Eczema

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Yunnnn

But like I say, if you are a subsidised patient, then you might get different docs... I think its kind of hard everytime you see different docs and you got to keep explaining your situation all the time...

Private one more expensive, but then again, at least the doc will be able to track your progress...
I don't mind lah personally :s13:~ Anyway that's the treatment you get at Polyclinics all the time, though you can request for specific doctors, I usually don't.

They can check your records on the computer system anyway...and if need to clarify then clarify lor :s22:...

Skyeagle

I don't mind lah personally :s13:~ Anyway that's the treatment you get at Polyclinics all the time, though you can request for specific doctors, I usually don't.

They can check your records on the computer system anyway...and if need to clarify then clarify lor :s22:...

So where are you seeking your treatment from now?

5adisticD3vil

i also tio eczema for a long long time lor
never go away de.

see NSC also no use. all the medications, creams, simi UV treatment, everything tried already..... need to take those strong steriods medication then can tone down. but need to do blood test to monitor the side effect on the liver.
now seeing private doc at geneeagles MC. si beh ex...
now still ok, but when serious dat time, both affected areas si beh jialat... need to keep bandaged up all the time.

Yunnnn

So where are you seeking your treatment from now?

Polyclinics.

I just go there to get the cream everytime I fall ill (for any reason, even when it's just cough, I'll just ask them for another 1-2 tubes of the cream so I don't have to go back specially for eczema).

Skyeagle

never go away de.

see NSC also no use. all the medications, creams, simi UV treatment, everything tried already..... need to take those strong steriods medication then can tone down. but need to do blood test to monitor the side effect on the liver.
now still ok, but when serious dat time, both affected areas si beh jialat... need to keep bandaged up all the time.

Wa... How serious is your eczema? How come need to be bandaged up one during a flare up?

5adisticD3vil

when it flare up, it gets all wet from the infected area.... my case is one of those rare stubborn one.
even the doc is running outta options....

haiz :(

Not Solid Snake

:s13: :s13: :s13:~ we're not doctors here, cannot confirm~ :(
try asking a private doctor or do ur own research~

from what i know, the skin peeling on the toe is different from eczema. when i have eczema, the skin peeling/shedding caused by eczema is totally different from the one on the toe...if we're talking about the same thing...

just to confirm, urs is like the entire piece of skin u can peel out, then its relatively transparent with ur toe prints rite? :s22:...then below will be red red and hurts alot if u press it....

BINGO!!!!:eek::eek:

Yunnnn

BINGO!!!!:eek::eek:
yeah i doubt its eczema.
i have the toe peeling thing in the past also. recently dun have cause i've stopped wearing socks or the likes, but when i wore them, it frequently happens...so if u wear socks try not to and see if this stops? :s22:

the peeling/shedding process of the toe thingy ur talking about here and for eczema is totally different...eczema one is like flakes and the whole piece doesn't come out...

dun worry :s13:~

huhster

i tink u have to keep ur feet clean n dry la...
always change socks

Skyeagle

when it flare up, it gets all wet from the infected area.... my case is one of those rare stubborn one.
even the doc is running outta options....

haiz :(

Care to share what are the names of medications and creams you are taking/ using to keep it under control if its convenient to you?

Cause i know for those stubborn type the medications and creams are more potent.

5adisticD3vil

Care to share what are the names of medications and creams you are taking/ using to keep it under control if its convenient to you?

Cause i know for those stubborn type the medications and creams are more potent.

must pang kang 1st..... now at obbice also cannot remember the name.

post when i get back home

l3golas82

my Achilles area also gotch eczema, so i ish also mush change socks everyday.

good for the shoe (so that it wun smell)
good for the feet (clean clean mah)
good for the person who wash wash (wun smelly smelly)

Skyeagle

u sure its not steroids?

"Dermovate cream is one of a group of medicines called topical steroids."

"Dermovate cream and Dermovate ointment both contain the active ingredient clobetasol propionate, which is a type of medicine called a topical corticosteroid."
http://www.netdoctor.co.uk/medicines/100000729.html

It's what I mentioned in the first post wor...all of such creams are definitely steroids one...haven't heard of one which isn't :s22:

So far, I know there are 2 creams used for Eczema that does not contain steroids. One is called protopic. The other one is called Elidel.

Both are freaking ex and carry risks of skin cancer...

breitling81

As seen from this link, if I'm not wrong, LunasouL is using a mild potency steroid, that's why he's able to buy OTS. I'm prescribed with a moderate steroid leh...if I use a mild one, it might not work on me (ever tried mild one before I believe, doctors usually won't prescribe strong ones from the start...:s13:)

The polyclinic gave me a moderate potency steroid - Betnovate cream 0.025%~ which works quite well for me...so I think its just you bah :)~ It could be that polyclinics cannot dispense high potency steroids for you as ur case requires stronger ones....hence you have to go to NSC~ polyclinic is the first level we all would go for mah :)...

Yah, and I always look out for referrals, go there solo very expensive :s13:~

Perhaps i have already given up hope on polyclinics and the super duper long queue to see a doc really puts me off thoroughly.

I have never since used steriod creams anymore ever since my skin condition had improved alot as the steriod since child till now is alot and thinning my skin quite a fair bit.

breitling81

never go away de.

seems like your case is very similar to mine.. till a point went for UV treatment.. hmm not sure if we are seeing the same skin specialist.. is the doctor by the surname of Tham??? And on Gleneagles level 7??? If so, then we are seeing the same doc :s13::s13:

Bro, do try not to use the steriod creams too much.. i am a living example and how steriod had thinned my skin. Bones are more brittle as well which is now i am on full vitamins supplement to remedy the damages done.

So far primrose oil does helps abit though.. Bottomline, need cool weather and our skin cannot tahan hot and humidity.. sure flare up big time.. tio boh? ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.