEW YOUR SHIPMENT STATUS
The link below will supply you with the most recent shipment status.:s12:
Please allow up to (1) hour from the time you receive this e-mail for
your order information to update on our website.
http://Store.iRobot.com/checkout/

Shipping Address:

8548 NE Alderwood Road VP00231
Portland Oregon VP0023115
Portland, Oregon, OR 97220

Your shipment includes the following item(s):

Item: 53001
Description: Roomba 530
Quantity: 1 @ $239.99

Item: 82001
Description: 500 Series Brush Pack
Quantity: 1 @ $31.99

If your item(s) require multiple packages, your order will be shipped
in multiple packages and our website will provide you with information
about the status of each package. Your total shipping charges for this
order will not exceed the amount shown in the above order summary.
Please retain a copy of this e-mail for your records

For answers to questions about your order, please visit the Customer
Service area of our website at http://Store.iRobot.com/helpdesk/.

Thank you for shopping at iRobot.com

Sincerely,

iRobot.com
Customer Service

Please note: This e-mail message was sent from a notification-only
system that cannot accept incoming e-mail. Please do not reply to this
message.

PS: REally ship boh? that means they already charge my C.C? can adivce? so info i edit out due to confidential:

nice nice then it should reach you before CNY. Hmm 530 then I presume you dont need the scheduling. For me I prefer the scheduling cause too lazy to go press it and let it run everyday :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.