[Official cycling thread]

txv611

Bicycle shop for folding bikes

HI,

I am new resident in Sengkang and saw many cyclists here.

Looking at buying my first folding bicycle. Carrefour sells the Aleoca brand for about $100 - $300.

Can anyone advise me if these Aleoca are ok priced fgor their quality, or are there better buy elsewhere? If so, can give me some name of the shop I should check out.

Thanks

Ore0_Cheescake V2.0

aloeca is really cmi if you plan to go to seruous riding. not sure bout foldable bikes, but i belive a quick search at togoparts will give you some hits.

once again, dont buy aloeca.

plumboy21

HI,

Looking at buying my first folding bicycle. Carrefour sells the Aleoca brand for about $100 - $300.

Can anyone advise me if these Aleoca are ok priced fgor their quality, or are there better buy elsewhere? If so, can give me some name of the shop I should check out.

Thanks

For folding bikes, you may want to check out brands like Dahon. I own an MU SL and I have been liking it . They do have cheaper ones in the hundreds but not compromising on the quality, in my opinions. Hope that helps.

pew

HI,

Thanks
dont bother with aleoca, not worth the money

nearest to sengkang would be chapter 2 cycle amk ave 10 blk 452 i think, talk to ben or jason.

pgross

anyone knows where i can get the older diamondback response 2007,2006 bikes?
i prefer the older frame design..thx:)

Ore0_Cheescake V2.0

anyone knows where i can get the older diamondback response 2007,2006 bikes?
i prefer the older frame design..thx:)

bedok stadium there got 1 bike shop, they keep quite alot of new but old bikes. maybe u call them or something. something to note though, alu have a rough life span of 10 yrs maybe? so why not switch to other coy or get the newer design

BHills

Anyone interested in night cycling this coming Friday :

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=3024837

EDMW Night Cycling Outing :

Date : 17th Dec 2010 Friday Night

Christmas Fairy Tale Ride in the Central

Toa Payoh – Media Corp – Far East Plaza – Botanic Gardens – Orchard Rd – Clarke Quay – Esplanade Helix Bridge – Boon Tat Street Lau Pa Sat for supper

Total Distance : about 30km

Time : 10.30pm – 1.00am

Route map (approximate because not going to follow exactly the traffic direction) :

url]

http://maps.google.com.sg/maps?f=d...305372,103.837967&spn=0.133175,0.154324&z=13

Tentative Time to meet : 10.00-10.15pm

Meeting point : Toa Payoh HDB Hub outside McDonald’s and Mos Burger

Desired speed during cycling : 15-25 km/h.

Desired average speed (excluding rests but including traffic junctions) = 15-20km/h

==================
Detailed schedule :

10.30pm Start : Toa Payoh HDB Hub

10.30-11.00pm Pit Stop 1 : Far East Plaza at Scotts Road (10-11km) passing by Media Corp and then cut through to Whitley Road and Stevens Road

11.00-11.15pm : 15 minutes Break at Far East Plaza to take a drink and see whether there are any chio MMs there

11.15-11.45pm Pit Stop 2 : Clarke Quay (10km) cycling past Shangri La Hotel, Botanic Gardens and Orchard Road

11.45-12.15am : 30 mins break at Clarke Quay to drink, rest, take group pictures and see whether got any chio MMs around

12.15-12.35am Pit Stop 3 : Esplande Helix Bride (6km) cycling past Chinatown, Maxwell Road and Cecil/Robinson Road

12.35-12.50am : 15 minutes break at Helix to look at Marina Bay Sands areas

12.50-1.00am Pit Stop 4 : Boon Tat Street Lau Pa Sat (old market) for supper (If interested can go past Marina Bay Sands via Helix Bridge) (2-3km)

Total distance is about 30km (slightly shorter or longer depending on which actual route preferred).

=========
Anyone interested, please pm me with the following information so that I can consolidate, update the interested parties list and keep in touch :

1) Where you are going to join us (at the Start or somewhere along the way at the pit stops)

2) Time that you can make it at the meeting point (because we may be able to adjust the time a bit to accommodate more people).

3) your contact number (so that I can make a final confirmation just before the ride and to co-ordinate all the meeting places and times)

============
Interested Parties so far :

1) BHills

spec116

hi all cyclists

im planning to buy a bike either from GIANTS or Carrefour for casual riding.
tiking to buy full suspension bike..i saw those ard $400-$600..gd or nt?
is it worth to spend $500 for a bike at giants or carrefour?

hmm if i gt 400-500 to spend for full suspension bike..which bike is best for me?
http://sg.rodalink.com/file_download/22/Rodalink-Member---Private-Sale.jpg <==tat 399 bike gd?

what brand to avoid if to buy at giants & carrefour? what to look out for?

lostboi

guys i am selling cycling jerseys and some accessories...feel free to visit my store in my signature...

opening special
register before 31st december and your account will be entitled to a permanent 10% off in my store. email me after registration sales@ihavebeenlookingforthis.com with your username so I can activate the 10% for you.

more exciting products will be added along the way :) thanks everyone for the support :)

cty85

go queensway shopping centrer, shop called icon buy deuter one :o

cty85

lol~ i go out liao then u reply:crazy:
my fren left from yck u shd hv join him come down :o

BHills

My friend is looking to buy a MTB.

Budget : Up to $3,500 (if full XT parts). (of course, the cheaper the better). If possible, not more than $2,500.

Requirement : as light as possible. At least full SLX parts (if got some XT parts, better). Non-carbon frame.

He is 45 but reasonably fit, thinking of starting to ride casually on East Coast Park and sometimes can go Pulau Ubin off road. Not going to jump and land hard.

So I guess a Cross Country MTB is more suitable for him than a All Mountain MTB.

For the last week, went around to Khian Hong @Vertex, Tay Cycle, Rodalink (Tradehub) and L&T to take a look at the bikes.

The following bikes are in consideration :

1) Polygon Collosus SX3.0 ($3100) (XT parts) - X-Country full suspension.

2) Polygon Collosus SX2.0 ($1,900) (only some SLX parts) - X-country full susp.

3) Polygon Collosus AX3.0 ($3,500) (some SLX and Deore parts = not favoured) - All mountain full susp.

4) Polygon Cozmic CX5.0 ($1,700) (only some SLX parts = not favoured).- X-Country Hardtail

Saw some KTM bikes at L&T, many Giant bikes at Tay Cycle and many Scotts bikes at Khian Hong but didn't take note of which specific bikes to consider.

Any specific models recommendation for us to consider? KTM? Giant? Scotts? and other brands?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.