Japan food thread

booklover

Woah all the food looks so good! Are the foods in Japan relatively expensive as compared to Singapore? eg how much is a bowl of ramen in Japan?

evilerniex

Woah all the food looks so good! Are the foods in Japan relatively expensive as compared to Singapore? eg how much is a bowl of ramen in Japan?

u can get ramen for around 500-1000yen from those small shops.

food in japan is not really that expensive, but that depends on wat u wanna eat. u can get cheap meals from 300yen onwards at yoshinoya and matsuya chain. bento sets from supermarket and convenient stores are also quite cheap

evilerniex

wow, u're good, u translated from the japanese wording to find on google map?

i'll post my pics IF i managed to hunt that place down.

erm, no leh... the website u posted is in english. got the address there: Musashi (Shimbashi 2-9-17, Minato-ku, tel. 03 3580 3550)

sprouts

i found it! check out the pics.

but didn't take too many pics as i was quite conscious sitting right in front of everyone.

the food is good and cheap, you guys should try it if you go to tokyo. definitely worth it!

evilerniex

i found it! check out the pics.

but didn't take too many pics as i was quite conscious sitting right in front of everyone.

the food is good and cheap, you guys should try it if you go to tokyo. definitely worth it!

interesting... havent tried such eateries before
shall try it the next time i go tokyo :)

Du Gu Qiu Bai

Hi, I will be going to Tokyo for 3 weeks in december.

Any good sukiyaki to recommend? Any other must try stuff? I might want to try Fugu as well

bkmailsg

Maybe you can check out Shabuzen in Roppongi or Shibuya. I went to Shibuya but for shabu shabu, believe they have sukiyaki.

Hi, I will be going to Tokyo for 3 weeks in december.

Any good sukiyaki to recommend? Any other must try stuff? I might want to try Fugu as well

FireEmblem

ok those going to Osaka and plan to try the supposedly famous Kinryu Ramen in Dotombori. Please forget it, that place is a joke. No service (aka all self service, even the normal ice water that should be given is not, and no one even said that you need to get it yourself at the tap).

The Ramen is lousy, i ordered the 900 yen charshu Remen with extra pork. Dunno why got people recommend it, bland/tasteless/small serving (what extra pork, like **** little serving). Feel like eating maggi mee that i could have cooked myself

After eating dun feel satisfied, go walk walk around. Found this other Ramen stall that is around the same area, 天下一品 (second parallel street behind the main Dotombori street). Saw they have this Ramen called Hozenji Special. Ordered it, wah, heaven and hell difference. Super Oishii compared to the tasteless famous Kinryu crap.

Beside that i noticed that all the staff in Kinryu are Ah Tiongs, all of them were speaking in unmistaken heavy China accent mandarin between themselves. Maybe this is why the supposedly previous good ramen standard dropped so much now course just anyhow employ cheap foreign labor who anyhow cook with no passion.

Ok gpgt, you can see for yourself the huge difference by paying 400 yen more. (They got other normal priced 600-900 plus yen ramen too)

The famous but really really lousy Kinryu 900 yen Ramen

niMgH.jpg

The Hozenji Special 1300 yen Ramen, that 2 pieces of grilled pork is so succulent it is really melt in your mouth tasty. Best Ramen i have eaten in the whole trip.

OabsV.jpg

bkchng

agree that 天下一品 is pretty good.
Anyway I've eaten ramen (at random places) some 20+ times during my long trip in Japan back in July, but have yet to have tasted a "bad" ramen. I remember the ramen shop close to my hotel in Osaka served some of the best ramen at just 550 yen (unfortunately can't recall the name).

I think you are super unlucky, specially went to try a famous ramen restaurant but left disappointed :p

FireEmblem

Anyway I've eaten ramen (at random places) some 20+ times during my long trip in Japan back in July, but have yet to have tasted a "bad" ramen. I remember the ramen shop close to my hotel in Osaka served some of the best ramen at just 550 yen (unfortunately can't recall the name).

I think you are super unlucky, specially went to try a famous ramen restaurant but left disappointed :p

yeah, first mouthful already thinking what is so special about this. But this is the only bad ramen i tasted so far, had very good ramen in Kanazawa, takayama osaka shi-tennoji area. But actually still got quite a number of other people eating there......some even just standing there to eat.....wonder why for so lousy ramen

bkchng

hmm.. could be a lack of consistency in quality perhaps. Once in a while they serve lousy ramen (on the day that you went there), other days they serve good/decent ramen. Anyway if they are indeed that lousy, they'll close down sooner or later. The Japanese are merciless to food establishments that are substandard :D

gundamhamtaro

Anyway I've eaten ramen (at random places) some 20+ times during my long trip in Japan back in July, but have yet to have tasted a "bad" ramen.

I think it will be more of taste preference bah. Maybe the famous ramen store FireEmblem went to was not to his liking. I myself have also ate lots of ramen, some which i love and some which i feel is so-so only, but all of them got lots of pple eating. There was once i ate Moyashi (tau geh) ramen in Sapporo which costs only 500 yen, but i didnt like it at all because the ramen had too many tau geh for my liking lol.

This thread not much photos now, i will upload some of mine (japanese food) maybe on Saturday after i come back from Comike 81. And if anyone wants it i will also upload pics of other food in Japan that are not japanese food.

gundamhamtaro

Beside that i noticed that all the staff in Kinryu are Ah Tiongs, all of them were speaking in unmistaken heavy China accent mandarin between themselves.

Sadly this has been the case all over Japan since long time ago (2005 or even earlier), especially noticable in the busier cities. The chinese food in Japan is nice though.

angcsbenny

that is an ichiran ramen shop at dotombori.. oso theres a rather famous udon shop there as well..

gundamhamtaro

Heres some nice food thats affordable.

Thick kontotsu soup base with thick noodles 700yen

Udon with Prawn tempura and mixed vege tempura 650yen

Sakura prawn base ramen 800yen

Slightly spicy abura soba 750yen

Sanma (pike makarel?) set dinner 750yen

Omurice with cut steak 1000yen

immadouche

it seems fugu meals are normally for two. is there anywhere in tokyo where i can have a fugu meal for one at a reasonable price?

Melicious

Ramen
風雲児 (ふううんじ)
東京都渋谷区代々木2-14-3 北斗第一ビルB1F
Tōkyō-to, Shibuya-ku, Yoyogi 2-14-3
Opening Hrs: 11:00 – 15:00, 17:00 – 21:00
Closed on Sunday and Holidays
Nearest Station: Shinjuku Station

Monjayaki
もんじゃ 蔵 (くら')
東京都中央区月島3-9-9
Tōkyō-to, Chuo-ku, Tsukishima 3-9-9
Opening Hrs: 11:00 – 15:30, 17:00 – 23:00
Nearest Station: Tsukishima Station

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.