Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

NWT1978

do anybody know...what is the full name of mr william(to check his passing rate) and how does his teach (like got draw circuit map..)? What car does he use to teach for manual?Thanks!!

is a Mitsubishi lancer when i learnt from him 1-2 year ago...

last time i learnt...first 2-3 lessons... play at carpark and get to know the car and of course registration when done :D

then go drive outside roads :D...either outside cdc change with him till he let he comfort with u driving outside the roads which is more fun than inside circuits...

teach u slowly what to look out for... same as in circuit... he more for outside roads since i wont get bored that easily lol

parking same as teaching u slowly before he went out and let u test out yourself and it fun :D

test routes he got let u drive to each different routes and point out the points to note or areas to note

if u got weak areas... he let u practices till u are ok with it... like slopes or change gears lol =:p

dun know full name of Mr William. He using Mitsuibishi Lancer. Next year getting new Lancer, might be teaching auto.

my wife just took her TP at ubi yesterday. first attempt but failed. she was so angry as she claimed that she did well, even Mr William was confident that she will pass after he gave her 2 hrs training before the test.

heard that these tester got quota to meet, once they hit quota, will start failing students. how true?

dont know....first time hear this too... but heard rumour that the other tests got such criteria :eek:

btw i almost miss out the 2 hrs training before the test as i didnt know got such thing lol :s13:

famnfren

Thanks for replying octacon and NWZT1978...

I was lookng for a pdi for retest..I used Honda Fit for tp..That's why asking the car..i saw that mitubishi lancer got that on top thing abv e car's boot..wonder it block the rear view wind screen vision? cos...i think when i book for my 2nd tp, it will already be in mar slot at cdc which is poleless... -_-"" read from hwz forget which thread..circuit ll up from 22 to 29.. how true is this? was this report in the newspaper? so =(((

Also, need a serious n patient pdi..I'm not a fast learner..TIA~

evon29

YCK PDI

Hi all,
This is urgent....Anyone previously/currently being taught by the private instructor (Auto) Mr Ng tiong Heng (92763427) ? Any feedback ?

Thanks in Advance!!

jacarandas

Hi all,

I am looking for a private instructor to do some refresher driving lessons this month. I got my license in 2005, but I haven't been driving since then. I took my exam in Manual, but would like to switch to Auto instead. I will need to complete the lessons urgently by end of this month as I am relocating next month and will need to refresh my driving skills. Any recommendations will be good and much appreciated! I live in the North-East, i.e. Hougang area. Thank you very much! :)

Cheers

Jinglesss

hi can i check if you guys instructor collect an advance $30 on top of the $50 registration fee?
i was told that the $30 is in case we cancel the lesson last min and will be forfeited.
if you are always on for lessons, then the $30 will be bring forward to tp when we need to pay for the car rental.
i was charge $120 for the car rental after the $30 deduction. is it expensive?

zuldevil

hi can i check if you guys instructor collect an advance $30 on top of the $50 registration fee?
i was told that the $30 is in case we cancel the lesson last min and will be forfeited.
if you are always on for lessons, then the $30 will be bring forward to tp when we need to pay for the car rental.
i was charge $120 for the car rental after the $30 deduction. is it expensive?

I think I've seen some posts saying that some instructors charge S$160 for car rental + insurance for TP...

zuldevil

I just called Mr Ong (the instructor leonard90 recommended)... Will be having my first lesson with him on Tuesday.

Shall keep you guys updated! :D

Ok, so I just came back from my first lesson with this new instructor...

Gotta say, he's definitely better than my previous instructor! First lesson and he already brought me to do slopes (about 7 times - some by my request haha), U-turns (twice), lots of left and right turns. My previous instructor (Albert Yap from Woodlands Driving School - do NOT engage this guy!) always bring me to straight roads most of the time, even after 4 lessons. Stark difference in comparison, man.

So overall, this new instructor is tons better, and is patient and doesn't scold/nag, and he answers whatever questions I had quite well.

But. I don't know if this guy is the Mr Ong leonard90 mentioned. The person I called and this guy are 2 different people and so I asked him what his name was, and who did I talk on the phone with... He said, "Ong also. Everybody also Ong lah hor." HAHA. Damn funny.

I've PM-ed leonard90 to ask if I got the right instructor... 'Cause if I didn't, I want to request for the correct Mr Ong, even though this guy is not bad. I'd rather learn from someone who has been given a good review. :)

Either way, I'm glad I left my previous instructor. :o

ItsmeagainhK

hi all, sorry to interrupt this thread.

but what is the charges for using BBDC's circuit ?

Im a private candidate.

tried searching but could not find any answers.

anyone kind enough to tell me or link me the link in case it slipped through my vision ?

thank you :)

zuldevil

Just to update, the instructor with whom I had a lesson, was Mr Wong. Mr Ong apparently will be going on a holiday and I'll be learning from him after he returns. Not a big deal since Mr Wong was quite good. :)

Beta_Tester

Refresher Course any to intro? My friend wanna go. Class 3. Pass 3-4 yrs back but nv drive since 2 yrs back due to knee injury. Not confident. He prefer an instructor. :) Whats the rates ar?

