HoNg KoNg TrIp...Hooray!!~~

juuzbe

Hi Fritters,
if taking their airport express, 3 adults' and 2 children's fare already cost >HK$400, not mentioning need to transfer to other lines to reach Mongkok. Heard the cab from airport to town will be about HK$300 only leh. Not sure if it's true. Hope those who had taken cabs from airport to Mongkok lately can advise.

travmufc

Airbus is the cheapest way but do note you have to carry your heavy luggages up the bus, and lift it into their limited luggage cage space...girls would already find difficulty, not to mention the elderly or young kids. The guys in the family/travelling group have to help...

For Macau, there are free shuttle buses to the various hotel casinos provided at the shuttle bus terminal near the ferry...not obliged to visit the casinos after the ride so you can reach the town center and back easily this way!

juuzbe

we intend to travel light, hence probably luggage size should be manageable.

Thanks, travmufc, for the macau info. will search the web about these shutter services. Still not sure how many casinos are there in macau also... =:p

Jataro

will search the web about these shutter services. Still not sure how many casinos are there in macau also... =:p

Just target casinos with free shuttles, Sands, Venetian, Lisboa. Since u going w family sh target Venetian. R u staying 1 nite there? with kids I don't go macau yet!!

juuzbe

Still thinking of going Macau or not. Purpose is just to look see look see the casinos, no gambling, hence won't be staying a night. However, feel unsafe leh, bring kids along.... My intention is to bring my MIL to see also loh, since already come all the way to HK. I wanna see the difference of this Venetian, compared to the Vegas one.

juuzbe

By the way, the casinos nearby one another? are they within walking distance within one another?

travmufc

Sands, Lisboa, Wynn and MGM are next to each other near to town area...Venetian is away from them, need to take their shuttle bus there..

Suggested itineary...

1) From Macau jetty, take the Lisboa shuttle bus to Grand Lisboa (nearest to town center)...visit town center (Ruins wall, Portugese egg tarts, a few churches, shopping, lunch...) and casinos till about 3pm...

2) Walk to MGM to take shuttle bus back to jetty...from jetty take bus to Venetian (Lisboa requires u to gamble to take their shuttle back)

3) Dinner at Venetian then catch last ferry back to HK at 8pm or 8.30pm (have to leave ard 7pm, bus journey to jetty abt 30 mins)

It will be a rushed day...but I feel Macau is worth to visit...not just for the casinos (Vegas is much much nicer)...but also to visit and walk ard the town center...

Jataro

However, feel unsafe leh, bring kids along.... My intention is to bring my MIL to see also loh, since already come all the way to HK. I wanna see the difference of this Venetian, compared to the Vegas one.
Hi juuzbe

Macau is very safe after 1999 when China took over. If you been to Vegas, Macau is still way behind except gambling. Sands & co. bring some glamour to Macau.

Ferry is 24 hrs, so if ur kids can stay late and don't whine, then going there no problem loh.

Ur MIL might like it as Macau has heritage status ie rustic past, old building and a lot slower pace than hk.

Bus, cab, food also a lot cheaper than hk or sg.

juuzbe

Hi travmufc & Jataro,
thank you so much for the guidance and advice. If ferry is 24hr at least will not worry for missing the ferry. Ya me been to macau once in year 1996 Nov from HK, had a bad experience. That time we kana pesterd by someone to take their transport service, and also almost kana con by him at the medical hall for some tonic goods.... hence is always skeptical about this place.

Ya me been to Vegas once for biz purpose 4yrs ago, and love Venetian & Caesars there. The places are beautiful. Did not have a chance to visit MGM or Lynnx that time. But if don't gamble there's nothing much to do there. Shopping and makans are so expensive. :(

I believe Venetian in Macau is as beautiful except smaller nia.... Going to find out more about this Macau, if miss this time, maybe will keep it for next trip if there's chance then. Once again thanks for all the valuable advice. :)

Jataro

Hi travmufc & Jataro,
thank you so much for the guidance and advice. If ferry is 24hr at least will not worry for missing the ferry. Ya me been to macau once in year 1996 Nov from HK, had a bad experience. That time we kana pesterd by someone to take their transport service, and also almost kana con by him at the medical hall for some tonic goods.... hence is always skeptical about this place.

Ya me been to Vegas once for biz purpose 4yrs ago, and love Venetian & Caesars there. The places are beautiful.

Even my relatives in HK don't trust these small medical halls. Shopping can be cheap but is it good? My advice is always to buy only if you know the product well.

Heard that Venetian is the biggest casino and second biggest building in the world. Wasn't open/TOP when I was there.

s7460597

Even my relatives in HK don't trust these small medical halls. Shopping can be cheap but is it good? My advice is always to buy only if you know the product well.

