IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

dasanyuan

both T410/W510 belongs to huge n heavy. lol w is insane. so bloody heavy. got budget? no budget T400s for u. haha if not just get T410. its the best value thinkpad i guess for the moment. if not get edge. i think edge's pretty cool. :s13:

dasanyuan

Any Thinkpad users who just purchased their lappy at Republic Polytechnic recently?

I purchased my W510 in march but till now my extended warranty is still not updated yet(still at 3 yrs).
Anyone has the same problem as me?

Has called up Juzz1 twice, they mentioned it takes Lenovo some time for the updating. 2 mths not enough for updating??

don't worry. it will be updated surely. alot of thinkpads leh in singapore. just keep ur POP for worst case scenarios. but relax. u should have onsite warranty right?

Kenshin79

Does anybody know when the x201 tablet multitouch will be available locally at retail shops?

mid or end June will have X201 Tablet WITHOUT multi-touch display.
worldwide having stocks issue due to serious lack of supply from intel for Core i7 low voltage CPU.

if you want multi-touch display, you must place deposit to order from the retailer. my side already placed order for 2 sets, no choice have to wait...

sirleleas

s

Are you using a T410s? I agree X301 is a looker, but no power lah. Still running on Core 2 Duo and no discrete graphics. Something which I need for my line of work, furthermore I tend to play games too...haha

I really cannot swallow the price lah...for that same amount, I can get a full-fledged W701 with 2 x HDD Raid, CUDA 96 bit discrete graphics + WWAN leh

greenbeam1980

don't worry. it will be updated surely. alot of thinkpads leh in singapore. just keep ur POP for worst case scenarios. but relax. u should have onsite warranty right?

Yes. Just feeling uncomfortable that all.

Btw, anyone has keyboard protector for w510? The type that fits nicely one.

shawn_sboi

Yes. Just feeling uncomfortable that all.

Btw, anyone has keyboard protector for w510? The type that fits nicely one.

Yes you can order the W510 skin at MO section. Buy the nanosilver kind. $20. The normal plastic doesn't fit nicely.

dasanyuan

dun put k/b protector la. like machiam typing on a condom... so uncomfy. hahaha. i'm using a T410 now. quite shiok to type... i5 up man. better than my own rig at home... lol get the W510 to play ur games. alot of customer from polys using that.

flanket

T410 Battery Life

Hi, anyone care to advice on the battery life (6 cells) of T410? I bought one witht the i5-540 CPU and it only last around 2hr for normal work (surfing, spreadsheet, ppt, NO movie). The Thinkclub ad mention can last 5hr which my don't even last half of what mention.

pravinuss

guys, my charger is now screwed. Is there a number i could call to get the quotation of a new charger for my W500 which is under warranty? The lenovo website numbers i call are super confusing.

gohkhm

Hi, anyone care to advice on the battery life (6 cells) of T410? I bought one witht the i5-540 CPU and it only last around 2hr for normal work (surfing, spreadsheet, ppt, NO movie). The Thinkclub ad mention can last 5hr which my don't even last half of what mention.

From your Thinkvantage Power Manager, were you running on 'Maximum battery' or 'Maximum performance' ? A lot of other factors such as your Wifi, LCD brightness come to play as well. 5hrs seems unlikely for a 6-cell

ahtea

You got to configure the power manager settings correctly.

Dim down the display when on batteries and change CPU to adaptive/slower speed to see if it helps to improve the battery life.

gohkhm

guys, my charger is now screwed. Is there a number i could call to get the quotation of a new charger for my W500 which is under warranty? The lenovo website numbers i call are super confusing.

Perhaps the fuse blew on the power plug? Try changing that on your part and see if it works. I have a feeling that the power adaptor is not covered in the warranty, perhaps dasanyuan or other members here can advise.

ahtea

You should be able to find a replacement at authorized Lenovo retailers in Funan eg.AddOn to get it (if you need it urgently).

I think AC Adaptors are warrantied for 1 year. You might want to confirm with Lenovo by calling up their help desk at 800-6011-343.

pravinuss

Perhaps the fuse blew on the power plug? Try changing that on your part and see if it works. I have a feeling that the power adaptor is not covered in the warranty, perhaps dasanyuan or other members here can advise.
Nah, its my fault. Its actually the connector jack that is the problem. Alot of wear on the jack so it doesn't work but the adapter works fine. I don't want to claim it under warranty cause firstly it was my fault and secondly its more than a year already. I think i will go funan check it out. Thanks guys

shawn_sboi

dun put k/b protector la. like machiam typing on a condom... so uncomfy. hahaha. i'm using a T410 now. quite shiok to type... i5 up man. better than my own rig at home... lol get the W510 to play ur games. alot of customer from polys using that.

haha! got different quality of k/b protector. the 9.90 one feel like typing on condom. LOL! i bought the nanosilver clearer and feel nothing. :) so it's okay.

ceecookie

My R400 have been facing this occasional issue whereby the laptop locks up by itself similar to a BSOD except that the screen always goes blank. Wireless/Bluetooth indicator also goes off.

Have to power cycle the laptop to recover.

Windows diagnose it as a BSOD. Details:

Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 18441

Extra information about the problem
BCCode: 19
BCP1: 0000000000000020
BCP2: FFFFFA8004743828
BCP3: FFFFFA8004744208
BCP4: 00000000059E5A00
OS Version: 6_1_7600
Service Pack: 0_0
Product: 256_1

Is this symptoms to known hardware problems?

ahtea

My R400 have been facing this occasional issue whereby the laptop locks up by itself similar to a BSOD except that the screen always goes blank. Wireless/Bluetooth indicator also goes off.

Have to power cycle the laptop to recover.

Windows diagnose it as a BSOD. Details:

Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 18441

Extra information about the problem
BCCode: 19
BCP1: 0000000000000020
BCP2: FFFFFA8004743828
BCP3: FFFFFA8004744208
BCP4: 00000000059E5A00
OS Version: 6_1_7600
Service Pack: 0_0
Product: 256_1

Is this symptoms to known hardware problems?
Did you install any new applications or tried to reformat?

ceecookie

Did you install any new applications or tried to reformat?

Nope, it's happening very infrequently that's why i dont want to reformat.

If it's hardware issue i wish to fix it before it get worse :)

我要买GT-R!

Singapore English 800 6011 343 (Local number only)
+603 8315 6856 (DID)
8AM - 6:30PM
Monday - Friday

dskw

apologies if this is the wrong place to ask, but i want to get another hdd bracket for my s10 netbook, the one that seems to be made of really cheap metal. would you guys know any place where i can get it? im not sure if there is such a thing as "generic 2.5" hdd laptop bracket". TIA!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.