Money Saving Techniques

3sth3r

every end of mth, i will withdraw $150 for the following month. of which, $100 i will change to ringgit for petrol in jb. remaining $50 is for food and other expenses. lunch is usually sandwich from home. so if i foresee any expenses next mth or wat, i will try and save tht $50. i find this method better than tracking my expenses every mth. its like giving myself pocket money, finish spending means gg, wait for next mth.

mensan

every end of mth, i will withdraw $150 for the following month. of which, $100 i will change to ringgit for petrol in jb. remaining $50 is for food and other expenses. lunch is usually sandwich from home. so if i foresee any expenses next mth or wat, i will try and save tht $50. i find this method better than tracking my expenses every mth. its like giving myself pocket money, finish spending means gg, wait for next mth.

hehe... this was the method I used to have as a student! I'd get my monthly pocket money and then parcel it out into savings and 4 weekly budgets.

I'm amazed that you can tahan with just $50 a month for food and misc expenses. I assume that bills and necessities are not counted in your $150 budget. My uni pocket money was already double that... which at $10/day was rather average, even close to 20 years ago.

henrylbh

Even my 82 yo dad can hardly survive with 400 pm that I give.

The_Davis

how much you guys spend on transport ?

be it bus/mrt/taxi/car

3sth3r

hehe... this was the method I used to have as a student! I'd get my monthly pocket money and then parcel it out into savings and 4 weekly budgets.

I'm amazed that you can tahan with just $50 a month for food and misc expenses. I assume that bills and necessities are not counted in your $150 budget. My uni pocket money was already double that... which at $10/day was rather average, even close to 20 years ago.

well my hp is a company ph, so no hp bills. i help pay cable for family, abt $60/mth. my season parking is $70/mth cos its an open carpark cheaper. insurance $100/mth. So basically thats all the bills i gotta pay. Necessities like er makeup? is from that $50/mth. I packed lunch for work, so food expenses is brought to a minimum.

3sth3r

Even my 82 yo dad can hardly survive with 400 pm that I give.

My dad also cant cope with the 500 pm i give, i guess its cos it cos i m a parasite, staying wif em, eat their food and etc. haha!

3sth3r

be it bus/mrt/taxi/car

for me its about $100 for transport every mth, i drive and i gotta move ard for my job. So hw i cope its that i pump in jb, super (octane 97) cost $1.80rm per litre. I usually managed to pump about 24litres in. deducting toll and everythg it is still worth in, i drive in normally during weekdays daytime say lunch time, and traffic is free flowing, total duration in and out is jus half an hr to an hr stretch. When driving try to slowly accelerate, dun cut lanes and etc, keep to 2k rpm, abt 70-80km/hr, when driving alone and nt feeling warm dun on aircon, when feeling warm but driving at below 60km/hr also no need on aircon, wind dwn window is ok, cos aerodynamic think nt so great. try not to put too many unneccessary barang barang in car. also plan ur trips properly, if dunno directions pls look at the map and plan ur route, dun waste petrol circling ard. cheers.

The_Davis

$100 is excluding monthly cost of car?

anyway i'm taking train 1 way to and fro work. about 3 per day.

i think i might change to bus and walk a bit more to cut to < $2 per day

yellow_pen

be it bus/mrt/taxi/car

for bus/mrt, it is around $40 per month.

As for taxi, it doesn't cost a cent cos i can claim...haha
but there's a limit also...so i will still need to take bus/mrt...or else, i will claim all the way!

3sth3r

$100 is excluding monthly cost of car?

anyway i'm taking train 1 way to and fro work. about 3 per day.

i think i might change to bus and walk a bit more to cut to < $2 per day

oh, i had already paid up for it, so not paying installment. if the car is not a neccessity, then pls do not purchase a car. if u die die need a car for work, choose a basic car, no need big big and zoom zoom, just a basic car. but also note, unless u r the super humble wun envy others at all type, then dun buy a QQ or watever lowest end model in the market, cos u will grow v resentful of it and keep wanting to change, choose somethg modest but at the same time nt "chui" then u wun keep having the urge to change. When comes to car loans, i dunno if the flexiloan from dbs is still available, cos thts wat i chose when i first bought my car. minimum loan amt is 45k, i manage to get free leather seats. If you can down more for the car, u can down the rest before ur 1st installment comes, this way no interest is incurred and u still get ur free leather seats. And the best thg is there is no penalty when u finished paying ur loan early, this way with all the money saving techniques learnt in this thread, u can faster pay off ur car loan and lead a debt free lifestyle. But those who knws how to invest will say i m dumb, they rather pay interest and have their money park elsewhere and earn more money.

sneggg

i set aside 300 every mth for exp. transport is abt 80. daily food n weekend exp is abt 220. normally i will still use slighty more den 300, still looking for ways to reduce spending.

victor_04

anyone DIY a rainwater flushing toilet system? Instead of using rainwater, we can fill up with water from washing machine. And then, the water is used to flush the toilet bowl through the DIY system.

Al-Jay

anyone DIY a rainwater flushing toilet system? Instead of using rainwater, we can fill up with water from washing machine. And then, the water is used to flush the toilet bowl through the DIY system.
Only do so on weekends for washing the kitchen floor and toilet. Weekdays will not collect cos the water tend to smell after a day or two.

Arbalest

For those who want to buy books at good prices:

-Watch out for the National Library's annual book sale @ expo (Some of the books are really worn, but there are also those in good condition and they can go for a song)

-Stake out Carrefour.. they have these 5 dollar book sales. Mostly fiction though.. good for those who aren't too fussy and just want something to make them sleep on the way home. :s13:

quekky

for me its about $100 for transport every mth, i drive and i gotta move ard for my job. So hw i cope its that i pump in jb, super (octane 97) cost $1.80rm per litre. I usually managed to pump about 24litres in. deducting toll and everythg it is still worth in, i drive in normally during weekdays daytime say lunch time, and traffic is free flowing, total duration in and out is jus half an hr to an hr stretch. When driving try to slowly accelerate, dun cut lanes and etc, keep to 2k rpm, abt 70-80km/hr, when driving alone and nt feeling warm dun on aircon, when feeling warm but driving at below 60km/hr also no need on aircon, wind dwn window is ok, cos aerodynamic think nt so great. try not to put too many unneccessary barang barang in car. also plan ur trips properly, if dunno directions pls look at the map and plan ur route, dun waste petrol circling ard. cheers.
$100 include ERP, parking, tax?
if it is that cheap, i go learn driving and buy a car liao.

now i spending above $100 a month on bus/mrt
bus from my home to office is $1.64 each trip. If i take bus+mrt will be $2.05 now, but no seats (but maybe I can choose this route in april to save $0.12)

3sth3r

$100 include ERP, parking, tax?
if it is that cheap, i go learn driving and buy a car liao.

now i spending above $100 a month on bus/mrt
bus from my home to office is $2.04 each trip. If i take bus+mrt will be $2.05 now, but no seats (but maybe I can choose this route in april to save $0.12)

$100 for petrol only. erp parking can claim from company. tax is abt $400plus a yr, which i dun count into my monthly expenses i withdraw for spending.

3sth3r

dun buy books, jus borrow from library its free and wun take up space at home. magazines also can borrow from library one, no need pay $4 for magazines every mth. but i dun mind paying for self help books,

3sth3r

so did u diy the rainwater flushing toilet system? can share hw? or was it mentioned somewhere in this thread? if it is, just tell me so, i go search for it myself.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.