[Official cycling thread]

rockdhop

a seal is sth that prevents oil leak right?but if i dont see any oil leaking leh,can i assume its well,hence continue to ride on until i see leaking?

else whats the duration to change and how much is the damage?

TheoDR

a seal is sth that prevents oil leak right?but if i dont see any oil leaking leh,can i assume its well,hence continue to ride on until i see leaking?

else whats the duration to change and how much is the damage?

Hmm, generally, I think get your bike and fork serviced at least once a year or within two years. Should be about $60 for bike or fork, depends on how much the individual bike shops charge.

nutZkcas

OK guys ~

I need help ... I'm torn between the Anthem 2 and the XTC Alliance ...

Can anyone advice me on what to go for ?

rockdhop

hey i think the anthem 2 is good.i find that nowadays hor,a FS is like a all to do bike.you can use it for all conditions lor.

but the maintenace part..im not so sure.maybe theo or pew can share with us what sort of maintenance does a FS and a HT need?maybe a detailed one so that we can be assure what to consider

nutZkcas

Pew is the one that recco me the XTC, "More bang for buck" thats what he said ... and the bling factor ...
The anthem is fast and nimble (according to reviews) ... and I think it would be more comfy for my back as i had a little back problem since young ...

Will need more comments ... Still have a long way to go until zero hour ...

pew

Pew is the one that recco me the XTC, "More bang for buck" thats what he said ... and the bling factor ...
The anthem is fast and nimble (according to reviews) ... and I think it would be more comfy for my back as i had a little back problem since young ...

Will need more comments ... Still have a long way to go until zero hour ...

http://www.taycycle.com.sg/2008/bike_giant_anthem_2.shtml

http://www.taycycle.com.sg/2008/bike_giant_xtc_a0_d.shtml

Comparing between these 2 with a similar price bracket, the HT comes with LX, XT components and FOX F100 Fork and the bling bling of carbon seatstay for greater stiffness.
HT will offer greater peddling efficiency without the bob of the rear shock. And of cuz, the HT is alot lighter.

For the FS, it offers greater traction offroad (can afford to bash through more things without flying off ur bike) RP2 even with pro pedal on, it will still bob especially when meshing, so onroad will be slower especially climbing.

tecnica

Comparing between these 2 with a similar price bracket, the HT comes with LX, XT components and FOX F100 Fork and the bling bling of carbon seatstay for greater stiffness.
HT will offer greater peddling efficiency without the bob of the rear shock. And of cuz, the HT is alot lighter.

For the FS, it offers greater traction offroad (can afford to bash through more things without flying off ur bike) RP2 even with pro pedal on, it will still bob especially when meshing, so onroad will be slower especially climbing.
yeah... i notice i can pull away faster on my HT then my fren FS s-work M5... on the road, i also find accelerating harder on the s-work even though its rear shock is locked out...

offroad, some bumps can throw me off the saddle.. :s22:

TheoDR

bro,you riding anthem 1 meh?i thot was anthem 2?
Mine's an Anthem 1, but using Anthem 2 frame as Tay only had the 2 in Large size :p

Hmm, the Anthem on flat ground can't feel any bobbing, visually also don't see the shock compressing at all unless got bump :crazy:

TheoDR

Hehehe, my Anthem 1 currently weighs in at 27lbs, looking forward to upgrading wheelset to bring it down to 26lbs or lower :evil: (1kg = 2.2lbs)

10052008882.jpg

10052008884.jpg

10052008885.jpg

TheoDR

My Giant NRS with more or less the same parts, but lighter wheelset was 28lbs :eek:

rockdhop

theo,today never go ecp arh?i went cycling today hoping to spot a anthem.but what i spotted was this trek FS.cool man...ang moh damn rich sia

pew

Mine's an Anthem 1, but using Anthem 2 frame as Tay only had the 2 in Large size :p

Hmm, the Anthem on flat ground can't feel any bobbing, visually also don't see the shock compressing at all unless got bump :crazy:

How bout cranking uphill?

rockdhop

pew can share what are the necessary servicing/maintenance needed for a FS?please tell me what are those that really die die must service part and those that can skip one...

TheoDR

pew can share what are the necessary servicing/maintenance needed for a FS?please tell me what are those that really die die must service part and those that can skip one...

Maint for FS will probably be the rear shock and checking of the pivot points. Might require changing of the pivot bearings/bushings after a few years depending on your riding style.

pew

Hehehe, my Anthem 1 currently weighs in at 27lbs, looking forward to upgrading wheelset to bring it down to 26lbs or lower :evil: (1kg = 2.2lbs)

10052008882.jpg

10052008884.jpg

10052008885.jpg

Save 1 pound probably quite easy.

Change the tires (stock wire bead tires weigh a ton my guess 700gms per piece?) I just changed to a pair of Maxxis Ignitor 1.95 exception series stated weight 505 gms per piese, but actual weight 450-480gms)

Take away the reflectors on the wheels, (maybe 20-30gms)

Change rim tape to Velo plugs (save more than 50gms)

Change grips to Titec Pork Rinds (Can save almost 100gms)

TheoDR

Save 1 pound probably quite easy.

Change the tires (stock wire bead tires weigh a ton my guess 700gms per piece?) I just changed to a pair of Maxxis Ignitor 1.95 exception series stated weight 505 gms per piese, but actual weight 450-480gms)

Take away the reflectors on the wheels, (maybe 20-30gms)

Change rim tape to Velo plugs (save more than 50gms)

Change grips to Titec Pork Rinds (Can save almost 100gms)

Oooo haha ok will try, thanks! :D Any idea how good the Panaracer Fire XC Pros are?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.