Thinning Hair problem

kenny99

Hi guys,
If only i can also shave bald to face the public.. :(
I am a female (25yrs old), and i am facing hairloss problems.
I realised that my hair is getting thinner & i can visually see the "white" scalp more obviously each day.
Even if my hair-stylist tells me that my hair is evenly loose throughout the whole head, but more obviously on the middle part where the hair spread open on its on "hair parting".

I think its time for me to go something serious abt it.
I just made my 1st step out to schedule an consultation appointment with NSC.

But i am not sure what he can do with female balding.. (btw, my family does not have such genes)

Any opinions for me?

Thanks.

How long already?
If you loss a lot of hair in a short period, it might be due to stress, diet, hair styling...

wynner

hi i am in my mid 20s. hair started to thin after army which was 3 years back. i deduced it is very much due to oily scalp which is very bad for my case. shampoo laio 4 hrs later become so oily that when i lift my hair i can see my crown reflecting light off. *no joke*

so before i go out i will bathe and the hir will still look quite ok. but after 3 or 4 hours out shopping or walking or even for movies, the top becomes super flat and can see thru the hair and scalp is visible.

i tried working on my diet and exercise liao. not much diff after 1 year except getting abit slimmer haha. and all the anti hairfall and oily scalp shampoos ive tried(clear, h&s, bawang, biolyn, pantene) seems pretty useless also..

so my question to all the bros here: any solutions to my oily scalp problem?? will input will be greatly appreciated.TIA and have a nice day!

egomaniacX

Minox Scare!

Been about 1 month 3 weeks since I have been using Minoxidil 5%...

Seriously... My hair loss is worst than before...

Now, front and crown are thinning like mad so much so that I think I would be better off if I hadn't start Minox at all...

Should I just carry on this treatment or torment?

Isopropyl

Been about 1 month 3 weeks since I have been using Minoxidil 5%...

Seriously... My hair loss is worst than before...

Now, front and crown are thinning like mad so much so that I think I would be better off if I hadn't start Minox at all...

Should I just carry on this treatment or torment?

according to text book science. this is the part where it will be better for you to hold on. early increase in shedding might indicate minoxidil is working for you. as long as you are not having any side effect i think it safe to hold on.

also, all the hairloss is getting worst could be due to the cosmetic effect of minoxidil solution which is pretty oily and make your hair look awful.

Isopropyl

:s16:
I think you have no choice but to go for wig or hairpiece.

For guys at least we can go monk style.

For girls, people will think you tio Cancer if you shave botak.

that pretty comforting:s8:

i guess you are not a good talker around girls:s13:

joking.

wynner

hi read about 60 pages of this thread laios. but 1 thing i wld like to ask is how come the nizoral cannot be for daily use? too harsh on scalp??

Isopropyl

hi read about 60 pages of this thread laios. but 1 thing i wld like to ask is how come the nizoral cannot be for daily use? too harsh on scalp??

you can use it daily.

it can be drying for some. just try and see how it goes.

coolraider

drying? is it good in countering oily scalp??
TIA

For my case, it does help in controlling the oily scalp effect but I din use it daily.. Too harsh for my scalp as mentioned before that it dry out my scalp.. I also reduce intake of oily & fried food and also late nights..

Isopropyl

I am not a smooth talker.
But unfortunately really not much advice for a girl with balding.

lesson number 1. in such situation, silent is gold:s7:

reason being firstly she is already seeking professional help and they will be in a better position to advice. secondly, i pretty sure she already know the choice you mentioned so it doesn't serve much useful purpose saying it yet causing much distress to the recieving end.

in an online situation it will be best to encourage or affirm her for example like the doctor should be able to help etc if you die die have to say something due to some reasons.

if it is a face to face situation, just try to let her know you are sharing and felt what she going through. sometime people just need a listening ear as they already know what to do. i quite sure this is the case.

try not to put the person in a dead end. you can try by saying since it overall diffuse, it might be due to hormone problem. for ladies there is oral "anti-androgen" like spironolactone, cyproterone, yasmin etc which might help. give people some hope.

even if you don't know anything about the problem, you can start by saying, don't worry, things is going to be just fine. it tend to calm the other person a bit even if they know that isn't the case as it might instill a bit of hope.

i remember 1 of my leturer once told me, "there is no wrong topic but only wrong way of delivering it." something i hold dearly true even after 8years (although that leturer is a pure jerk. we named him "butcher":s22:) in another word, it pay to be tactful.

