Vietnam

wai

Just bring SGD and change at the airport once u touch down vietnam

the money changer with longest queue give the best rate. i got about 1:11100

didnt bother to change to USD cos it is so expensive now, you will lose on the exchange rate TWICE if bring USD there and change to dong.

i will prefer to pay everything in dong cos it is easier to bargain compare to USD IMO :D

BTW, stuff around ben thanh market are not really cheap cos it is mainly for tourist, just take a bus to china town binh tay market and u get more choice at half the price.

but binh tay market is more for locals/reseller who buy in bulk, so they are not very willing to sell to tourist in small quantity, the price there is cheap enough so cannot really bargain much.

personally, i bought a bag at 1/3 the price compare to ben thanh market.

portal28

hi everyone, I'm going for the first time to Vietnam from 8-12 Dec. Gonna land in HCMC and am toying with the idea of flying to Danang for the first 2+ days and spend the rest of the time back in HCMC. Is 2 days too short to spend in HCMC esp that it's my first time there?

Techadd

hi everyone, I'm going for the first time to Vietnam from 8-12 Dec. Gonna land in HCMC and am toying with the idea of flying to Danang for the first 2+ days and spend the rest of the time back in HCMC. Is 2 days too short to spend in HCMC esp that it's my first time there?

your schedule would look like this

Day 1 SAIGON-DANANG
DAY 2 DANANG-HUE-HOI AN-DANANG?
DAY 3 DANANG - SAIGON?
DAY 4 SAIGON
DAY 5 SAIGON - SINGAPORE

Imo, the schedule is not advisable, firstly Danang is a industrial city, nothing much to see there except for some nice beaches which Hoi An has which is better, but Hoi An Hotels can be expensive at this period of time.
Tourist attractions are located in Hoi An 30mins from Danang, Hue - an hour and half from Hoi An..taking into the transfer time , it would leave you with little to actually savour the moments in Hue and Hoi An's Ancient Town.

Back to Saigon, 2days for first time travellers are also limited time as cuchi tour would take you half a day, mekong tour, a full day, leaving you little time to explore saigon city by foot..and shopping.

pyw_BXS

Just bring SGD and change at the airport once u touch down vietnam

the money changer with longest queue give the best rate. i got about 1:11100

didnt bother to change to USD cos it is so expensive now, you will lose on the exchange rate TWICE if bring USD there and change to dong.

i will prefer to pay everything in dong cos it is easier to bargain compare to USD IMO :D

BTW, stuff around ben thanh market are not really cheap cos it is mainly for tourist, just take a bus to china town binh tay market and u get more choice at half the price.

but binh tay market is more for locals/reseller who buy in bulk, so they are not very willing to sell to tourist in small quantity, the price there is cheap enough so cannot really bargain much.

personally, i bought a bag at 1/3 the price compare to ben thanh market.

Wow. tt's real insightful... Hmm can advice on how to get to the chinatown market from dist 1? Like wad bus to take? Hehe. Thanks! ;)

milkz86

My friends were asking if there are any vaccinations needed, say typhoid or malaria?

Personally I feel at best malaria. But what say you people?

ahkwan

My friends were asking if there are any vaccinations needed, say typhoid or malaria?

Personally I feel at best malaria. But what say you people?

lol, vietnam not that serious lah but it depends the place u are going... if u are in city or wat, jus eat carefully and buy mineral water... no need any vaccinations...

adrian_tango

lol, vietnam not that serious lah but it depends the place u are going... if u are in city or wat, jus eat carefully and buy mineral water... no need any vaccinations...

lol..very true la..many people still have the impression of hcmc like kampong =:p
even though their infrastructure is still behind us but when you visit window cafe 4, you'll be surprise to see many modern men & women :s8: plus their apple iphone.

Enjoy!

ahkwan

Sure, if i visit hcmc again will PM you for lim kopi session ;)

Enjoy!

lol, i shift house liao... no more hotel... staying in bungalow now... sibei shiok...

now hcmc quite shiok sia, i love it more than singapore... best thing is u can see that iphone is quite common here but other brands are quite lagging behing... food here is freaking cheap lah...

sg_yop

is it advisable/necessary to bring USD to Vietnam trip? What are the places or services that usually requires/better to use USD?

RSKeisuke

can recommend cheap and clean hotel in HCMC? how much cash is needed for a 3 day trip.. just for food and massage. no shopping.

xcloudz

does anyone know what is the current rate of exchange frm SGD to Dong? I have friends saying it is only 10500 in singapore. is it really that low nowadays?

Also, anyone has any lobang on where to change in singapore?

lawjk

I'm planning to go hcm and mekong delta. How many days is recommended. I prefer free and easy no tour or maybe just short tour package instead of all fixed.

I'm thinking 6D5N backpack.

adrian_tango

lol, i shift house liao... no more hotel... staying in bungalow now... sibei shiok...

now hcmc quite shiok sia, i love it more than singapore... best thing is u can see that iphone is quite common here but other brands are quite lagging behing... food here is freaking cheap lah...

Wah..you very the lucky leh...haha..good for you. May i know which district (quan 1-12) you are staying now?

Yeah, i did saw many em gaisss carry a iphone too but some are made in china(haha) and many of their iphone they bought from SG lah.

Enjoy!

ahkwan

Wah..you very the lucky leh...haha..good for you. May i know which district (quan 1-12) you are staying now?

Yeah, i did saw many em gaisss carry a iphone too but some are made in china(haha) and many of their iphone they bought from SG lah.

Enjoy!

lol... okok lah... district phu nhuan... opposite got 1 big supermarket...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.