Vpost? Borderlinx? Comgateway?

wacko

fuel surcharge is abt 15-20% of shipping fee., exc. insurance.
if u read earlier thread, blx btbj charges state tax 7%, when merchant doesnt even charge, not usual case. i avoid blx and nvr use them, so cant comment much.. but my thots are stayaway.
you mean what has been posted by Souphamster? :s13:

tekster

Hi may I known how you are able to made purchases from newegg site from what I known the last round when I try to made a purchases they only accept credit card from US address only.

use concierge service or buy for me option lo.

kimwee

sea freight? How many TVs u bought?

I checked the sea freight charges even more ridiculous ard USD400... unless u got some lobang sites :s13:

Not TV la, just an automatic litter box for my pets that is freaking huge... actual weight only 12 kg :s8:

touchme

I checked the sea freight charges even more ridiculous ard USD400... unless u got some lobang sites :s13:

Not TV la, just an automatic litter box for my pets that is freaking huge... actual weight only 12 kg :s8:
USD300 to ship air not worth leh,Try traditional contacts..

jimbb80

saggydog - havent actually ordered yet but was aiming to use the conceirge service. if the fuel surcharge is in fact 15-20% its not worth it however. after shipment what i wanted to buy is about same cost as in sg...

zicron

Hmm, you guys may want to try and use hopshopgo (comgateway).

No state taxes there since they are based in oregon.

Payment is by paypal and there's a 10% paypal discount on shipping also so can use any credit cards..

But there's a fuel surcharge.. which kills off the 10% paypal discount..

And they will ask you to specify the package costs if the invoice doesn't come with a price.. so you can undertable declare even if your package exceed SGD 400.. so you can escape 7% GST... if can ask the merchant to omit the price in the invoice ask him to do so... but don't tell anyone i teach one la, bad for health *cough* *cough*

I find only advantage borderlinx has over hopshopgo is the concierge service where they use their USD credit card to buy for you.. borderlinx don't charge extra if you spend more than USD50? But i think the state taxes there is a killer... lockbourne, ohio total sales tax is 6.75%, hopshopgo concierge is 7% (prime member)-10%(normal member)

zicron

vpost no more oledi...

FREE vConcierge Service
Promo Period: 1 April to 30 June 2011
Full waiver on 5% handling fee

cgw buyforme promo probably also no more since no mention of it on dbs or cgw website

tekster

Borderlinx buy4me free if purchase is above usd50.

I do not understand why people say blx got sales tax cause I've never paid any of them. Only 1 time I paid was when I bought from barnes and noble from ebay. Else I've never ever paid.

Vppost I also got pay tax. That was when vpost was still operating in california.

touchme

Borderlinx buy4me free if purchase is above usd50.

I do not understand why people say blx got sales tax cause I've never paid any of them. Only 1 time I paid was when I bought from barnes and noble from ebay. Else I've never ever paid.

Vppost I also got pay tax. That was when vpost was still operating in california.

I got a bad feel that blx charges 6.75% VAT tax for items which the merchant absorbs (i.e flat/free shipping). For those items where merchant charges VAT with their items, BLX will not. Becos, it is just not right for a us-sg courier to collect state VAT.

I hv spoken to BLX CSO on phone b4 about any VAT or other charges, they also gave me ambiguous answers, keep telling me 'depends on the merchants'..

Your B&N order was free shipping (inc VAT absorbed). which I suspect BLX takes the opportunity to squeeze some $$ from foreign customers.

If u can recollect the item you bought and untaxed by BLX, and confirm it was alr taxed by merchant, it will be helpful for us to know if there is such unethical practices.

heartswap

i am about to CRY........

one of my parcel has reached VpostUSA alr and what the holy f...
actual weight: 0.7kg
volumetric weight: 4.9kg
the box's dimensions: 30.0 X 39.0 X 21.0 cm

WHAT THE HELL. there's only 1 SKIRT in it................................................

what am i going to do?!??

Vpost does not repackage the parcels for us do they???
i am spewing.... which part of COMPACT SHIP does Barneys not understand......

touchme

i am about to CRY........

one of my parcel has reached VpostUSA alr and what the holy f...
actual weight: 0.7kg
volumetric weight: 4.9kg
the box's dimensions: 30.0 X 39.0 X 21.0 cm

WHAT THE HELL. there's only 1 SKIRT in it................................................

what am i going to do?!??

Vpost does not repackage the parcels for us do they???
i am spewing.... which part of COMPACT SHIP does Barneys not understand......

I did mention branded stuffs must come with their premium logo box. They won't ship without box, like OldNavy or Gap, in loose plastic bags. Recently I shipped polo ralph,also same box, big big, but had 4-5 pcs of apparels tucked inside..still 6.3 vol. kg.

