Advice on Penang

k1180n

Hi all,

Just came back from Penang. It was definitely fun and fulfilling. I hope the following info will be useful to future travellers.

I took Airasia and stayed at Traders Hotel Penang. Asia tickets was S$318 for 2, i booked the more spacious seats. Hotel was about S$89/night.
I only took taxi twice, to and fro airport to hotel. it was RM$42 and RM$35.
I bought the bus pass from Rapid Penang counter located at the Penang departure hall.

First thing first, Traders Hotel is really clean and accessible in terms of bus. It is just located near the bus interchange at Komtar. There is complimentary internet access via RJ45 in the hotel room.

I did the visits to the usual places of attractions. But the main thing i liked about Penang is the food! You can find good and cheap food just round every corner.

Check out this link to know more. I got it somewhere somehow.
http://www.kotravelog.com/frame-penang.html

Cheers.

Lormie

Penang Sunway hotel

hihi,
Going there this weekend!
Staying at the Sunway Hotel. A bit last minute trip, so didn't do much planning.
Hope the hotel room is good. Is the Wi-Fi @ the hotel free huh?:s11:

Also any die die must eat stuff there? Ice Balls, Laksa, Cendol etc..

e51wizard

hihi,
Staying at the Sunway Hotel. A bit last minute trip, so didn't do much planning.

Hi Lormie,
Try BBQ chicken (wing/drumstick). Beri good! The stall is outside Sunway. Think it close on Wed. Komtar is near by too.

Vismark

hihi,

The wifi I also don know leh,first 2 days I use can.
But last day when I try to use it,need to enter the hotel room number and password.
Anyway,you confirm will not get hungry there de,below the hotel has lots of food stall.
And you also can walk to the new shopping centre,the name is Penang Times Square,
The last time I go during november,the swensons having 30% discount.
And there also got some interesting shop inside there,but that time I go stay not really done,so only few shops open nia

Lormie

The wifi I also don know leh,first 2 days I use can.
But last day when I try to use it,need to enter the hotel room number and password.
Anyway,you confirm will not get hungry there de,below the hotel has lots of food stall.
And you also can walk to the new shopping centre,the name is Penang Times Square,
The last time I go during november,the swensons having 30% discount.
And there also got some interesting shop inside there,but that time I go stay not really done,so only few shops open nia

Yeah..the hotel got internet connection.. just dropped by ghotel for its spa, the hotel and plaza looks fabulous, will definitely book it next time. Now I am very full from the Gurney drive hawker food..think this trip will gain 5kg! :eek:

I go the Penang Time Square yesterday, but its like every shop close lidat. Maybe it Sunday ba.

Will definitely try the chicken wings another day when not so full, and see if its really beri good!..Tried the ba kut teh downstairs last night, not very nice.

confused

Need some advise. I am planning to go G Hotel from Penang airport, free and easy.

What transportation is good and efficient. I don't mind paying a bit more if can get direct transfer there.

Is taking a cab hazardous in Penang? No meter and taxi-cab extorting money?

Otherwise, should I buy a taxi coupon from the airport? Or should I just take the rapid bus. Does it go to G hotel directly?

Thanks for advise! :)

Lormie

Need some advise. I am planning to go G Hotel from Penang airport, free and easy.

What transportation is good and efficient. I don't mind paying a bit more if can get direct transfer there.

Is taking a cab hazardous in Penang? No meter and taxi-cab extorting money?

Otherwise, should I buy a taxi coupon from the airport? Or should I just take the rapid bus. Does it go to G hotel directly?

Thanks for advise! :)

I came in a van..RM 35, regardless of the number of people. Quite cheap(?) and comfortable, have the whole van for 2 people only. I can provide the contact if you want.

qiang2007

I came in a van..RM 35, regardless of the number of people. Quite cheap(?) and comfortable, have the whole van for 2 people only. I can provide the contact if you want.

Can pm the contact, my family and i will be going next week.

confused

Hi lormie,

PM you but no reply. Can pm the contact to me? If got e-mail address, thanks.

a_keong

To benefit those who travel by Penang Rapid bus, can see this(Chinese Forums) or www.rapidpg.com.my for more info.

Call Rapid ICSIS Call Centre 04-2381313 to check the bus timing but think can trust 50% only..:s22:

Enjoy your holiday at Penang.

Cheers.:yawn:

confused

Ok, so what's the average waiting time for bus in Penang city area?

20-30 mins? or more?

suangern

Depends on which route. Usually routes from komtar to jetty are quite fast. The rest depends on traffic condition. If you are returning from penang hill, its better to walk 1km to air itam main road, as there got more buses, rather than waiting the one and only route 204 which may take 45 minutes to arrive. :eek:

Other than komtar, prangin mall and chowrasta market, the rest are shophouses, hotels, toilet not so easy to find (Usually mamak or coffeeshop will have).

Have a nice trip.

confused

Hmm, how about Queensbay Malll? Read from a blog that the waiting time can be very long?

Want to visit Queensbay Mall but hotel in Georgetown, and want to save transport costs. :D

suangern

queensbay mall is just a shopping mall only, nothing much to see around it, 10+km from georgetown. pg island is very small, smaller than sg.

MrTheROCK

The best shopping mall in penang is Gurney Plaza. The rest of the shopping centres, you can forget about it as it disgrace the penang natives. Just outside Gurney plaza, there are lots of wonderful streetside eateries where the locals and working staff from Gurney plaza buy their food. You can ask around for it. It is at the main entrance facing the sea, not the road entrance. A must to try is their ayam laska, prawn mee, buh buh cha cha, ice kachang and many more :o

The above is what a local tell me while I am inside the tiger plane on the way to penang. Hope this helps...

confused

I see see. Thanks. but dunno why some of the blogs say Gurney Drive is for tourists only and locals will never go there to eat.

Cos food is substandard and expensive.

What do you guys think? :D

I already see people recommending New Lane near Berjaya, and some blogs mention Perak Lane and Chulia Street.

How about the nite market at Batu Ferringi. Worth a visit or just pass? :)

padre

Safe lar, I go so many time liao.

Btwn I going again next wk

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.