[Mac 101] Ask your questions here!

SuperDuperMe

hi everyone, just wondering if anyone has ever have any problem with your f12 and eject button.
currently, those 2 buttons aren't working on my 10.6.7, it would work for awhile after a restart. any idea?

xmysticalzx

btw which is better for dual OS on MBP??

vmware?? or parallel??

plss advise. thanks...

klanastine

btw which is better for dual OS on MBP??

vmware?? or parallel??

plss advise. thanks...

vmware if you want multi-platform support, and share your VMs between mac and desktop or other vmware workstation apps.

Parallel if you only want run window xp or 7.

For games, just use bootcamp.

Anyway, I find fusion much much beter then parallel in many ways...

klanastine

hi everyone, just wondering if anyone has ever have any problem with your f12 and eject button.
currently, those 2 buttons aren't working on my 10.6.7, it would work for awhile after a restart. any idea?

maybe you have some apps "re-programmed" the key mapping for those keys? any auto-run apps on boot?

subchronic13

could be your expose or spaces hotkeys. F12 on a mac is fn+f12. unless of course you saying that your f12 being the increase volume function.

weird

Yo, can try locate the config(xml or plist whatever u call it in mac) then chmod that file to read only for all user. Then no like can change setting, since can't write update to it. ;) hope it works...never try myself. Just a thought. :s22: Pm me if u try and work, just curious.

paiseh bro
i only know how to surf net n msn tats all w my mac.
the stuff that you are talking abt I have no idea sia.. :s13:

TRDKids

I want to buy a laptop for my wife.

Currently she is using ibook.

Macbook Pro or Macbook Air ?
Budget : 2k

Thank you !

klanastine

Thank you !

chey, if not going to lug the notebook around, and weight is not so important, ofcuz pro better - with superdrive, network port, 2 usb port and more solid feel oso. Just see what your wife wanna how to use it, then decide lah. :look:

subchronic13

Thank you !

Wait for the new MBA that comes with the Sandy Bridge. If you can't wait, go for the MBP 13"

really depends on the kind of usage and mobility you want. cheers

Hitsugaya87

Mac if no dual boot is there any way to run games not by Blizzard? MMORPGs for example, no right?

blastx

Hi, I am looking to upgrade my HDD in my MBP to a SSD.

May i know where can i get the tools to do so? the screw drivers and T6 Torx scredriver?

Also, anyone knows as of present which 120gb SSD works well and stable besides from the ones that are factory from apple?

Thank you!

devilcm3

Hi, I am looking to upgrade my HDD in my MBP to a SSD.

May i know where can i get the tools to do so? the screw drivers and T6 Torx scredriver?

Also, anyone knows as of present which 120gb SSD works well and stable besides from the ones that are factory from apple?

Thank you!

intels works fine , t6 can get in any hardware shop like home fix
crucials reported fine too

evolute8

Did anyone flash the firmware of your DVD drive to region free for MacBook pro 2011?

Hitsugaya87

they have mac versions.

i play sc2 on mbp

You mean any mmorpgs will be able to run without dual boot or bootcamp? Don't wanna do that because Mac being virus free is awesome. No point running windows on a mac and let virus attack

devilcm3

You mean any mmorpgs will be able to run without dual boot or bootcamp? Don't wanna do that because Mac being virus free is awesome. No point running windows on a mac and let virus attack

virus don't spread from windows to osx partition .
you get the wrong idea

Hitsugaya87

Cool haha just worried about that. Still would the pc specs be affected for Mac if split between 2 OS? Also, the need to purchase another OS for Windows is -.-

leinad

virus don't spread from windows to osx partition .
you get the wrong idea

Incomplete analogy. If your OS X partition is writeable to Windows, viruses can corrupt files on your OS X partition still.

It's just that they cannot execute their payload inside of OS X. However, it's possible the file corruption could render OS X non-bootable in the first place, or that you could be sending infected attachments without knowing it.

/Dan

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.