Consolation, since you are 1st timer, use 50% card discount on 1st Aug. Nvr mind lah, premium skirt, premium ship, makes u feel better...lol

Surprise, how did you get the to buy4u and ship so quckly, less than 1 week?

wacko

I got a bad feel that blx charges 6.75% VAT tax for items which the merchant absorbs (i.e flat/free shipping). For those items where merchant charges VAT with their items, BLX will not. Becos, it is just not right for a us-sg courier to collect state VAT.

I hv spoken to BLX CSO on phone b4 about any VAT or other charges, they also gave me ambiguous answers, keep telling me 'depends on the merchants'..

Your B&N order was free shipping (inc VAT absorbed). which I suspect BLX takes the opportunity to squeeze some $$ from foreign customers.

If u can recollect the item you bought and untaxed by BLX, and confirm it was alr taxed by merchant, it will be helpful for us to know if there is such unethical practices.
first of all, it's called sales tax, not VAT.

this inconsistent charging of sales tax is really curious, when I used to utilise Borderlinx, I've never been charged sales tax for all of my 20 shipments or so. And I'm pretty sure that many of those items were tax free from the original merchants as well.

just go with comGateway then, Oregon definitely has no sales tax, plus CGW allows for repacking. double win!

touchme

first of all, it's called sales tax, not VAT.

this inconsistent charging of sales tax is really curious, when I used to utilise Borderlinx, I've never been charged sales tax for all of my 20 shipments or so. And I'm pretty sure that many of those items were tax free from the original merchants as well.

just go with comGateway then, Oregon definitely has no sales tax, plus CGW allows for repacking. double win!

precisely, I am trying to prove if blx is unscrupulously charging/pocketing 'sales tax', where the merchant absorbed or did not charge. In any case, it shd be the merchant to charge or absorb, not the us-sg courier. Such acts shd be exposed..
(seems like it is true in your 20-items case)

heartswap

I did mention branded stuffs must come with their premium logo box. They won't ship without box, like OldNavy or Gap, in loose plastic bags. Recently I shipped polo ralph,also same box, big big, but had 4-5 pcs of apparels tucked inside..still 6.3 vol. kg.

Consolation, since you are 1st timer, use 50% card discount on 1st Aug. Nvr mind lah, premium skirt, premium ship, makes u feel better...lol

Surprise, how did you get the to buy4u and ship so quckly, less than 1 week?

i didn't use buy4u. i called up Barneys Beverly Hills and Barneys Atlanta to make payment over the phone for both purchases. haha i still have 1 top on its way to Vpost..

i've already emailed both supervisors and am waiting for them to get back to me with the dimensions of the boxes before i take it up with Vpost. is it possible that Vpost got the dimensions wrong? *cross my fingers* i honestly don't think the supervisor is thick enough to use such a massive box... i reminded both of them again and again to ship it compactly so as to reduce volumetric weight... if they screwed up, i'll make them fix it. surely something can be done.

bottom line is that i refuse to pay $100 to ship 2 pieces of clothing!! i had to pay for domestic shipping on top of that.
i will persist and insist. and at the end of the day, i'll win (like always). haha they are messing with the wrong person.

i was gonna buy some stuff from Lagarconne too but i am extremely apprehensive now. perhaps it would be even cheaper to have it shipped directly from the boutique to sg instead -__-

there's a 50% off discount? isn't it just $30 off?

tekster

no idea le, the tax i paid was to Barnes and Nobles, not to borderlinx.

it was for the nook color back then when you got yours too. every bros in the nook thread, all said they paid USD199 while i was puzzled why I paid USD212. the tax was tabulated when i made payment to B&N.

BLX didn't charge me any tax when I had it shipped to sg.

jazdrive

i didn't use buy4u. i called up Barneys to make payment over the phone.

i still have another top on the way to Vpost from Barneys...

i'm waiting for the supervisor to get back to me with the dimensions of the box before i take it up with Vpost. is it possible that Vpost got the dimensions wrong? /crossing my fingers/ i honestly don't think the supervisor is thick enough to use such a massive box......

i am not going to pay $100 to ship 2 items?!
and i had to pay for domestic shipping (USD 24) on top of that.

i was gonna buy some stuff from Lagarconne but i am extremely apprehensive now. perhaps it would be even cheaper to have it shipped directly from the boutique to sg instead of going to post -__-

there's a 50% off discount? isn't it just $30 off or sth. i am still fuming :(

Sad to say vpost has never made any mistakes in calculations for me at least, so most probably your item was shipped in a large box.

Borderlinx on the other hand, tsk tsk. :s8:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.