Just to update, the instructor with whom I had a lesson, was Mr Wong. Mr Ong apparently will be going on a holiday and I'll be learning from him after he returns. Not a big deal since Mr Wong was quite good. :)

I'm taking my FFT this coming wednesday and I'm planning to call Mr Ong to be my private instructor. :s22:

dominique88

having my tp soon, any instructor to recommend willing to give revision lesson for sch candidate at west area??? pls help =) thks alot

aznpridegirl217

if any one know HAP POO HOCK from ssdc , how is he ? can PM me his ph number .. thz

i searched for HAP POO HOCK's number using internet yellow pages, and got his residential number 63102131. a lady answered and was quite impolite demanding to know who am i and how i got this number. after asking me tons of questions, she reluctantly gave me HAP POO HOCK's hp number 90062398.

i called him, and he also demanded to know how i got his number. he asked me several questions too. i want to learn manual, and he told me he's changing to auto car soon and gave me another driving instructor's number for me to call.

both the lady and HAP POO HOCK himself speaks chinese.

leonard90

Ok, so I just came back from my first lesson with this new instructor...

Gotta say, he's definitely better than my previous instructor! First lesson and he already brought me to do slopes (about 7 times - some by my request haha), U-turns (twice), lots of left and right turns. My previous instructor (Albert Yap from Woodlands Driving School - do NOT engage this guy!) always bring me to straight roads most of the time, even after 4 lessons. Stark difference in comparison, man.

So overall, this new instructor is tons better, and is patient and doesn't scold/nag, and he answers whatever questions I had quite well.

But. I don't know if this guy is the Mr Ong leonard90 mentioned. The person I called and this guy are 2 different people and so I asked him what his name was, and who did I talk on the phone with... He said, "Ong also. Everybody also Ong lah hor." HAHA. Damn funny.

I've PM-ed leonard90 to ask if I got the right instructor... 'Cause if I didn't, I want to request for the correct Mr Ong, even though this guy is not bad. I'd rather learn from someone who has been given a good review. :)

Either way, I'm glad I left my previous instructor. :o

i guess tat Mr Wong is the same old uncle which my gf say most ppl go for him.
cos my gf sometimes was taught by another uncle -dunno his name- tat guy is like just like u drive as if u own the car/ u're having ur TP. he will do alots of training on ur weaker points.
my gf say, out of 10 calls she heard Mr Ong picked up... 5-6 of them asked Mr Ong to put them under the "Uncle"
not sure if it is the same uncle, for ur Mr Wong.

glad that it helps u :)

good luck for ur TP

zuldevil

i guess tat Mr Wong is the same old uncle which my gf say most ppl go for him.
cos my gf sometimes was taught by another uncle -dunno his name- tat guy is like just like u drive as if u own the car/ u're having ur TP. he will do alots of training on ur weaker points.
my gf say, out of 10 calls she heard Mr Ong picked up... 5-6 of them asked Mr Ong to put them under the "Uncle"
not sure if it is the same uncle, for ur Mr Wong.

glad that it helps u :)

good luck for ur TP

Maybe, I don't know... Haha.

My TP is far away... I wanted to book the other time, but the only open slots were during CNY, so no go... Then the other day, first few days of March slots were opened, but Ong told me to book a bit later on 6th or 7th (Saturday and Sunday?! -_-). I'll wait until he returns from his holiday to firm up on this. Definitely not taking on weekends though. lol.

leonard90

Maybe, I don't know... Haha.

My TP is far away... I wanted to book the other time, but the only open slots were during CNY, so no go... Then the other day, first few days of March slots were opened, but Ong told me to book a bit later on 6th or 7th (Saturday and Sunday?! -_-). I'll wait until he returns from his holiday to firm up on this. Definitely not taking on weekends though. lol.

no worries, he will plan nicely for u.
like my gf one.
circuit no car, road not much cars during her TP.
haha

aznpridegirl217

Mr Ng, 97947250, 3A, YCK, SSDC
Mr Toh 90482119, 3, YCK, SSDC
Mr William, 90215833, 3, YCK, CDC (previously learnt from him, good, kind and patient and good car with good aircon)
Mr Sidik, 96918511, 3, Eunos, CDC
Mr Philip, 94509100, unknown
Mr Tan, 91015568, unknown
Mr John, 94592222, unknown

from page 5 of post 65... collected by otacon :s34:

there anyone learning can try call them

Mr William is popular as he is kind n patient to u :D so is good if u can be his students :D but u need to try your luck as sometimes he has no free slots lol

ABOUT ME: Female, 23 this year. I live in BISHAN, and have been looking for a private driving instructor around my area because I am lazy to travel. Of course my ideal would have been a driving instructor who can pick me up from my house. I don't really have a preference where I take my driving test.

FINDING A DRIVING INSTRUCTOR: I called up three private instructors - 2 recommanded by friends, 1 recommanded by SSDC (highest passing rate instructor). All are Chinese-speaking, were rather impatient with me over the phone, and were trying to push me to their friends. I did not want that. I started reading this forum, and decided on calling MR. WILLIAM 90215833. He was polite and patient with me, and told me sorry he's busy these days and refer me to a friend of his, also named WILLIAM >>> MR. WILLIAM SNG. I agreed to this referral because Mr. William sounded sincere and nice.

MR. WILLIAM SNG: 98188851. $26/hr non-peak and $28/hr peak. Min 1.5hours. Registeration $50. Cancellation/time change in less than 24 hours results in 50% loss of fee. Currently an instructor at BBDC but will be leaving in Jan (I think). Will pick up at Yio Chu Kang MRT. English speaking.

FIRST CLASS: Scheduled at 8pm for 1.5hours. I arrived at YCK MRT at 7:50pm, and he was already there! He talks a lot, kept talking about benefits of private instructor lol. Drove to the private housing estates around YCK. Very patitent with me! PM me if you want details of my first class.

Hope to be back to share more about him. I intended to have intensive lessons till New Year as I am having holiday now. But as he is still teaching at BBDC, his schedule is tight. Hence, only weekends and night =(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.