P.S. the above advice is purely for Rushifaa:s13:

soeyism

why not just see a doctor?

my boss taking hair loss pill from specialist .. daily around $10bucks
another friend go for injection on the scalp never ask how much

both works but no cheap

Isopropyl

why not just see a doctor?

my boss taking hair loss pill from specialist .. daily around $10bucks
another friend go for injection on the scalp never ask how much

both works but no cheap

because most of us is not someone bosses and can't afford an extra $300 per month?:s13:

joke aside, if both your boss and friend is treating MPB, i quite sure their specialist is using off label treatment looking at the cost and treatment. maybe you know the name of the drug your boss is taking before we go further from there? also, how do you define "works"?

as for your friend, my gut feeling is telling me most likely he is treating alopecia aretata instead of MPB and the injection should be some kind of corticosteroid. of course there some who use other drugs to inject into scalp like botox, B12 etc to treat MPB. but i think Singapore Medical Conuncil will be pretty upset if they found out about it:s13:

and finally, it not so simple about just seeing doctor even if we have the dough. i quite sure tons of doctor will be happy to treat people like bruce willis, john travolta, nicolas cage etc if that the case. unfortunately, they still end up pretty bald.

IntelFlash

I bought some proscar, and divided to 4 to take.
Compare to propecia, i drop as much hair as i did not take any.
As in more shedding.

Any idea what's the problem?

egomaniacX

according to text book science. this is the part where it will be better for you to hold on. early increase in shedding might indicate minoxidil is working for you. as long as you are not having any side effect i think it safe to hold on.

also, all the hairloss is getting worst could be due to the cosmetic effect of minoxidil solution which is pretty oily and make your hair look awful.

Sorry, but what kind of alarming side effects should I look out for to cast minox totally aside?

Isopropyl

i think the treatment for hair loss is quite standard

for now either minoxidil or propecia.

those side treatment are not clinically proven also.

if hair loss can be so easily treated , like what u said , those hollywood stars will get it treated liao.

sometimes in life we just got to accept it , but then balding is not an illness afterall.

firstly are you quoting the wrong person? where in the world did i mention anything about hair loss being "easily treated" i precisely used those chaps as example to prove my point:s8:

there is a different between clinically proven and FDA approved;) i strongly suspect you mean for now minoxidil and propecia is the only FDA approved treatment:look: there ARE treatments that is "proven" but not FDA approve:D

no agurement on the last point. except baldness although not a life and death case, it can lead to serious problem to some.

Isopropyl

I bought some proscar, and divided to 4 to take.
Compare to propecia, i drop as much hair as i did not take any.
As in more shedding.

Any idea what's the problem?

"shedding" is a very inaccurate way of measuring whether the pills is working. as long as you are sure that the proscar you got are the real deal, it will work as well as propecia. don't worry.

Isopropyl

Sorry, but what kind of alarming side effects should I look out for to cast minox totally aside?

refering to the increase in "shedding" you have mentioned. if there are strong allegry or irritation on your scalp, it will be wise to reduce or stop.

soeyism

because most of us is not someone bosses and can't afford an extra $300 per month?:s13:

joke aside, if both your boss and friend is treating MPB, i quite sure their specialist is using off label treatment looking at the cost and treatment. maybe you know the name of the drug your boss is taking before we go further from there? also, how do you define "works"?

as for your friend, my gut feeling is telling me most likely he is treating alopecia aretata instead of MPB and the injection should be some kind of corticosteroid. of course there some who use other drugs to inject into scalp like botox, B12 etc to treat MPB. but i think Singapore Medical Conuncil will be pretty upset if they found out about it:s13:

and finally, it not so simple about just seeing doctor even if we have the dough. i quite sure tons of doctor will be happy to treat people like bruce willis, john travolta, nicolas cage etc if that the case. unfortunately, they still end up pretty bald.

no idea the drug, if anyone need the specialist i can help to ask from my boss, just pm me
if i tell u the drug, u anyhow eat and become caveman how? :s13:

infact i worked for this boss 2yrs + yrs liao, i have notice his hair getting from bad to worst but i never tell him anything. i am a careful guy not to piss pple off moreover he is my boss, also not my business right? heeh
only till recently we talk about hair and he mentioned he did see a specialist and was given oral supplement for his hair loss

as for my friend, he suffered 'pitholes' on his scalp. not too sure about the scientific term. but the hair just refuse to growth and he also see his doc to get direct injection on his scalp - is few yrs back and this confirm not cheap, causing him a few grand. now he complain his hair is too thick :s13:

egomaniacX

refering to the increase in "shedding" you have mentioned. if there are strong allegry or irritation on your scalp, it will be wise to reduce or stop.

Due to my working hours, I am unable to apply minox twice daily leh... Is it okay to apply once a day?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.