SIM-UOL VS SAA-UOL

duperdonut

i was from saa-uol. i did the first year uol business there part time during my ns days. i stopped after ntu and smu offered me places in their school.

all i can say was its a pleasant environment to study in, more professional as well. i would recommend saa over sim anytime! =D

if u notice, saa wants us to register with uol ourselves via relc while sim does it for their students. as a result, sim students don't receive the uol study guides as well as their past year exam papers booklet if you notice. you can check it out to reconfirm that as well.

huh? we do have our subject guides la..lol, pay uol money and no subject guides.

Mathemagician

SIM is infinitely better than SAA in every respect. The lecturers at SAA are all the ones who left Stansfield who were rejected by SIM. The good ones - Radha, Harris, etc. - were accepted by SIM.

Alan is nice guy, and good for weak students. But those who have even above average intelligence find he is severely lacking. Teo uses Sandra's notes (Sandra from Stansfield) because he can't produce his own. SAA is suing Alan and Teo (because Stansfield is suing SAA) for copyright things about the notes. And the notes were crap in the first place.

The only problem with SIM is that there are so many students, you have to register on-line real early to get the lecturer/time-slot you want. Otherise, the organisation and efficiency puts all other private schools to shame.

If you are doing B.Sc. Accounting and Finance, you should do years 1 and 2 at SIM, and subjects like FR, MA and Auditing at SAA in year 3.

If you are doing any other degree, you should do all three years at SIM.

Wow interesting...

bravogod

hi all , i am a non-business poly graduate studying uol a&f this august .
i want to check if there is any exemption of modules/units ?

duperdonut

hi all , i am a non-business poly graduate studying uol a&f this august .
i want to check if there is any exemption of modules/units ?

absolutely no exemptions for an irrelevant diploma (irrelevant to degree course that is)

invis35

of course sim is better in terms of reputation........sim got so many students and is some thing like the 4 uni of singapore so sure the standard is better i think......but maybe is i very bias towards sim.... is like a lot of people cannot go ntu or nus all that sure usually choose sim first one mah.

nauxuan

i doing bridging at saa. i have this classmate who told me she grad frm tp dip in info tech and she's alllowed to do the bridging as well.

bravogod

i doing bridging at saa. i have this classmate who told me she grad frm tp dip in info tech and she's alllowed to do the bridging as well.
what course u in in poly ? called and ask already , standard 3 year route for me .

goodcareer

SIM is infinitely better than SAA in every respect. The lecturers at SAA are all the ones who left Stansfield who were rejected by SIM. The good ones - Radha, Harris, etc. - were accepted by SIM.

Alan is nice guy, and good for weak students. But those who have even above average intelligence find he is severely lacking. Teo uses Sandra's notes (Sandra from Stansfield) because he can't produce his own. SAA is suing Alan and Teo (because Stansfield is suing SAA) for copyright things about the notes. And the notes were crap in the first place.

The only problem with SIM is that there are so many students, you have to register on-line real early to get the lecturer/time-slot you want. Otherise, the organisation and efficiency puts all other private schools to shame.

If you are doing B.Sc. Accounting and Finance, you should do years 1 and 2 at SIM, and subjects like FR, MA and Auditing at SAA in year 3.

If you are doing any other degree, you should do all three years at SIM.

there every see this thread, this is a very typical jealousy person's mind of deframing SAA because he is studying at SIM. the information above are not 100% true.

i hope there is no bias to any institutions teaching UOL unless there is an official proof of not competency such as stanfield.

hope there is no offensive to anyone here and don't guess which instutition am i studying at, i am studting at SIM UOL. Hope justice can stop any person who said bad and untruth things to deframe any insitution.

Syalcrab

there every see this thread, this is a very typical jealousy person's mind of deframing SAA because he is studying at SIM. the information above are not 100% true.

i hope there is no bias to any institutions teaching UOL unless there is an official proof of no competency such as stanfield.

hope there is no offensive to anyone here and don't guess which instutition am i studying at, i am studting at SIM UOL. Hope justice can stop any person who said bad and untruth things to deframe any insitution.

Totally agreed. I think this person supports mark harris at SIM and hated Mr Seet at SIM also. Dun know why?

i am studying at SAA UOL. Its been smooth sailing here. the admin help us to register for the exam and get refunds from RELC coz earlier RELC cannot confirm the exchange rate. The lecturers and notes are good. We also know that SAA and SIM do share some lecturers. i will also recommend my frens to study at SAA. Of course SIM also can lah. Whats there to fight?

goodcareer

Totally agreed. I think this person supports mark harris at SIM and hated Mr Seet at SIM also. Dun know why?

i am studying at SAA UOL. Its been smooth sailing here. the admin help us to register for the exam and get refunds from RELC coz earlier RELC cannot confirm the exchange rate. The lecturers and notes are good. We also know that SAA and SIM do share some lecturers. i will also recommend my frens to study at SAA. Of course SIM also can lah. Whats there to fight?

which degree are you studying at and which year now?

Syalcrab

PM you already. scared siah. you now already want notes for the 5 units... Me only take 2 papers this year. you sure want my notes? untidy and sometimes short leh. i think some full time students one better coz the other time, i see some of them photocopying along the corridor.

goodcareer

PM you already. because i have to take 5 subjects, so i think i better get some of the subject notes to read earlier before the lecturers teach the topic. Taking 5 UOL subjects is no joking matter, very tough...
just curious, what job are you working as?

KaReNaBoI

hi,
does anyone here if it wld be possible to xfer btwn schs? like for in my case im thinking of xfering from SIM UOL banking and finance to SAA UOL..

possible? and any SAA UOL students here can tell me if their course has started already and whether thr is only part-time or only full time there?

goodcareer

i dont think so =D

student who has 1st class marks in each subject or 1st class student for the degree in AnF, BnF, EnF...etc? that is different consideration. pls define clearly. i know of my friends got 1st class mark Auditing and myself got 1st class mark in CF and FR :)

nwstbz23

student who has 1st class marks in each subject or 1st class student for the degree in AnF, BnF, EnF...etc? that is different consideration. pls define clearly. i know of my friends got 1st class mark Auditing and myself got 1st class mark in CF and FR :)

That is solid,goodcareer! :O

Me this year going to take CF & FR for final year modules,would need your help there :D

I only got a borderline first class marks for audit :s27: (and yes,i am in saa-uol)

Back to question,i don't think saa has released any details to us how many people have a first class honours degree but i do know the highest marks for some units.

goodcareer

That is solid,goodcareer! :O

Me this year going to take CF & FR for final year modules,would need your help there :D

I only got a borderline first class marks for audit :s27: (and yes,i am in saa-uol)

Back to question,i don't think saa has released any details to us how many people have a first class honours degree but i do know the highest marks for some units.

borderline first class mark is still first class, should be happy already.

can you share what are the units and what is the highest marks for that?

nwstbz23

I only know a few units (they didn't release much statistics).I took pobf,audit,isorg & hrm.

Management accounting: 75
Audit & Assurance: ??? (part time class only,90% pass)
ISORG: ??? (only 4 takers last year in saa,part time class only)
Microecons: 70+
Corp Finance: 70+

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.