really good idea.

with 24-48 hours $20
within 1 week after the 48hrs $50-$100
more than 1 week up to 2 weeks $200
after 2 weeks up to 4 weeks $250
after that, saman and/or jail

LTA won't do it this way unless they have a foolproof method to track any opc being driven during restricted hrs, and must be 100% accurate.
Else opc drivers would just wait for the "bill" to arrive. If didn't catch them, it's a free drive.

tekster

LTA won't do it this way unless they have a foolproof method to track any opc being driven during restricted hrs, and must be 100% accurate.
Else opc drivers would just wait for the "bill" to arrive. If didn't catch them, it's a free drive.

Gps erp system coming liao liao lo

100percentsilk

Hi all, just some updates on my situation.

actually, i didn't get caught 4 times, my mistake. The very last time (the recent offense in April this yr) was the 3rd time.

Summary :
First time, i was invited to LTA to lim kopi and explain my case with an officer. They even took a picture of my car backside. However, they let me off with a warning and i paid the $20 ticket with no summon. But my vehicle number was already inside their system.

2nd time, kenna caught again in Jan 2011, they send me a letter asking for the driver details. i put my name down and fax back to them. They charge me $500 about 1-2 months later with a summon letter.

3rd time (recent time in Apr 2011), kenna caught again and LTA send me yet another letter asking for driver details. i filled in the letter on my wife's behalf and put her name down in the letter. 1-2months later, they send me a letter with a charge of $500 again.

It seems that the fine is based on the driver. not the car. So in theory, under my name, i was charged the 1st time with a penalty fine. (dont count the let off warning 1st time, because that time they didn't ask me to pay fine, just the $20 offpeak coupon charge.) Same goes to my wife. She also theoratically kenna as 1st offender, with penalty fine of $500.

I was told, by the LTA officer (who called me to confirm my wife's details), that if kenna 2nd time again (that means after the 1st offense of $500, the 2nd time they caught you and they found out that you are the driver for 2nd offense), you will be hauled to court.

So meaning, if i put my name down instead of my wife for the last offense, i would have been hauled to court. and the fine would be in thousands and i have to face a judge.

For the Jan and Apr 2011 offense, they straight away send me Fine letter, no need to go down LTA. I just pay via AXS machine. It was my fault, so i have no problems paying the fine.

After the last offense, I sold off my 3yr old offpeak car in May and got a 5 yr old normal plate 2nd hand vehicle. I topped up $7k more for the 2nd hand car.

So ends the saga of my offpeak vehicle and now, i don't have to worry about forgetting to purchase eday license... and for forgetful people like me, i think its worth to get a normal plate for a piece of mind and bigger cabin/boot space. :)

tmfwy

actually, i didn't get caught 4 times, my mistake. The very last time (the recent offense in April this yr) was the 3rd time.

Summary :
First time, i was invited to LTA to lim kopi and explain my case with an officer. They even took a picture of my car backside. However, they let me off with a warning and i paid the $20 ticket with no summon. But my vehicle number was already inside their system.

2nd time, kenna caught again in Jan 2011, they send me a letter asking for the driver details. i put my name down and fax back to them. They charge me $500 about 1-2 months later with a summon letter.

3rd time (recent time in Apr 2011), kenna caught again and LTA send me yet another letter asking for driver details. i filled in the letter on my wife's behalf and put her name down in the letter. 1-2months later, they send me a letter with a charge of $500 again.

It seems that the fine is based on the driver. not the car. So in theory, under my name, i was charged the 1st time with a penalty fine. (dont count the let off warning 1st time, because that time they didn't ask me to pay fine, just the $20 offpeak coupon charge.) Same goes to my wife. She also theoratically kenna as 1st offender, with penalty fine of $500.

I was told, by the LTA officer (who called me to confirm my wife's details), that if kenna 2nd time again (that means after the 1st offense of $500, the 2nd time they caught you and they found out that you are the driver for 2nd offense), you will be hauled to court.

So meaning, if i put my name down instead of my wife for the last offense, i would have been hauled to court. and the fine would be in thousands and i have to face a judge.

For the Jan and Apr 2011 offense, they straight away send me Fine letter, no need to go down LTA. I just pay via AXS machine. It was my fault, so i have no problems paying the fine.

