ACCA Students.

Digiscrapper

Hi, I would like to ask if you are self studying with SAA or FTC's P1 and P3 notes? AP Chee is good for P1 I heard..

There seems to be another lecturer for P3 that's good, however, I cannot remember his name suddenly.

Are there any papers for Level 2 that we can self-study? Or is it better to attend classes?

Hi Scarlet,

For P3, I read up the Kaplan textbook prior to attending Mr Nageb's tutorial class. When he learnt that I was doing self-studying without any class notes, he generously gave me his latest sets of class notes and mindmaps. I subsequently signed up for his revision class and thanks to his encouragement and guidance, I was able to clear this paper :D

Is it Philip Woo? I attended his lectures before... he's not bad, but his notes are always so messy (he tend to give a lot of supplementary notes, but never indicated properly is for which topics)..

I attended lessons for all my Level 2 papers... Didn't dare to do self-study back then, cos my foundation weren't that strong... :p

Digiscrapper

no need to memorise all the reports la~ roughly noe which report is for wat purpose can le~.

eg
which report state the rules for audit committee etc

sg code is definately must memorise deep deep 1! memorise all 13 sections of the code. 1qs 20mk sure on these rules

1 sure qs on ethics too

Wah, I'd better note down these pointers! ;)
Thanks much, Hongge! :)

Biogentic

no need to memorise all the reports la~ roughly noe which report is for wat purpose can le~.

eg
which report state the rules for audit committee etc

sg code is definately must memorise deep deep 1! memorise all 13 sections of the code. 1qs 20mk sure on these rules

1 sure qs on ethics too

thanks, i will heed your advice...

alexyj

hi all just a quick question. which is the best sequence to complete the 14 papers if i am taking p4 and p5 as my options. i was thinking, f1 to 3 together. then the following sem, f4 and f5, followed by f6 and f8, den f7 and f9, den p1 and p2, p3 and p4, den finally p5. thanks all in advance for ur advice

Konnichiwa

Jus some suggestion:
Take F1-F3, if u can cope then f4 together also..if not just F1to F3 first.
Then F4, F7 and F9. Because F9 is unrelated to all papers except F2.
Then F6, F8 and F5. Because it is good to have some F7 knowledge prior to F8.

Just my own point of view.. some may prefer other sequence.
Then the rest of the papers...i dun know which sequence is better.

xueeternity

can i please ask those who is taking F4 for the june 09 exams a question?
do you all think saa's intensive revision course for business law is effective? does it really help or revising by my own is manageble?
and which lecturer for the revision class is better?
Mr adrian hoa or mr tan peng kwee?
the revision classes hours are so long! i wonder would it by difficult to absorb all
in one go...
thanks. =)

choczmint

can i please ask those who is taking F4 for the june 09 exams a question?
do you all think saa's intensive revision course for business law is effective? does it really help or revising by my own is manageble?
and which lecturer for the revision class is better?
Mr adrian hoa or mr tan peng kwee?
the revision classes hours are so long! i wonder would it by difficult to absorb all
in one go...
thanks. =)

hmm i'm taking F4 june 09 exams..
i duno leh..think its good to have revision in saa/kaplan..more or less it helps u recall wat u have learnt if u have not been studying??
i applied for the revision class...its my 1st time taking revision classes too ...just try lor...see if its help...
if you think u can revise on urself, why not? it save $$ too. ex..

royalflash

hmm i'm taking F4 june 09 exams..
i duno leh..think its good to have revision in saa/kaplan..more or less it helps u recall wat u have learnt if u have not been studying??
i applied for the revision class...its my 1st time taking revision classes too ...just try lor...see if its help...
if you think u can revise on urself, why not? it save $$ too. ex..

How much is the revision class in Kaplan?

xetamitlux

Hi all,

I intended to take the Computer Based Exam (CBE) for my F1 paper but I realized all the slot in NTUC as well as SAA were taken up. So, I looked through the ACCA website and saw a school called 'Uptrend Business School'. I hence took the exam at that above mentioned 'school' last Thursday. During the exam, there were NO invigilator, NO other students taking the exam with me. Anyhow, I completed the exam and the person in charge said she'd uploaded the results to ACCA already. According to the ACCA guideline, my results should be updated in 'myACCA' within 72 hours. However, it is not. I tried calling the above school and they said they've already done their part and they can't do anything about it. I called ICPAS and they asked me to get back to the school- pushing the issue here and there. Anyhow, has anyone taken the CBE exam before? How long would it take for the results to be uploaded? Should I be worried as it has been 5 days since I took the exam and the results not uploaded?

Thanks.

Konnichiwa

Just wait another one week more. U got the provisional result slip? If you got it, then no need to worry so much.

xetamitlux

Yap, got the prov result slip printed by them. Anyhow, if my result is uploaded and everything goes well, I'd recommend everyone to take their CBE exams there. No invigilator, no other students taking, you can do whatever you want with whatever there is in your bag.. I wonder how ACCA issues license to CBE centres nowadays.. sigh.. Can you imagine some people study so hard and do well, and others just go to this kind of school and have an open book exam?

Asmi4

hi guys

I have a few questions regarding ACCA. Should i take up ACCA straight, or should i go through CAT?

After i grad from CAT, is it true that i can move forward to ACCA level 2? For me, i totally don't have any experience on accounting. More on ACCA, there are two intakes right, meaning 2 semester. Each semester you can take up to how many papers? How are the lessons like, if i take up two papers. Every lesson i go, do i have to pay ?

Regards

FinalTidus

Can anyone tell me how to pass this freaking P4??? :( I find it so hard to pass.... :( I only left this paper to grad..

Petrelli_83

Yap, got the prov result slip printed by them. Anyhow, if my result is uploaded and everything goes well, I'd recommend everyone to take their CBE exams there. No invigilator, no other students taking, you can do whatever you want with whatever there is in your bag.. I wonder how ACCA issues license to CBE centres nowadays.. sigh.. Can you imagine some people study so hard and do well, and others just go to this kind of school and have an open book exam?

Yeah, understand how it feels. But with the stingy time given, and if you've not studied, i'm not sure how much of a help it is to have your textbook by your side.

Biogentic

can tell me how to study for P1 exam, seriously, i really hate P1, is all about memorising and memorising to me or my method of studying is wrong?...

dark_aLLeY

Yeah, understand how it feels. But with the stingy time given, and if you've not studied, i'm not sure how much of a help it is to have your textbook by your side.

I agreed too. It's all about having a good and strong foundation.

I'm already feeling the heat from F6 and F7. :s22:

Petrelli_83

I agreed too. It's all about having a good and strong foundation.

I'm already feeling the heat from F6 and F7. :s22:

F7 is quite a bit**, the trick is to work fast and work on those questions you're most confident in, first. If you're doing a consolidation and u realize you've left out one or 2 adjustments, as long as they are not so material as to cripple the rest of your calcualtions, safely ignore it and move on. Don't waste ur time trying to balance it. I spent 2 hours doing 2 questions and 1 hour frantically rushing through 3 questions. Ended up with 2 good answers and 1.5 questions worth of ****** up answers. threw away a ton of marks i could've scored.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.