Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

valuesniper

Haha, I had been thinking of heading over to Bukit Gombak area to find him before his next student and having a chat with him. Never had the time to do so though.

Yeah, I remember he's not very IT-savvy. He asked me once on how to use his new phone (wasn't the iphone then), and I could only show a little bit before having to rush off. Well, Mr Yeo, if you're reading this, I am the one to blame for starting this whole debacle recommending you on this forum! Haha! For better or worse, the outcome has been for you, I did it out of appreciation of what you have done for me. I told you after I passed that I would recommend you to people, and that's what I've done. :)

With his current schedule packed back-to-back, I dont think he can even spare you 5 mins. IIRC, his meal breaks are 12-1pm and 5-6pm. Can call and ask him to makan together. Alternatively, book him for one lesson, pay $30, drive around and chitchat lah :s13:

When I was showing him this thread, I showed him your user ID and told him that you were the one who recommended me to him. He will appreciate you for what you have done for him.

Well, its not exactly a debacle. He's having a happy problem which include declining potential customers, making his students wait for 2 weeks for a slot etc....:D

In any case, I'm glad that I had lunch with him previously. My TP test was the 11-11.30am slot, after I passed the test and watched the mandatory videos, we went for bak ku teh (pork ribs soup). I wasnt in a rush to get my license, so I went back on another day to apply for it.

Lunch with him was more important as seriously, you may not always have the time nor opportunity. And its human nature to proscrastinate. Didnt want to give up a opportunity to express my appreciation to a man who does his job well.

valuesniper

Mr Yeo was also my instructor. Passed under him 1st time. He is good instructor. But must see his mood. Also, i agree that he does not speak clearly. like to mumble.

Ya.. Mr Yeo is a good instructor. Happy for him to have many students. Passed 1st time under him. Thanks Mr Yeo!!!!

surprise, surprise, didnt expect so many lurkers around. Glad to know that so many passed first time under Mr Yeo. Cheers!

Norashamus

Any driving instructor in woodlands?

Desperately looking for a driving instructor in Woodlands for class 3 manual as i will be taking the TP at SSDC Woodlands. Anyone know of a good one? Please do recommend.

- fetch and send service
- reliable
- experienced
- not chi co pek

Thanks

Yunnnn

i've had 13 lessons so far...my instructor told me about 4-5 more lessons left. going for TP in may :)

Massacre01

valuesniper said:
Bro I just passed my TP with only 8 points!

11AM is really a good timing, really very very empty in the circuit!

I finished my test in 25 minutes. Thanks for all the encouragement guys, really happy now. :s12:

mori1983

I finished my test in 25 minutes. Thanks for all the encouragement guys, really happy now. :s12:

congrats!!!! btw, is it the same tester?

mori1983

anybody got lobang for rent car? have try rentalcarsingapore but no reply from them... hmm..

zuldevil

Congratulations, dude! :) I remember the high feeling after I got the results! Haha!

valuesniper

Hi Bro, GXGX! 8 points - you did excellent, man! Now you know ha, the right timing can really make your life much easier. :D

Glad to know that you have clear your TP test.
Drive safely! Cheers!

Masharno Wolfe

Hi everyone, posting here again.

currently enrolled in sch at cdc, but was wondering if it was worth the cost to drop out and go private? due to my work schedule i can -only- take at night and i can never seem to book a slot at a driving centre. how much more flexible are private instructors?

alvin1989

currently enrolled in sch at cdc, but was wondering if it was worth the cost to drop out and go private? due to my work schedule i can -only- take at night and i can never seem to book a slot at a driving centre. how much more flexible are private instructors?

firstly, its definitely not worth it. cuz u already paid for the course. but if u do have a reasonable reason to drop due to ur work schedule then its alright imo. private instructors are flexible in a way that u provide him with the schedule u're currently having now. and from there he/she will arrange a day, timing mostly at night and venue. if you can't make it for that day, he/she will arrange another day for you. or you can tell him when will be available after work? btw do u live in the east? personally, my 'uncle' is a private instructor just to let you know. :) hope this helps.

doraemon123

Hi everyone, I'm new to driving! Hope bros and sis out there can help me with a few questions :)

1) If i intend to engage a PDI at BBDC, must I also pass my BTT and FTT at BBDC? I would like to take both tests at SSDC as it is closer to my place.

2) Does Mr Yeo from BBDC teach manual or auto? What will be the estimated total cost assuming that I would like to learn manual and is a slow learner?

Thanks for your advice and have a nice weekend!

valuesniper

Actually if you work out the cost of converting from a school student to a private student, the loss will only be the enrolment fees and the additional enrolment fees that you need to pay for a private student account.

If you cant seem to book a slot, then obviously it will be worth it to drop out. There is no way you can recover back that money spent anyway, so why make things worse by 'holding' on to it. Might as well move to private if it makes more sense. Also the longer you drag, most probably the more lesson you will need to take as your skills might get 'rusty'.

Check with the PDI that you have selected on what are their teaching hours for the week. My PDI teaches 9am - 9pm everyday but different PDI might work differently. You can also ask for 1 hour slot or 1.5hr slot subject to availability.

valuesniper

My answers in blue, hope it helps. Cheers!

Hi everyone, I'm new to driving! Hope bros and sis out there can help me with a few questions :)

1) If i intend to engage a PDI at BBDC, must I also pass my BTT and FTT at BBDC? I would like to take both tests at SSDC as it is closer to my place.
No, not neccessary because BTT and FTT is by TP, not by the driving centers. You need to check with BBDC if the result slips are neccessary when you open a account with them. I'm not sure about how they check if you have pass your BTT and FTT though. Drop BBDC a call on this.
2) Does Mr Yeo from BBDC teach manual or auto? What will be the estimated total cost assuming that I would like to learn manual and is a slow learner?
Manual. I spent abt $1.2k on my TP, 1st time pass, private student. I'm also a slow learner

Thanks for your advice and have a nice weekend!

Yunnnn

i would like to ask you all if your instructor did ask you to book your tp or did you all just book it on your own accord?

I kind of just had a nasty brush with my instructor over this issue. What happened was:

My instructor recommended me twice to go book. Once just after my tenth lesson, the other after my 13th. I ignored the first time as i thought it was too early. However the second time he asked, after asking him how many lessons are there left with approx to Which He said 3 or 4 i thought fine sounds fair maybe i should go for it.

A few days later i decided to do the booking and I rang him up to double confirm that he thinks it's Ok. So i went ahead. Then he asked me if i wanna go for e circuit this week and i told him Ok.

All was fine until i went for my next lesson where i asked him what will we do in the circuit while i was driving. To Which he said you're still a while away to go for it, no point going now since you haven't finished learning parking. I was like Wtf. I told him politely that Hmm you asked me to go this week leh then he was dumbfounded. Then he asked when was my tp date and i told him mid may. He started counting and said no time no time. Throughout the lesson then he was pretty much annoyed and impatient.

At the end of the lesson i asked if he thinks i should cancel and rebook. I said I'd rather spend 20 more than 100 plus more. He didn't comment.

Has anyone experienced this before and could you please advice on what to do? Thank you

Massacre01

Congratulations, dude! :) I remember the high feeling after I got the results! Haha!

Thanks! I smiled grin to grin, the people that came into the grad video room see my smile come shake my hand. haha :s22:

Hi Bro, GXGX! 8 points - you did excellent, man! Now you know ha, the right timing can really make your life much easier. :D

Glad to know that you have clear your TP test.
Drive safely! Cheers!

Thanks! Yeah very true. Now don't know how to gain experience as car rental for newbies like me is very expensive. Sigh

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.