After the last offense, I sold off my 3yr old offpeak car in May and got a 5 yr old normal plate 2nd hand vehicle. I topped up $7k more for the 2nd hand car.

So ends the saga of my offpeak vehicle and now, i don't have to worry about forgetting to purchase eday license... and for forgetful people like me, i think its worth to get a normal plate for a piece of mind and bigger cabin/boot space. :)
Just to add on

For those who forget, just go surrender yourself.
This is better done on the first day, to show that you are sincere
Whether they charge u or ask to pay $20, you've already takena big load off your mind by surrendering.

How they track is anyone's guess. ;)

takuyazzz

surrendering doesn't work anymore. the officers at LTA will advise you to go home and wait and see if you were caught.

5ex5en5e5

If wanna buy red plate to save money, you better buy normal plate 2nd hand better.

If buy red plate forget to pay then kpkb here, its your issue cos you own the car but how could you forget when AXS machine there are many around.

If you are the car owner, make sure those use your car buy the e-day license, else dont expect others to wipe your sorry arse after caught.

XuiteShop

Summary :

bro, thanks for sharing with us the consequences as i always tot that 1st time fine is 10k already haha..

tmfwy

If wanna buy red plate to save money, you better buy normal plate 2nd hand better.

If buy red plate forget to pay then kpkb here, its your issue cos you own the car but how could you forget when AXS machine there are many around.

If you are the car owner, make sure those use your car buy the e-day license, else dont expect others to wipe your sorry arse after caught.
If you are redplate, just buy the eDay for everyday the car is used. You never know if your driver used it during the restricted hours...

tekster

Just to add, there is this thing called mobilepay. Even more convenient!!
You just send sms wherever you are and it's purchased.

Step 1: send sms
Step 2: receive verification call
Step 3: key in verification code and cc code
Step 4: receice cobfirmation sms and email

Really that simple!!

faithandtrust

any bros went to court before? i also kenna and just got letter to appear in court in september. oh no. how much fine huh? ):

joelchan

I read that you can still buy the e-DAY license after you drive.

from the OPC handbook :

"This system provides OPC/WEC drivers/owners with added convenience, as you now have more channels to buy an e-Day Licence. Even better, you can drive first and buy an e-Day Licence thereafter, as long as it is before midnight on the next day after you’ve used your car."

"If you do not buy an e-Day Licence or have not updated the usage date on your prepaid licence by midnight of the next day after usage, you will be committing a serious offence and may be fined up to $5,000 for a first offence."

XsenseX

I read that you can still buy the e-DAY license after you drive.

from the OPC handbook :

"This system provides OPC/WEC drivers/owners with added convenience, as you now have more channels to buy an e-Day Licence. Even better, you can drive first and buy an e-Day Licence thereafter, as long as it is before midnight on the next day after you’ve used your car."

"If you do not buy an e-Day Licence or have not updated the usage date on your prepaid licence by midnight of the next day after usage, you will be committing a serious offence and may be fined up to $5,000 for a first offence."

Exactly. Thats why i think all the request for extension is BULL.

If you drive yesterday (Friday). You forgot to buy. Today you still have til midnight to purchase. Whats so difficult? The timeline is already extremely long.

alvinaloy

If you drive yesterday (Friday). You forgot to buy. Today you still have til midnight to purchase. Whats so difficult? The timeline is already extremely long.
Exactly. So those who kena, really do deserve it.

100percentsilk

Exactly. So those who kena, really do deserve it.

which part of the word "forgot" you don't understand? Maybe your pea-sized brain can't comprehend the word. Timeline extremely long so what?

Jordan

which part of the word "forgot" you don't understand? Maybe your pea-sized brain can't comprehend the word. Timeline extremely long so what?

Such a good excuse to use. Hmm..... Did you forget to eat your breakfast today or did you forget to wear your underwear today?

alvinaloy

Oooooh. Forgot. Then cough up the fine lor since your brain is so big that you can forget.

valeon

Maybe you can talk to the judge you forgot to take medicine, that's why easy to forget.

justforsale

avoid OPC if can. you forgetness cost u your life/family.

dun get OPC, avoid it. OPC may mean Often penalised car. kena marked by LTA dipdip :(

they noe u will forget. make sure u pay hard in d fine. its sound kind of a trap.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.