CFA Level 1 Preparation: Kaplan vs CFA Singapore vs Self-Study

revenant

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
If you're discipline, self study.
If you have relevant background, self study.
If you're not discipline but have relevant background and they are still fresh, self-study.

There can be lots more combination which you need to tell us before we can narrow it down for you.

One general comment is that if you have finance background, almost 50% of the level 1 materials are just refresher.

ckone

Reaction score
thanks.. hmmm... sounds like level 1 self-study ok but so far see like many failed...

was thinking in terms of materials, lessons and time management.. like schweser vs stalla, frequency of classes, etc.

anyway have just signed up with cfa singapore, lessons mostly on sat mornings, more manageable for me.

tofuguy

Master Member
Reaction score
i have a degree in finance/ postgrad in relevant field. i did self-study for level 1 while doing my degree. No problem but must be disciplined.

Gambler.

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
is it true that for level 1 CFA, you don't need a degree to take the course right?

Unfairy

Reaction score
Hi, i have registered for this coming dec CFA lvl 1. Is it suffice just to rely on those books from the package of exam registration? Or is it wise to buy those study material from schweser, stalla those sort of study material?

revenant

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Hi, i have registered for this coming dec CFA lvl 1. Is it suffice just to rely on those books from the package of exam registration? Or is it wise to buy those study material from schweser, stalla those sort of study material?

Condensed notes are sufficient for level 1.

Gambler.

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
cant seem to find the dates, anyone knows when's the latest date to enroll for the dec lvl 1?

friendlyguy

Master Member
Reaction score