Heard that Venetian is the biggest casino and second biggest building in the world. Wasn't open/TOP when I was there.

Shop for what?

Venetian is big but out of the way. Asides from the casino, the shops there are high end. There's a food court which is interesting but not cheap.

If time is limited go to the new Lisboa, MGM Grand and Sands which are near each other. Also nearer to Senado Square. Suggest take a walk there and explore the side streets. There's lots of interest food. Can get the famous pork bun everywhere. There's a street filled with souvenir shops selling the portuguese egg tart which are delicious, almond biscuits and bak kwa. IMHO this is the most interesting part of Macau.

juuzbe

that time the driver wanna ask to help buy some tonics, say for his mum or what... say only tourists can have discount price, wanna use our passport to prove. When there, he choose his items, then suddenly say not enough cash wor, wanna us to help use credit card to pay then he go withdraw and pay us... of course we didn't fall into the trap lah... so lucky. Also remember went into one of their casino, forgotten what name liao... wow! so smoky and sleezy feel.. since then thought all their casinos is as such! =:p think Genting's better than them. Maybe after their 1997 return they could have improved alot bah...

Ya walking along their streets the feel is different. Seems simpler and nice... especially looking at those street shops... not as 'rowdy' as HK's.

travmufc

Hi travmufc & Jataro,

Ya me been to Vegas once for biz purpose 4yrs ago, and love Venetian & Caesars there. The places are beautiful. Did not have a chance to visit MGM or Lynnx that time. But if don't gamble there's nothing much to do there. Shopping and makans are so expensive. :(

I believe Venetian in Macau is as beautiful except smaller nia.... Going to find out more about this Macau, if miss this time, maybe will keep it for next trip if there's chance then. Once again thanks for all the valuable advice. :)

No prob at all...I really enjoyed my recent HK-Macau F&E trip so its a pleasure to recount my experiences...

If I am not wrong, the ferry for later departures after 8.30pm is only available on weekends and public holidays. I know for sure when I was there on a weekday the last departure was 8.30pm. Maybe there are other services...Best is to confirm when at the terminal buying your tics.

Must know exactly where and how u are planning to travel in Macau so that u can basically ignore all the touters outside the ferry terminal.

I've been to Vegas and Macau on holiday trips...Vegas hotels and casinos are more impressive...Macau's Venetian is almost a carbon copy of the Vegas except maybe bigger in size...

By shopping, I also mean the food stuffs at the town center area (stalls are near the Ruins of St Paul's - Macau's most famous landmark and a must visit)...can buy back some stuff back home for friends and family...

Jataro

No prob at all...I really enjoyed my recent HK-Macau F&E trip so its a pleasure to recount my experiences...

If I am not wrong, the ferry for later departures after 8.30pm is only available on weekends and public holidays. I know for sure when I was there on a weekday the last departure was 8.30pm.
Just check their website again, Turborjet still has 24 hr service:
http://www.turbojet.com.hk/eng/schedule/prd.html

Which terminal you took from, Kowloon side or HK island side. Wedsite also didn't mention the 2 terminals.

I think after certain time, the ferry only travel to Hk side at Shun Tak bldg only. Frequency also lesser.

There is a new ferry service offer by Sands co which does not exist while I was there.

travmufc

Just check their website again, Turborjet still has 24 hr service:
http://www.turbojet.com.hk/eng/schedule/prd.html

Which terminal you took from, Kowloon side or HK island side. Wedsite also didn't mention the 2 terminals.

I think after certain time, the ferry only travel to Hk side at Shun Tak bldg only. Frequency also lesser.

There is a new ferry service offer by Sands co which does not exist while I was there.

Took from TST, Kowloon.

Jataro

Took from TST, Kowloon.

Correct then, 24 hrs is for HK-Macau Terminal at Shun Tak, HK island. TST terminal is called China Ferry Terminal which is not the main terminal for Macau. That's why only weekends then have 24 hr service.

Now remember my last trip back to HK from Macau. Reached Shun Tak and have to take mtr back to TST side.

One thing they don't tell us the timing and schedule for the HK 2 terminals.

leroyegreat

Hi may i know the macau age limit for casinos? i'm 20 now planning a trip with my gf to HK around december. if cannot go in the casinos i might as well skip the place altogether.

THKS =)

travmufc

Hi may i know the macau age limit for casinos? i'm 20 now planning a trip with my gf to HK around december. if cannot go in the casinos i might as well skip the place altogether.

THKS =)

I think 21? They do not check as u enter...just random spot checks if u are young looking and walking ard the casinos...anway, the casinos are not closed concept...can have a good look from outside or higher levels one...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.