Red Wing shoe Thread

kazuki666

i say first, the rw not mine but usually it goes thru' the process with my doc martens.

as stated in earlier posts, i use kiwi shoe polish (the flat tin type)

those standard army kiwi lor.
its really to "clean" up and give the boots a shine. But i think there is some dunno what ingredients inside the kiwi not gd for leather de.

karyaC

But i think there is some dunno what ingredients inside the kiwi not gd for leather de.
dries up leather and cracks it rite?
of coz it'll happen if u just keep waxing the leather without oiling it.... :s13:
wax is to protect the leather from external moisture after all (arbo i apply it for whut.....)

goat1991

btw, the hk branch i went to, the SA recommended me to get mink oil better than this.

248-768-Red%20Wing%20Leather%20Protector.jpg

I tot this is spray on after applying mink oil? I think is to spray on a layer to protect the leather from water, chemical and etc

kazuki666

this pair is a diff model, 1907

besides the color tone, how do u tell the difference de???

anyway, damn sian my mink oil didnt manage to dry on my new 875 this morning when i was preparing myself to work :(
I gave it a 2nd application last night ard 9pm. By 7am this morning its like 10hrs liao lor. haiz... :(

kyuushin

anyway, damn sian my mink oil didnt manage to dry on my new 875 this morning when i was preparing myself to work :(
I gave it a 2nd application last night ard 9pm. By 7am this morning its like 10hrs liao lor. haiz... :(

not enough one leh. i mink oil-ed my sperry's 2 days ago. now then starting to dry. keep raining cannot sun tan. only leave it to blow wind. unless you wake up early in the morning and catch the morning sun loh. i wake up, morning gone already :s13:

kohkj88

Which mink oil did you used? I used the red wing one, and it drys up really fast!

kazuki666

Which mink oil did you used? I used the red wing one, and it drys up really fast!

bata de.

actually previously when i applied onto my 8165, it kinda dried over the night de.
Dunno issit 875 material prob, or the weather more cold recently as compared to 8mths when i oiled my 8165...

btw, for those who have doubts abt RW being very stiff and tough. Wear it and give it a gd 6-9mths, then u will embrace it with love le.
I went hk for a wk recently, i was very glad i wore mine pair. The shoes managed to withstand the intense more 8hrs walking and shopping a day, for 7days!!!:s12:

alanjw55

wore my RW for the 2nd time yesterday for long hours, realy starting to dig it, startin to feel comfy now

goat1991

^ how many times did u mink oil before wearing?

I mink 1 time nia for my new 8131 then wore it today... damn it now blisters behind my heels and my socks like gonna tear at the heel area :( :( :(

should i mink oil it again tonight ???

kazuki666

^ how many times did u mink oil before wearing?

I mink 1 time nia for my new 8131 then wore it today... damn it now blisters behind my heels and my socks like gonna tear at the heel area :( :( :(

should i mink oil it again tonight ???

i feel that blisters and aches are part and parcel of wearing RW bah. So far havent heard of anyone without them. :p
whatsmore u day1 nia, long way to go lor. :p

but if u really wish to oil it again tonight, rem to clean your RW surface thoroughly before oiling.
U wouldnt want a layer of oil over the dust and dirt ya :)

One thing i learnt from this thread is that we must trash it real hard, as if its your no4 boots. Then it will "grow" with u. :p

alanjw55

i feel that blisters and aches are part and parcel of wearing RW bah. So far havent heard of anyone without them. :p
whatsmore u day1 nia, long way to go lor. :p

but if u really wish to oil it again tonight, rem to clean your RW surface thoroughly before oiling.
U wouldnt want a layer of oil over the dust and dirt ya :)

One thing i learnt from this thread is that we must trash it real hard, as if its your no4 boots. Then it will "grow" with u. :p
yea...i just wore it for like twice and i had like "scratches" on it haha, feels good abt it

goat1991

about cleaning ur RW... you all uses those stiff brush to brush off the dirt ar?

my brush is bought from bata... kinda soft, doesnt really do much cleaning :(

any brush or cleaning kit to recommend ?

kazuki666

about cleaning ur RW... you all uses those stiff brush to brush off the dirt ar?

my brush is bought from bata... kinda soft, doesnt really do much cleaning :(

any brush or cleaning kit to recommend ?

i think recommended will be soft bristles brush, so that it wont scratch your boots.

But i am too lazy to go get one. I only use cloth wipe the surface if i feel its dirty. The same piece of cloth which i used to oil it, so in a way there is still a little oil on the cloth too.

SinRed

If I mink oil my RW and after the mink oil dry up, will my boots still be in a darker shade or once the mink oil dries, the colour goes back to what it was before? Diggin my shoes right now. Wouldn't want to mink oil and the shoes becomes dark brown. The auntie at Suntec store told me to apply mink oil using my fingers. Say the heat generate from my fingers rubbing will have a good effect. Sounds quite logic, but quite silly at the same time. Hahaha...

kazuki666

If I mink oil my RW and after the mink oil dry up, will my boots still be in a darker shade or once the mink oil dries, the colour goes back to what it was before? Diggin my shoes right now. Wouldn't want to mink oil and the shoes becomes dark brown. The auntie at Suntec store told me to apply mink oil using my fingers. Say the heat generate from my fingers rubbing will have a good effect. Sounds quite logic, but quite silly at the same time. Hahaha...

i rem seeing some in this thread also say use fingers best.
But i lazy for the mess, so use cloth instead.

for my 8165, it kinda darken the color. But after wearing a few more wears, its quiet back to normal le.
Not sure abt the brown ones though. I am still waiting for my 875 to dry completely. If it does, then i probably can wear it for a wedding lunch tmr

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.